What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career? | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
RickAstley
LSU Fan
Reno, Nevada
Member since May 2011
1634 posts

What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?



Does anyone here have a career that requires an extensive amount of travel per year? Do you regret going that route, or has it been a good change?

A little background:
At my current company, I work out of one office, with an occasional trip to the headquarters. There is another company I have been looking at potentially applying for ~6 months down the road. The work would be nearly identical as far as day-to-day goes, except I would travel to the clients sites up to 75% of the year, rather than work remotely from the office. By going this route I would see an increase in base pay ($25K-$40K increase), quarterly bonus (up to ~$7500 a quarter instead of $1500), and my insurance, benefits, time-off would be nearly equivalent to my current arrangement. Obviously the money is my main driving factor in considering this new opportunity. Although, I have never been involved with a job that requires such an amount of travel. The travel could vary depending on the project, but more than likely I would be out of town at least every other week.







Back to top
Share:
roguetiger15
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2013
4746 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


if you're single, do it. no question about it





Back to top
keeton350
Alabama Fan
Member since Nov 2005
396 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


If your single with no kids. Do it now.

If you married with no kids then it depends on if you really like being around her that much. Think about it.

If you have young kids. Just be happy with what you got and watch your kids grow up.






Back to top
ItNeverRains
LSU Fan
Franklin, TN
Member since Oct 2007
6930 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


quote:

If your single with no kids. Do it now


This will pretty much be how this thread goes.






Back to top
Layabout
UNO Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jul 2011
7189 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


As a single man, I did it for four years. I traveled probably 80% of the time, often on temporary assignment for several months at a time without returning home. I saw a lot of the country (and the world) and met some great people. Living on the expense account let me sock away quite a bit of money. But eventually it wears thin. Four years was about all I could take. To this day I have no more interest in traveling.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Teddy Ruxpin
LSU Fan
New Orleans, LA
Member since Oct 2006
20040 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


quote:

This will pretty much be how this thread goes.


And if he's smart, he can parlay all the traveling on the company dime into going wherever in the world he wants to go on his own time.

Pretty sweet.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
RickAstley
LSU Fan
Reno, Nevada
Member since May 2011
1634 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


quote:

if you're single, do it. no question about it


I am in the best position to do so currently, considering that. Marriage is still 1-2 years away for me, and no kids for several years. Another factor that falls into play in making this choice is working from home. I certainly do like the idea of being able to work from home and relocate to a new city.

Main concerns are maintaining relationships, as well as how I will handle the travel mentally. I've seen some of my company's consultants struggle with it when the shite hits the fan and their stay at the client's site extends from 1 week to 2-3 weeks.






Back to top
L S Usetheforce
New Orleans Saints Fan
College Station
Member since Jun 2004
16770 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


I'm a director of nursing for a nurse travel agency.....for every pro; remember their is also a con.....Contract labor in these economic times has become more demanding on the contractee albeit sometimes with unrealistic expectations.

If you are single though, the opportunity for stipends, paid housing, and autonomy are excellent comparables to being a staff employee.



This post was edited on 5/8 at 9:42 am


Back to top
  Replies (0)
Mr.Perfect
Louisiana
Member since Mar 2013
5394 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


Gets old quick. Real quick. I did it for two years. Got out because I never got to see friends and family. Do not regret one minute, but it takes a toll. And the pay raise is more than that if they are paying for all travel. One perk I had was I got to take trips with the girl I was dating by being A list





Back to top
Mr.Perfect
Louisiana
Member since Mar 2013
5394 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


Gets old quick. Real quick. I did it for two years. Got out because I never got to see friends and family. Do not regret one minute, but it takes a toll. And the pay raise is more than that if they are paying for all travel. One perk I had was I got to take trips with the girl I was dating by being A list





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Mr.Perfect
Louisiana
Member since Mar 2013
5394 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


Gets old quick. Real quick. I did it for two years. Got out because I never got to see friends and family. Do not regret one minute, but it takes a toll. And the pay raise is more than that if they are paying for all travel. One perk I had was I got to take trips with the girl I was dating by being A list





Back to top
  Replies (0)
RickAstley
LSU Fan
Reno, Nevada
Member since May 2011
1634 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


quote:

And the pay raise is more than that if they are paying for all travel.


Yes that is one thing I have reviewed. $50 per diem, all expenses regarding stay, flight, rental car, etc.. are covered. If you travel more than 50% per quarter you instantly pocket another $1800 in bonus. This ultimately boils down to money for me, and I would be sacrificing quite a bit. My current job has provided me great resources and experience to put me in this position to choose my next stop within this career. At the end of the day though, I want what puts me ahead.






Back to top
HeadyMurphey
LSU Fan
Los Santos
Member since Jan 2008
15872 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


quote:

Does anyone here have a career that requires an extensive amount of travel per year? Do you regret going that route, or has it been a good change?


It is fun while you are young, but gets old quickly. In 2005, I slept in a hotel room for 187 days. Got to visist many great places around the world that I surely would have never seen. Makes you appreciate what we have here. I did it for 3 years and wouldn't change that if I had to do it again.






Back to top
Mr.Perfect
Louisiana
Member since Mar 2013
5394 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


Based on your statements, pull the trigger Rick





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Mr.Perfect
Louisiana
Member since Mar 2013
5394 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


Based on your statements, pull the trigger Rick





Back to top
  Replies (0)
RickAstley
LSU Fan
Reno, Nevada
Member since May 2011
1634 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


quote:

. Got to visist many great places around the world


The company's client list is something I have not reviewed much. Most clients within the field are U.S. based, but it is fairly popular throughout Europe, Australia, New Zealand, and India. I feel like most of my initial traveling will be from the east coast to California or Washington within the U.S.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Mr.Perfect
Louisiana
Member since Mar 2013
5394 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


Based on your statements, pull the trigger Rick





Back to top
jimbeam
USA Fan
University of LSU
Member since Oct 2011
33722 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


Mr.Perfect








Back to top
  Replies (0)
LSUAfro
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Aug 2005
10499 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


quote:

Mr.Perfect






Back to top
LSUAfro
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Aug 2005
10499 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


quote:

Mr.Perfect





This post was edited on 5/8 at 11:10 am


Back to top


Back to top