Give me your opinion on skinning knife | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
slapahoe
LSU Fan
USA
Member since Sep 2009
3350 posts
 Online 

Give me your opinion on skinning knife


I'm looking for a new knife. Whats a very durable knife I can use for skinning that wont break the bank?






Back to top
Share:
SaDaTayMoses
LSU Fan
Da Platte
Member since Oct 2005
2392 posts

re: Give me your opinion on skinning knife


I've been having THIS knife for about 6-7 years. Very sturdy and durable. Never faulted and a heavy, solid feel to it. Got it as a gift but it is not expensive





Back to top
Judge Smails
Michigan State Fan
Chasing Blue Duck
Member since Mar 2008
4085 posts

re: Give me your opinion on skinning knife


I got this for Christmas last year. This guy makes great stuff and it's less than $100.

Wayne Hendrix






Back to top
hogdaddy
LSU Fan
harvey
Member since Feb 2010
2772 posts

re: Give me your opinion on skinning knife


Like to go old school when skinning a deer and use my Old Timer knife. it runs about $15 at WalleWorld.







Back to top
OptionRight
LSU Fan
Down da skreet
Member since Sep 2010
268 posts

re: Give me your opinion on skinning knife


I have a buck with gut hook that you can get at cabellas all day for right at 50 bucks...Have had it for 11 years now and has cleaned countless deer...Best knife I have ever owned...After a couple deer, finishing the edge with a couple passes does the trick...Holds an edge very good. Anyone who uses it to clean their deer, always comment on how much they like it...





Back to top
bbvdd
Alabama Fan
Memphis, TN
Member since Jun 2009
8528 posts

re: Give me your opinion on skinning knife


This thing is a beast:

Cutco






Back to top
Tigerpaw123
USA Fan
P'ville
Member since Mar 2007
9093 posts
 Online 

re: Give me your opinion on skinning knife










Back to top
BarDTiger81
LSU Fan
nurfeast lowsyana
Member since Jul 2011
15639 posts

re: Give me your opinion on skinning knife


I have Gerber Buck and schrade knives. I like each of them, the buck would have to be my favorite though.

Got this one recently
Buck at Academy

I have another one without the hook that is similar that I have had for years and love.






Back to top
Bleeding purple
TCU Fan
Athens, Texas
Member since Sep 2007
21566 posts

re: Give me your opinion on skinning knife


I have been using the outdoor edge swing blade and like it but will admit if I could find the skin cutter side of that blade in a fixed blade knife I would -prefer it. it is difficult to sharpen the reversed curve blade but not impossible. I like that it is made of AUS 8 Stainless which is a bit harder than the standard 440.

I am currently looking into a never blade material with chromium in it that supposedly is the hardest, easiest to sharpen, and most corrosion resistent material currently being used.






Back to top
El Josey Wales
LSU Fan
Greater Geismar
Member since Nov 2007
22710 posts

re: Give me your opinion on skinning knife


I have a Cutco like that and it is indeed a beast.





Back to top
PoppaTiger
LSU Fan
North Walker
Member since Apr 2006
427 posts

re: Give me your opinion on skinning knife


Case Sod Buster with the carbon steel blade. I can't tell you how many deer mine has cleaned. Easy to sharpen too.





Back to top
slinger1317
Louisiana
Member since Sep 2005
1651 posts

re: Give me your opinion on skinning knife


BUCK knife, folding with gut hook....all day long

LINK

Anything else and you are just trying to impress someone at the skinning shed.






Back to top
AlmaDawg
Georgia Fan
Slow Hell
Member since Sep 2012
2669 posts

re: Give me your opinion on skinning knife


quote:


Like to go old school when skinning a deer and use my Old Timer knife. it runs about $15 at WalleWorld.


I have had the same Schrade sharp finger knife for about 20 years, and I love it!






Back to top
ktc227992
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2011
135 posts

re: Give me your opinion on skinning knife


I use the cold steel. Mini tack for skinning! By far the sharpest knife I have ever used! They use aux 8 steel for the blade. I got mine last year and I have skinned 4 deer with it and it will still shave the hair on my arm they cost around $30





Back to top
Tilco Baller
Auburn Fan
[posi] nega barner
Member since Jun 2012
1561 posts

re: Give me your opinion on skinning knife


I also recommend that cutco drop point serrated knife. just send it back to cutco after every season and they'll sharpen it good as new. that knife is sick.





Back to top
BarDTiger81
LSU Fan
nurfeast lowsyana
Member since Jul 2011
15639 posts

re: Give me your opinion on skinning knife


quote:

El Josey Wales



How did LSUBalls get banned?






Back to top
Langston
LSU Fan
Cenla
Member since Nov 2010
5606 posts

re: Give me your opinion on skinning knife


quote:

LSUBalls get banned?


That sucks.






Back to top
faxis
LSU Fan
La.
Member since Oct 2007
7773 posts

re: Give me your opinion on skinning knife




Been using this one since I was a little kid for skinning and gutting. I freaking love it.






Back to top
fishfighter
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Apr 2008
17972 posts

re: Give me your opinion on skinning knife


quote:

Like to go old school when skinning a deer and use my Old Timer knife. it runs about $15 at WalleWorld.


Good knife, but hard to keep an edge on.

I use plain oh carbon knifes. Easy to put an edge on and very cheap.






Back to top
Chris4x4gill2
Alabama Fan
North Alabama
Member since Nov 2008
1933 posts

re: Give me your opinion on skinning knife


quote:

This thing is a beast: Cutco Image Link


All we use at our camp.






Back to top


Back to top




//