Posted by
Message
fareplay
Texas A&M Fan
Member since Nov 2012
1831 posts

What is the OTs opinion of homeschool?
One of my best friend was homeschooled till high school and told me his classes were too easy. Does it depend on the kids? My theory is smart kids will succeed no matter what so no need to private school
This post was edited on 8/30 at 11:11 am


Geauxtiga
TBD Fan
No man's land
Member since Jan 2008
30517 posts

re: What is the OTs opinion of homeschool?
How much homework will you give?


Wtodd
Missouri Fan
Tampa, FL
Member since Oct 2013
24982 posts
 Online 

re: What is the OTs opinion of homeschool?
Every kid I've met (through their parents) are smart as hell but suck socially......literally ALL OF THEM!!!


castorinho
Oklahoma Fan
13623 posts
Member since Nov 2010
44024 posts
 Online 

re: What is the OTs opinion of homeschool?
quote:

homeschool
quote:

private school
which is it


JEAUXBLEAUX
LSU Fan
Bayonne, NJ
Member since May 2006
52499 posts

re: What is the OTs opinion of homeschool?
For parents who want their kids from meeting other races and religions' kids. Kids need socialization.


PolyPusher86
LSU Fan
St. George
Member since Jun 2010
2403 posts

re: What is the OTs opinion of homeschool?
The kids will have no idea how to be social with other kids


AUCE05
Atlanta Braves Fan
Member since Dec 2009
21226 posts

re: What is the OTs opinion of homeschool?
Unless they can "homework" when they are adults, you are delaying them socially. School is just a controlled version of our society.


MorbidTheClown
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jan 2015
16320 posts
 Online 

re: What is the OTs opinion of homeschool?
weirdos


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
286
sicboy
Oregon State Fan
Because Awesome
Member since Nov 2010
55540 posts
 Online 

re: What is the OTs opinion of homeschool?
quote:

For parents who want their kids from meeting other races and religions' kids. Kids need socialization.


Another stigma about homeschool that on a whole just isn't true. There are cases like this, sure. But most if not all of the people I know that homeschool make it a priority to make they get out there and socialize with other kids. We have a family we are good friends with who put a "Socialization Mobile" sticker on the back of their van.


TbirdSpur2010
South Carolina Fan
THE ALAMO CITY
Member since Dec 2010
106577 posts
 Online 

re: What is the OTs opinion of homeschool?
I was homeschooled up until I went to A&M. Made sense for my family growing up because we moved so often with the military.

Most folks don't have a clue I or my siblings were homeschooled unless we tell them, though. Got the same range or weird/socially awkward to normal folks that any other school system does.

And us well-adjusted homeschooled folks made fun of the weirdos growing up, too


fr33manator
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Oct 2010
71752 posts

re: What is the OTs opinion of homeschool?
Some crazy people do it to indoctrinate their kids with their own brand of insanity and use them as props, and shelter them from the actual world where they might learn something contradictory to their bat shite insane mom's ideas.


Saskwatch
Ole Miss Fan
Member since Feb 2016
2354 posts

re: What is the OTs opinion of homeschool?
quote:

My theory is smart kids will succeed


Every healthy kid is born with the same cognitive capacity. Good Parenting, exposure to information (beneficial), and hard work are what makes kids "smart".

If somebody feels the need to homeschool that's their decision. I would opt to moving to a new locale where you feel comfortable with a certain school.


fareplay
Texas A&M Fan
Member since Nov 2012
1831 posts

re: What is the OTs opinion of homeschool?
so christian parents


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
312
NYCAuburn
Auburn Fan
TD Platinum Membership
Member since Feb 2011
44387 posts
 Online 

re: What is the OTs opinion of homeschool?
quote:

One of my best friend was homeschooled till high school and told me his classes were too easy


High school was too easy or home school?


TbirdSpur2010
South Carolina Fan
THE ALAMO CITY
Member since Dec 2010
106577 posts
 Online 

re: What is the OTs opinion of homeschool?
quote:

most if not all of the people I know that homeschool make it a priority to make they get out there and socialize with other kids.


It was a mandate for most every homeschool family I interacted with growing up.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
51
fareplay
Texas A&M Fan
Member since Nov 2012
1831 posts

re: What is the OTs opinion of homeschool?
High school


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
42
castorinho
Oklahoma Fan
13623 posts
Member since Nov 2010
44024 posts
 Online 

re: What is the OTs opinion of homeschool?
quote:

I was homeschooled up until I went to A&M.
it all makes sense now!


TigerDeacon
Wake Forest Fan
West Monroe, LA
Member since Sep 2003
26191 posts

re: What is the OTs opinion of homeschool?
Tigerdeacon Jr. goes to a stage fighting theater camp every summer. (Yes, yes, theater camp. This year was Star Wars so they got to fight with light sabers) About 75% of the counselors are homeschooled. We play a game every year where we try to guess which of the counselors are actually socialized in a public or private school.


TbirdSpur2010
South Carolina Fan
THE ALAMO CITY
Member since Dec 2010
106577 posts
 Online 

re: What is the OTs opinion of homeschool?
quote:

it all makes sense now!


It's literally on my bio for this site


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
20
chinhoyang
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2011
11468 posts

re: What is the OTs opinion of homeschool?
There is at least one judge in NW Louisiana that won't grant custody to one parent if that parent is going to home school the child.


Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 8next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram