How do you feel about this rule? Personally, I've never liked it. It's been around for as long as I've been a baseball fan, but I often-times find myself wondering who the hell ever came up with it and what purpose that it serves. I've always considered it somewhat unfair and simply strange that a strikout victim is given an opportunity to reach base despite striking out.
Wikipedia blurb for those that aren't familiar with baseball:
In baseball and softball, an uncaught third strike (often inaccurately referred to as a dropped third strike) occurs when the catcher fails to cleanly catch a pitch for the third strike. A pitch is considered uncaught if the ball touches the ground before being caught, or if the ball is dropped after being grasped (see also catch). In Major League Baseball, the specific rules concerning the uncaught third strike are addressed in Rules 6.05 and 6.09 of the Official Baseball Rules.
On an uncaught third strike with no runner on first base or with two outs, the batter immediately becomes a runner. The strike is called, but the umpire does not call the batter out. The umpire may also actively signal that there is "no catch" of the pitch. The batter may then attempt to reach first base and must be tagged or thrown out. With two outs and the bases loaded, the catcher who fails to catch the third strike may, upon picking up the ball, step on home plate for a force-out or make a throw to any other fielder.
This post was edited on 6/17 at 1:01 pm