This is what makes the rule make sense to me. Just because a batter fails doesn't mean he's automatically out. Just like if a batter "fails" by hitting a pop up on the infield or a weak ground ball back to the pitcher. A catch must still be made in order for the batter to be called out. It's just a fundamental part of baseball.
I can certainly see that, it still feels wrong to me, though...and especially unfair to the pitcher...The pitcher does exactly what he's supposed to do, and because the nasty pitch wasn't "caught" and gets to the backstop the batter gets on base.
I know the rule aint goin anywhere, and it's just a part of the game at this point in baseball history, but it will always be a strange part of the game IMO. It just doesn't feel right to me that a guy can strikeout and still reach base.
I'm "more okay" with the passed ball third strike, but a wild pitch third strike just seems to be totally on the batter IMO and I don't like that the batter gets redeemed simply because he swung at crap and it happenned to get away.
This post was edited on 6/17 at 3:14 pm