Review - Apolline for happy hour | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
nikinik
LSU Fan
Mid City
Member since Jan 2009
5428 posts

Review - Apolline for happy hour


After a previously wonderful visit to Apolline last year, a friend and I decided to stop in for a drink and an appetizer before heading out to dinner at Upperline.

We were thrilled to see that Apolline offers happy hour on Saturdays! I love restaurants that offer this, and the the only other ones that I know of in the city are John Besh restaurants. Apolline's happy hour is every Tuesday-Saturday, 5-7 pm and offers 1/2 price beer, wine, and well drinks, as well as small plates for $2, $4, and $6.

My friend had a glass of Prosecco and I had a glass of Trivento Malbec. Both were delicious and reasonably priced at $5 a glass.

We both ordered the small plate of Seared Diver Scallop with a Grilled Gulf Shrimp over Corn Maque Choux for $6. It was absolutely delish. I had ordered this as my entrée on my last visit to Apolline, so I was already in love with it. Several other tasty small plates are offered for reasonable prices during happy hour, but we only had the scallops since we were having dinner elsewhere.

I really enjoy the atmosphere at Apolline too. It's quaint and warm and beautiful. I would say it's perfect for a family dinner, or a date, or dinner and drinks out with the girls.

Our waitress was attentive and provided great service. She was the same waitress I had on my last visit. It was nice to see a restaurant holding onto its staff!

On a board outside on the sidewalk they were advertising bottomless mimosas for $8 for brunch! I'm a big fan of bottomless mimosas with brunch and it's hard to find in New Orleans. I can't wait to visit for brunch.







Back to top
Share:
iAmBatman
USA Fan
The Batcave
Member since Mar 2011
4028 posts
 Online 

re: Review - Apolline for happy hour


probably should have put that here





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Pectus
New Orleans Saints Fan
Internet
Member since Apr 2010
45202 posts
 Online 

re: Review - Apolline for happy hour


I RA'd to get this thread moved for you!





Back to top
  Replies (0)
GeauxxxTigers23
USA Fan
TeamBunt General Manager
Member since Apr 2013
22308 posts
 Online 

re: Review - Apolline for happy hour


Did you take pictures and put on instagram?





Back to top
High C
LSU Fan
viewing the fall....
Member since Nov 2012
6372 posts

re: Review - Apolline for happy hour


What's an Apolline?





Back to top
nikinik
LSU Fan
Mid City
Member since Jan 2009
5428 posts

re: Review - Apolline for happy hour


Apolline is a restaurant on Magazine Street in New Orleans.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
nikinik
LSU Fan
Mid City
Member since Jan 2009
5428 posts

re: Review - Apolline for happy hour


I took a picture of my scallops and of the small plates menu, but I didn't put on Instagram. I never use Instagram and I really need to because I take so many food pics and write so many reviews.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Oenophile Brah
LSU Fan
The Edge of Sanity
Member since Jan 2013
4939 posts

re: Review - Apolline for happy hour


quote:

We were thrilled to see that Apolline offers happy hour on Saturdays! I love restaurants that offer this, and the the only other ones that I know of in the city are John Besh restaurants. Apolline's happy hour is every Tuesday-Saturday, 5-7 pm and offers 1/2 price beer, wine, and well drinks, as well as small plates for $2, $4, and $6.

This is fantastic news. Makes up for not posting pics.

Love Apolline, I've been several times but never for lunch of brunch. This happy hour revelation will be put to good use.

Thanks






Back to top
nikinik
LSU Fan
Mid City
Member since Jan 2009
5428 posts

re: Review - Apolline for happy hour


I REALLY love a great happy hour. Another one that I really like is at One in the Riverbend. Monday-Friday, 5-7. 1/2 price specialty drinks and wine and 1/2 price appetizers. Their crab cakes are so good. Lump crab and hardly any breading at all with thin sliced, fried mirliton and roasted garlic aioli for $6.75. You can make a meal out of it with the sourdough bread that comes with it. Their sourdough is made with cultures started before hurricane Katrina. The flavor is so deep and sour you'd wear it's got cheese in it. I could sit there all night and just eat that bread!





Back to top
LSUAfro
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Aug 2005
10298 posts
 Online 

re: Review - Apolline for happy hour


quote:

nikinik
Looks good. I keep meaning to go and talk myself out of it.

Next time...






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Rohan2Reed
Grambling Fan
T'uela me la pela
Member since Nov 2003
70876 posts
 Online 

re: Review - Apolline for happy hour


had no idea about their happy hour, thanks for posting about it. I've only been once / for dinner / and though the food was good but lacked some execution. The sweetbreads were probably the worst I've ever had, but the lamb osso bucco was really really good .. the duck confit which my gf got was just mediocre .. skin could use some work. I'll be getting the fried quail next time I think. And of course you can't go wrong with cheap small plates and half priced wine.





Back to top
Chair
LSU Fan
New Orleans
Member since Jan 2013
1655 posts

re: Review - Apolline for happy hour


quote:

nikinik


Do they have a specific happy hour menu? The website just lists a standard dinner menu but nothing specific in the happy hour section.






Back to top
nikinik
LSU Fan
Mid City
Member since Jan 2009
5428 posts

re: Review - Apolline for happy hour


$2 Small Plates

Mixed Olives
Spiced Bar Nuts
White Bean Hummus w/ Crostini

$4 Small Plates

Dirty Duck Balls
Duck Confit, Duck Liver, Foie Romesco

Watermelon Salad
Smoked Sea Salt, White Balsamic, Macro Greens, Frisee, Feta

Pomme Frites
Garlic Aioli

$6 Small Plates

Fried Quail
Potato Salad, BBQ Sauce

Seared Diver Scallop w/ Grilled Shrimp over Corn Maque Choux

Gulf Shrimp & Grits
Tin Roof Amber, House Made Andouille, Stone Ground Grits






Back to top
Chair
LSU Fan
New Orleans
Member since Jan 2013
1655 posts

re: Review - Apolline for happy hour


That looks awesome. And since it's so cheap you can try several different things and not spend a ton.





Back to top
nikinik
LSU Fan
Mid City
Member since Jan 2009
5428 posts

re: Review - Apolline for happy hour


Exactly. I'm doing a happy hour crawl tomorrow!

Rio Mar
1/2 price cocktails, wine, and & $3 beer
$5 tapas
LINK

Eleven 79
Free anti pasta bar

Apolline
1/2 price wine, well drinks, and specially priced small plates

One
1/2 price wine, specialty drinks and appetizers

St. James Cheese Company
3 cheese board and a glass of wine for $15




This post was edited on 7/3 at 8:39 am


Back to top
Chair
LSU Fan
New Orleans
Member since Jan 2013
1655 posts

re: Review - Apolline for happy hour


Are you hitting each one for a half hour???!!







Back to top
Hat Tricks
LSU Fan
Natchitoches, LA
Member since Oct 2003
21915 posts

re: Review - Apolline for happy hour


Had brunch at Surreys a few months back and had drinks at Apolline while we waited on our table at Surreys. The bartender was awesome and the bloody marys were great.

I've wanted to make it back over there to try some food but haven't been able to yet.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
nikinik
LSU Fan
Mid City
Member since Jan 2009
5428 posts

re: Review - Apolline for happy hour


quote:

Are you hitting each one for a half hour???!!


Yep. Point is to have one drink and a small plate at each place.

We know the owner of One, so we can show up there at 7 on the dot and get our drink and app.

We also changed the list to take out Superior, and add Rio Mar. Also added St. James Cheese at the end because their happy hour goes until 8 p.m. and they offer a 3 cheese board and a glass of wine for $15 special.



This post was edited on 7/3 at 8:36 am


Back to top
Rohan2Reed
Grambling Fan
T'uela me la pela
Member since Nov 2003
70876 posts
 Online 

re: Review - Apolline for happy hour


Detailed cocktail review? If you're ordering cocktails that is. It's hard to find bartenders in Nola who are well-rounded and have a diverse set of skills. Specifically when it comes to their takes in classic drinks.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Chair
LSU Fan
New Orleans
Member since Jan 2013
1655 posts

re: Review - Apolline for happy hour


That makes sense. I was just assuming each one was 5-7 so it seemed like you'd be in a rush to finish and go from one to the other.





Back to top


Back to top