What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career? | Page 2 | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
Broke
LSU Fan
AKA Buttercup
Member since Sep 2006
57287 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


Mr. Perfect is a horrible name for this guy

For this guy


For this guy

For this guy






Back to top
LSURussian
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2005
84448 posts
 Online 

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


I've traveled quite a bit internationally for my own business since 1995. I've worked in 27 countries over that time amassing almost 2 million miles on Delta alone which doesn't count all the airmiles on foreign carriers I was forced to use frequently. (You haven't lived until you've flown Tajik Air into Dushanbe, Tajikistan. LINK)

It's very rewarding financially and very interesting learning the different cultures, but it takes a toll on family. You miss a lot.






Back to top
Mr.Perfect
Louisiana
Member since Mar 2013
5399 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


quote:

Mr. Perfect is a horrible name for this guy

For this guy


For this guy

For this guy


dang phone






Back to top
  Replies (0)
RickAstley
LSU Fan
Reno, Nevada
Member since May 2011
1634 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


I've got one aunt who traveled for a living with Marriott. She was able to retire at a very early age. I know she wasn't able to sustain a marriage during that time, and never had kids. I don't want to end up retiring early at the sacrifice of not having a wife and kids.





Back to top
roguetiger15
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2013
4758 posts
 Online 

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


mr perfect actual post count is 42.33 for the record





Back to top
  Replies (0)
tigerfoot
LA-Monroe Fan
Alexandria
Member since Sep 2006
19135 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


quote:

At the end of the day though, I want what puts me ahead.


nothing creates opportunities like networking, and your net us much broader on the road..

I personally hate travel , I am out about 30 nights a year and that is too many for me.



This post was edited on 5/8 at 3:25 pm


Back to top
RickAstley
LSU Fan
Reno, Nevada
Member since May 2011
1634 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


I completely let the networking aspect fall off my radar. Thanks for that good thought to consider





Back to top
bovine1
LSU Fan
Walnut Ridge,AR via Tallulah,LA
Member since Dec 2004
803 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


I was a veterinary drug rep 2005-2006. My wife and I figured up that I spent roughly 155 nights/yr in motels. I got tired of it. My only regrets are missing alot of my sons games, etc..





Back to top
RickAstley
LSU Fan
Reno, Nevada
Member since May 2011
1634 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


If you did not have kids, do you think your opinion would be different? I personally do not want a traveling career while raising a family. I do see this as an opportunity to make a fast amount of money at an early point in my career, all the while I am not married, and no kids.





Back to top
Costanza
Auburn Fan
Member since May 2011
403 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


Sounds like there will never be a better time for this type of opportunity. You can always come back home and work locally, but the opportunity for the increased income/networking/travel may never again be something you are interested in/can justify.

My job required required a lot of regional travel at first (apprx 125 nights first year), but that has slowed down significantly, due mainly to increased need locally. I could not have maintained that pace for much longer, especially once we started having children. The travel was tough but had a lot of benefits. I have a ton of loyalty points with Hilton and Marriott and a huge number of Delta sky miles. This has allowed my family to go wherever, whenever. I also "paid my dues" and earned a lot of brownie points with my superiors, allowing for several promotions and raises since then.

I say go for it. Good luck.



This post was edited on 5/10 at 9:31 am


Back to top
  Replies (0)
ZereauxSum
LSU Fan
Lot 23E
Member since Nov 2008
9400 posts
 Online 

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


quote:

I personally hate travel , I am out about 30 nights a year and that is too many for me.


I have a wife and small kids and enjoy traveling, but I'm only out 10-15 nights a year. It's a nice break in the day-day routine.

30-40 nights a year is probably more than I would want. I would probably just be tolerating it at that point.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
cuyahoga tiger
LSU Fan
NE Ohio via Tangipahoa
Member since Nov 2011
1305 posts
 Online 

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


I have been traveling for work Tues-Fri every other week for the past 15 years. I will say in the beginning it was kind of cool. Now I dread, airports, rental cars and hotels. That being said, I could not make my current coin doing something else and not traveling or taking different position with current employer. In addition, I think the traveling has made my marriage stable. When I get back home, we REALLY enjoy each others company.





Back to top
PerceivedReality
LSU Fan
Black Hills
Member since Apr 2013
626 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


IMHO the same principle applies to almost any field. the more you sacrifice early on the less you will have to later. the road less traveled is more often than not the most prosperous. perfect time in your life to jump on this. i have traveled for the same company since i graduated (5 years) and worked 60-80 hr weeks the majority of my career. ive sacrified a lot but it is about to pay off big time. best of luck to you. FWIW i think you should take it
ETA: my traveling consisted of relocating. anywhere between every 6 months to a year.



This post was edited on 5/11 at 4:18 pm


Back to top
  Replies (0)
RickAstley
LSU Fan
Reno, Nevada
Member since May 2011
1634 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


quote:

I have been traveling for work Tues-Fri every other week


This is how my travel will be from my understanding. My friend who has gone the route of a traveling career, travels sunday-friday every other week. On the occasion he won't travel for certain months, and then there is the occasion where he will be gone up to 3 weeks at a time.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
BassHorn
Member since Dec 2011
149 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


I traveled heavily my first four years out of school. 223 nights in hotels in 07, 195 in 08. Wouldn't trade a second of it. I went through spurts where I would have a bit of burn out, but one really good week on the road would change my attitude for several months. Seeing the sighs and partying with locals is the best way to live your youthful lives - all on the company dime.

I don't travel as much, although I've found much more gainful Local emeployment. I do very well but I miss the travel and all the good times that went with it.






Back to top
RickAstley
LSU Fan
Reno, Nevada
Member since May 2011
1634 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


Would you travel within the U.S. or were you going overseas? I like the fact I will see a sizable increase in pay/benefits going this route, as well as half a years expenses covered by the company.





Back to top
Tigerbait46
LSU Fan
Member since Dec 2005
7596 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


For those of you who travel extensively, particularly internationally, what line of work are you in?





Back to top
RickAstley
LSU Fan
Reno, Nevada
Member since May 2011
1634 posts

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


I don't travel, yet, although my line of work is software development. I do ERP installations and customizations. I wish to only travel within the U.S. & Canada. On the flip side, if I were to decide to travel internationally, there is high demand through Australia, New Zealand, India, and Europe for my position.





Back to top
cuyahoga tiger
LSU Fan
NE Ohio via Tangipahoa
Member since Nov 2011
1305 posts
 Online 

re: What are some of the MT's opinions regarding a traveling career?


quote:

For those of you who travel extensively, particularly internationally, what line of work are you in?


sales....don't ask, it isn't glamorous






Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top