Draft Picks Review | Page 3 | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
LooseCannon22282
South Alabama Fan
Mobile, AL
Member since May 2008
15810 posts
 Online 

re: Draft Picks Review


true.

I'm looking forward to see what he does nonetheless. His size will command a lot of double teams and keep the inside backers clean.







Back to top
  Replies (0)
Brettesaurus Rex
New Orleans Saints Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2009
24501 posts
 Online 

re: Draft Picks Review


Are you going to make me all the research for your argument?

NT are not expected to rush the passer. They're expected to take on multiple blocks and free opportunities up for the linebackers. No one is expecting Bunkley or Jenkins to rack the sacks up. I guarantee you'll see Hicks in the NT spot in passing situations and the starting NT come out






Back to top
Hoodoo Man
LSU Fan
Sunshine Pumping most days.
Member since Oct 2011
20273 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

NT are not expected to rush the passer.

That's not ALWAYS true though.






Back to top
BayouBengal99
LSU Fan
Eunice
Member since Oct 2007
1117 posts
 Online 

re: Draft Picks Review


Idk what year he graduates but that 6'7" 275 pound that runs 4.6/4.7 Irish/ German dude from SMU looks like a pretty damn good prospect to look at!!! DE at SMU check him out!!! Perfect for the 3/4 IMO I mean perfect, prob will be a 1st rounder though


This post was edited on 4/28 at 3:53 pm


Back to top
bonethug0108
New Orleans Saints Fan
Avondale
Member since Mar 2013
4829 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


Again people who think a one gap nose is the same as a two gap nose.

Ratliff, Bunkley, Kris Jenkins, Hicks. Those guys get off their blocks and head up field. Cody, our Jenkins, Wilfork. Those guys are two gap block holders.

Ryan runs a one gap and Bunkley will be the starter. Jenkins will rotate in from time to time, especially against teams with good backs.






Back to top
GOON
New Orleans Saints Fan
Fantasy Land
Member since Mar 2008
4328 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

Idk what year he graduates but that 6'7" 275 pound that runs 4.6/4.7 Irish/ German dude from SMU looks like a pretty damn good prospect to look at!!! DE at SMU check him out!!! Perfect for the 3/4 IMO I mean perfect, prob will be a 1st rounder though


I can only imagine you are talking about Margus Hunt. He got drafted on Friday.






Back to top
goatmilker
LSU Fan
2014 drunkin Bobby award winner!
Member since Feb 2009
17910 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


If he will be used that little I would be surprised at the price we paid a bit. Ivory and two 4th rounders.





Back to top
Hoodoo Man
LSU Fan
Sunshine Pumping most days.
Member since Oct 2011
20273 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

I can only imagine you are talking about Margus Hunt. He got drafted on Friday.


That's what I thinking.

Dude is old and definitely was not a first rounder.






Back to top
bonethug0108
New Orleans Saints Fan
Avondale
Member since Mar 2013
4829 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


I didn't say he would be used very little, especially given our recent history against the run.

I'm just saying he won't be the starter. Most 3rd rounders aren't expected to be (at least not year one). That's where
you get your role players/future potential starters.






Back to top
CocoLoco
New Orleans Saints Fan
30° 12' N 92° 0' W
Member since Jan 2012
13668 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


Hunt will be a beast. He is a freak athlete.





Back to top
DoubleDown
Alabama Fan
New Orleans, Louisiana
Member since Oct 2008
3661 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


C- draft until John Jenkins. Then it became a B+ draft.
Overall it was good for the Saints.






Back to top
CocoLoco
New Orleans Saints Fan
30° 12' N 92° 0' W
Member since Jan 2012
13668 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


Armstead was a hell of a pick IMO


The UDFAs might be my favorite out of sheer potential/production that could come from Chase Thomas and Kevin Reddick






Back to top
  Replies (0)
LSUFreek
LSU Fan
Greater New Orleans
Member since Jan 2007
7958 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

Hunt will be a beast. He is a freak athlete.


I'll admit Hunt does look the part of a future Hall of Famer, but I saw two videos that made me think he is less than ordinary.

SMU vs Tex Am: Hunt vs Luke Joeckel You could make a case that these are Luke Joeckel's highlights. #92 Hunt was non-existent.

Now you might say "Not fair, that was against Joeckel".

Well, I then saw clips of him against Tulane and their senior RT #79 Eric Jones (rated 999 out of 112 OT's) and he gets handled like an NFL camp body would. LINK

I could be wrong, but based on those highlights, I would not be shocked if he is cut in preseason THIS year.






Back to top
goatmilker
LSU Fan
2014 drunkin Bobby award winner!
Member since Feb 2009
17910 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

C- draft until John Jenkins.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
landrywasbeast30
Member since Nov 2011
1384 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

Bunkley, Kris Jenkins


Jenkins was a prototypical NT space eater. Bunkley has never really played NT, and is known as a run stuffer and horrible interior pass rusher. I just don't know where you are getting this stuff from.

You are basing all of this off of one guy(Ratliff) who was put in that spot because Dallas had no one else. Ratliff is not the kind of guy 3-4 teams look for to play NT. I think you are over thinking this and trying to show how much smarter you are than everyone else. The guys who can do both at NT tend to be special players like Ngata and sometimes Shaun Rogers.

You are going off of standards that really only one other player in the league lives up to. And the funny thing is, that guy was moved to DE because of his ability to rush the passer, and more traditional NT's have been put in that spot lol.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
CocoLoco
New Orleans Saints Fan
30° 12' N 92° 0' W
Member since Jan 2012
13668 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


He is one of those guys that doesn't stop on plays. He is SUPER raw, but he has a lot of natural talent and ability. He also has hardly played any ball, so he hasn't come close to scratching the surface. IF the guy can learn to play below his pads more (which is the biggest problem in the clips vs Joekel), he can be a star. I think the guy has a great chance to do so. Fill in with white football player stereotypes: high motor, doesn't give up, deceptive speed, plays a lot like Wes Welker.


This post was edited on 4/28 at 8:01 pm


Back to top
Carson123987
LSU Fan
Middle Court at the Rec
Member since Jul 2011
38958 posts
 Online 

re: Draft Picks Review








Back to top
  Replies (0)
landrywasbeast30
Member since Nov 2011
1384 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

bonethug0108


There is one huge whole in your theory of trying to tell us what Rob Ryan runs. Well 2 huge holes if you count the fact that Bunkley doesn't fit the type of player you are talking about. Why did the Saints trade Ivory, then 2 fourth rounders, to move up to draft a 360 pound guy if he doesn't fit what Ryan wants? Either you know what Ryan wants more than he does, or he had absolutely no say in who the Saints drafted to fit his defense?






Back to top
  Replies (0)
GOON
New Orleans Saints Fan
Fantasy Land
Member since Mar 2008
4328 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

Ivory and two 4th rounders.


It wasn't Ivory AND 2 4th rounders. If was essentially Ivory and 1 4th round pick.

Ivory traded for pick 106 from the Jets.

Pick 106 and pick 109 traded to Miami for pick 82.






Back to top
LSUFreek
LSU Fan
Greater New Orleans
Member since Jan 2007
7958 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

He is SUPER raw....He also has hardly played any ball, so he hasn't come close to scratching the surface


I'll give you that. Who knows. Time will tell, I guess.

It just reminded me of when we drafted Al Woods. Everybody here that's followed his career at LSU pretty much boo-hooed the pick as you would expect, but I tried to stay optimistic since he was now a Saint and thought, well, you can't teach height and size, maybe 3GW could do something with his tools that I'd been aware of since his 5-star status coming out of HS.

I went and re-looked at Woods' highlight reel on You Tube and the highest rated comment was "You call these highlights?" I thought the same thing when I saw Margus Hunt's videos.






Back to top


Back to top