Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated) | Page 2 | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
007mag
LSU Fan
Death Valley, Sec. 408
Member since Dec 2011
1970 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


quote:

Just drive down a dirt road slowly (about 20)and wait. the dog will probably try and jump out. When it does, it will roll a little and never do it again
We would do same thing when I was just a 007rimfire growing up in NELA.






Back to top
El Josey Wales
LSU Fan
Greater Geismar
Member since Nov 2007
22710 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


Yep. Tried and true method.





Back to top
Nodust
LSU Fan
Member since Aug 2010
18757 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


We always used the leash tied to the gooseneck hitch for training. Tie is so when they jump out their back legs can just touch the ground. Just remove from the leash before they quit breathing for good





Back to top
  Replies (0)
JAB528
LSU Fan
The Mexican Ocean
Member since Jun 2012
14953 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


quote:

I don't care how well my dog is trained, under no circumstances would I even risk putting her back there not in a box. That is just me though. Oh and the bed of your "truck" is completed covered, remember.


Fair enough, I just grew up with dogs in the beds of trucks with no problems. I guess what I'm trying to say is we don't need a law for this shite.

I also have a ram too, I'm about to sell it though now that I have a working van.






Back to top
TigerDeacon
Wake Forest Fan
West Monroe, LA
Member since Sep 2003
24552 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


My lab rides right beside me in the front passenger seat. That way we can share cookies. He gets all mopey when Mrs. Tigerdeacon wants to ride up front.

He is too dumb to ride in the back of a truck but you can't knock him off the back of a 4wheeler. Never understand that.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Nodust
LSU Fan
Member since Aug 2010
18757 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


Do you tie the crate down?

I guess it wouldn't do any good if you didn't






Back to top
El Josey Wales
LSU Fan
Greater Geismar
Member since Nov 2007
22710 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


quote:

Now that I have a working van




Can't be too careful.






Back to top
34venture
LSU Fan
Buffer Zone
Member since Mar 2010
8822 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


Correct





Back to top
  Replies (0)
DonChowder
LSU Fan
Caulifornea
Member since Dec 2012
5009 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


WTF is that shit? Some dog owners have lost it.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
34venture
LSU Fan
Buffer Zone
Member since Mar 2010
8822 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


quote:

I also have a ram too


And that makes sense why they lay down. I'd be embarrassed to be seen in the back of a ram as well.






Back to top
Nodust
LSU Fan
Member since Aug 2010
18757 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


My friend had an aussie/heeler mix that rode on the roof of the truck. You could see his paws hanging over the windshield. I think he would use the cab lights as better traction. When we would go work cows the dogs would pile in in their particular spot.







Back to top
El Josey Wales
LSU Fan
Greater Geismar
Member since Nov 2007
22710 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)








Back to top
  Replies (0)
El Josey Wales
LSU Fan
Greater Geismar
Member since Nov 2007
22710 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


A friend of mine had a heeler that would do the same thing.

She would also walk along the top of a wood fence like a cat.

She would ride on the rump of his horse right behind the saddle when we were hog hunting.

Cool dog. She was fearless.

China was her name. Some of you Nela lurkers probably knew her.






Back to top
JAB528
LSU Fan
The Mexican Ocean
Member since Jun 2012
14953 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)










Back to top
  Replies (0)
Nodust
LSU Fan
Member since Aug 2010
18757 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


I don't think you could have gotten one of those in a crate.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
JAB528
LSU Fan
The Mexican Ocean
Member since Jun 2012
14953 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


The world needs more van drivers. I think you should trade the duramax in for an econoline.





Back to top
El Josey Wales
LSU Fan
Greater Geismar
Member since Nov 2007
22710 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


No





Back to top
JAB528
LSU Fan
The Mexican Ocean
Member since Jun 2012
14953 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


Some folks just aren't ready to be van life.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
SpeckledTiger
LSU Fan
Denham Springs
Member since Jul 2010
464 posts
 Online 

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


quote:

I disagree that there needs to be legislation for this in the same way I don't think we need to legislate seat belts, but this is lower on my priority list of 'shits given'. I'm picking my battles, and this is not one of them.


While I agree with this, the problem comes in when other people's negligence can cause someone harm. I may be way off base here, but I would think that if a dog jumps out the back of a truck and causes an accident, there would need to be a law stating it was required in order for the driver of that truck to be found negligent. Also, you can thank the insurance companies for the seatbelt laws. It has nothing to do with the government attempting to save lives. It's about reducing risks so insurance companies can make more money.






Back to top
choupiquesushi
LSU Fan
yaton rouge
Member since Jun 2006
13173 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


sooner or later even the best trained dog will find something that spikes it's curiosity enough to get in trouble.





Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top