Opinion on Polaris atvs | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
geaux7122
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Sep 2011
143 posts

Opinion on Polaris atvs



I am in the market for a new atv and came across a good deal on a 2005 Polaris sportsman 500. I have only owned Honda racing bikes, so I wanted to get the OB's opinion on Polaris atvs. Are they as reliable as Honda? Mostly going to be used at the hunting camp and trail riding.
Thanks in advance!







Back to top
Share:
banone74
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2006
275 posts

re: Opinion on Polaris atvs


I've got an 04 model, bought new, never had a problem with it, still runs well to this day. Not much info but all I got





Back to top
bbvdd
Alabama Fan
Memphis, TN
Member since Jun 2009
8930 posts

re: Opinion on Polaris atvs


Grease Monkey who works on them says that the Polaris 500 is the best motor on ATVs right now.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
BarDTiger81
LSU Fan
nurfeast lowsyana
Member since Jul 2011
15639 posts

re: Opinion on Polaris atvs


I have an 800 and will never sale. Will have a 500 one day for the wife.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
tigah headache
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2011
386 posts

re: Opinion on Polaris atvs


Never been a fan of polaris atvs. Like the rangers, but I've seen way too many older Polaris atvs break down and have electrical problems. As for the newer ones (2010-up) I have no quarrel.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Slickback
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Deer Stand
Member since Mar 2008
26237 posts

re: Opinion on Polaris atvs


They are the best EVER or worthless POSs, depends on who you ask.


They have a lot of power and a nice ride but some are haunted by electrical nightmares.






Back to top
geaux7122
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Sep 2011
143 posts

re: Opinion on Polaris atvs


I appreciate all the input. From my understanding they are just as reliable as Honda but with a better ride. Every one I know has ether a rancher or foreman. I don't want to buy something that turns into a money pit.





Back to top
tigah headache
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2011
386 posts

re: Opinion on Polaris atvs


I've owned Yamaha atvs all my life and my next wheeler will be a rincon or foreman FWIW. Getting to where I hate a belt driven transmission.





Back to top
Bill Parker?
Member since Jan 2013
1443 posts

re: Opinion on Polaris atvs


Great bikes, but you will spend some money on service. I've been on the same Honda for 14 years, and I've only paid for batteries and replacement parts that have worn out (fuel lines, air filter).

The way used ATVs tend to be priced, I'd buy a new one, even if you have to finance it. That way you baby it and keep it forever. My kid will end up riding mine in a few years when I get a new one.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Nascar Fan
LSU Fan
Columbia La.
Member since Jul 2011
15391 posts

re: Opinion on Polaris atvs


Best riding machine out there
I think mine is a 2000 but not sure & is still going strong






Back to top
JAB528
LSU Fan
The Mexican Ocean
Member since Jun 2012
15010 posts

re: Opinion on Polaris atvs


Stop lyin, you ragged the shite out that machine.





Back to top
greasemonkey
Alabama Fan
Macclenny Fl aka south JAWJA
Member since Aug 2012
2624 posts

re: Opinion on Polaris atvs


quote:


They have a lot of power and a nice ride but some are haunted by electrical nightmares.


They have fixed the electical issues..

OP call adealer with the vin# and make sure the recall has been handled on the surepower control box. if it hasnt just ask owner to have it done first.

all they do is swap out an elecrical box that controls the fan and other acc.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Nascar Fan
LSU Fan
Columbia La.
Member since Jul 2011
15391 posts

re: Opinion on Polaris atvs


quote:

Stop lyin, you ragged the shite out that machine.

Naw that's my RZR






Back to top
  Replies (0)
greasemonkey
Alabama Fan
Macclenny Fl aka south JAWJA
Member since Aug 2012
2624 posts

re: Opinion on Polaris atvs


quote:

I've owned Yamaha atvs all my life and my next wheeler will be a rincon or foreman FWIW. Getting to where I hate a belt driven transmission.




donr get electric shift on the foreman and as an atv mechanic I would never own a rincon or rubicon
the TRANNYS COST BIG MONEY TO FIX ON THEM.
Manual shift hondas are ok but ride and pull like shite with no power compared to yamaha and polaris.
Put a good cluth kit and make sure the belt box is sealed good and you will never have a problem. and if you do get mud in the belt box remove it and clean and will last foeva







Back to top
  Replies (0)
Carson123987
LSU Fan
Middle Court at the Rec
Member since Jul 2011
38453 posts

re: Opinion on Polaris atvs


do not want





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Rize
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Sep 2011
1921 posts

re: Opinion on Polaris atvs


I don't know if I would say the are just as reliable as a Honda but they are good bikes. As far as reliability Honda takes number one but you give up power for the reliability.





Back to top
Contender54
LSU Fan
the Enn Oh
Member since Jan 2009
348 posts

re: Opinion on Polaris atvs


My '97 Sportsman 500 still runs strong and it has been neglected and abused for years.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Aristo
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jan 2007
2843 posts

re: Opinion on Polaris atvs


My 05 Sportsman 800 had the cluch explode into at least 30 pieces. I'm the only person that has ever had this happen to I'm sure, but on a positive note, it was an easy do it yourself repair.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
BarDTiger81
LSU Fan
nurfeast lowsyana
Member since Jul 2011
15639 posts

re: Opinion on Polaris atvs


Geaux- if you like the Polaros get it. Great ride, power to spare and it will take care of you as long as you don't sink it in mud and water every weekend.





Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top