Sylvain - pics and review | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
Darla Hood
LA-Lafayette Fan
Near that place by that other place
Member since Aug 2012
4762 posts

Sylvain - pics and review



First, Gaston, thanks for the recommendation and thanks for telling us about the front door! We were able to look like we knew what we were doing upon entering. I know we would have looked like morons, otherwise. While we were eating, two guys did enter through those doors. A server quickly went and locked them after.

As to the food. OMG. Truly delicious. We loved our starters as well as our entrees. No dessert, we were quite satisfied to end the meal without.

It was a much more intimate atmosphere than our previous night's dinner at Borgne. It was so dark that my husband had to use the table candle to see some of the menu. We were there very early in the evening and the place didn't start filling up until we were almost ready to leave. Good thing Gaston wasn't there, because I did take pics of the food. Don't worry, I didn't tell them that you sent us. My son's friend, Charlie, used to work there. I told them that she sent us.

Pic quality isn't great. Had to take quick shots so as not to be too obvious.



Chicken Liver Crostini
Maras Farm’s sprouts, dandelion gastrique

So good. Slightly rich, but not so rich that I didn't eat it all. Yum.




Crushed Field Peas on Toast
lemon, mint, Pecorino Toscano, chili oil

My husband's starter. He loved it! I had a bite and thought it was delicious, too. Seriously, crushed field peas? Good stuff.




Pan-fried Pork Shoulder
coosa valley grits, mushrooms, mustard jus

My main. The pork shoulder was tender with a crispy outside. Flavorful and rich. The grits and pork made a perfect bite. The mustard greens tasted lightly pickled. They were not like slow cooked southern greens (which I loved), but a fresher interpretation. Loved it all.



Slow-Cooked Pork Sandwich
pickled collards, roasted garlic and chili oil

There was a red slaw that came with another dish, and my husband asked if they would give him the slaw instead of the pickled collards, which they did. He loved it.

Great restaurant. Small, intimate, not a huge menu, but enough that would make me want to go back and try some of the other things. A most excellent choice. A+

We weren't very adventurous with our drinks. My husband had a Sylvain Sazerac and then a margarita on the rocks. I had one margarita on the rocks.



This post was edited on 1/30 at 10:03 pm



Back to top
Share:
heypaul
Penn Fan
The O-T Lounge
Member since May 2008
28447 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review


That looks great!!

Good review, thanks

Oh .. And what's with the door?






Back to top
Darla Hood
LA-Lafayette Fan
Near that place by that other place
Member since Aug 2012
4762 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review




You go through a little alley to the right of what would appear to be the front door. The hostess is around the back. The back of the bicycle tire is in front of the alley.






Back to top
heypaul
Penn Fan
The O-T Lounge
Member since May 2008
28447 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review


Is there a secret knock also?










Back to top
Gris Gris
LSU Fan
OTIS!OTIS!OTIS!OTIS!NO BAY LEAVES!
Member since Feb 2008
26404 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review


Nice!





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Kim Jong Ir
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jan 2008
27773 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review


Nice review. Thanks.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
bossflossjr
LSU Fan
The Great State of Louisiana
Member since Sep 2005
8826 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review


quote:

Pan-fried Pork Shoulder coosa valley grits, mushrooms, mustard jus


That looks incredible. Jeesh. Gotta cravin for it now!






Back to top
kage
Auburn Fan
ATL
Member since Feb 2010
3490 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review


I ate there about 2 years ago and really enjoyed it. I can't remember what I had though. I'm sure the menu has changed a little since then. They made a hell of a Sazerac, though.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Darla Hood
LA-Lafayette Fan
Near that place by that other place
Member since Aug 2012
4762 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review


quote:

Gotta cravin for it now!


Actually, I could go for it all over again, too. I've got an envie.






Back to top
ruzil
Southeastern LA Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2012
5263 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review


Nice review Darla, I love that place. It looks so ordinary but the food is so exquisite.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Darla Hood
LA-Lafayette Fan
Near that place by that other place
Member since Aug 2012
4762 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review


quote:

Is there a secret knock also?


heypaul, I did the under-the-chin-finger-wave like a good Little Rascal. They let us right in!

ruzil, don't know if I'd have gone in had I not heard about it from others.

And thanks to all who commented. :-)






Back to top
PBeard
Penn Fan
Look on the Brightside
Member since Oct 2007
5556 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review


Bump,

anything new on the menu? What to get? What's the right cocktail to get with a big tasting menu?






Back to top
Rohan2Reed
Grambling Fan
T'uela me la pela
Member since Nov 2003
71845 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review


haven't been in a few months but my buddy went the other night and got the beef cheeks and said they were stellar as usual. not really a place that switches up their main offerings, but the salad/soup/fish are always in rotation. duck liver crostini is a great app there.

as far as cocktails go I think they make the best gin gimlet in the city.






Back to top
Darla Hood
LA-Lafayette Fan
Near that place by that other place
Member since Aug 2012
4762 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review


Just an aside, I tried doing something with those pictures, but the quality is just bad. Sorry.





Back to top
PBeard
Penn Fan
Look on the Brightside
Member since Oct 2007
5556 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review


the porchetta sandwich reminds me of John's Roast Pork in Philly







Back to top
Darla Hood
LA-Lafayette Fan
Near that place by that other place
Member since Aug 2012
4762 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review


Doesn't that look yummy. What kind of greens?





Back to top
PBeard
Penn Fan
Look on the Brightside
Member since Oct 2007
5556 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review


Broccoli rabe





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Oenophile Brah
LSU Fan
The Edge of Sanity
Member since Jan 2013
5510 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review


Great review.

That pan fried pork shoulder looks delish. I need to get back over there.






Back to top
plawmac
Member since Dec 2007
3210 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review


WEnt about a week ago - can't improve on what Darla said. Its damn good and not that expensive for the quality.





Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top