Posted by
Message
jackwoods4
New Orleans Saints Fan
Nashville
Member since Sep 2013
12422 posts

re: Blade Runner 2049: RT 90% 175 Reviews
I can't wait for Thursday night.


19
Flux Capacitor, Fluxing
Member since Nov 2007
9009 posts

re: Blade Runner 2049: RT 90% 175 Reviews
quote:

Hey 19


The Cuervo Gold,
The fine Columbian...

And I saw White Zombie at The Varsity...a hundred years ago...92 or 93.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
mizzoubuckeyeiowa
Member since Nov 2015
10531 posts

re: Blade Runner 2049: RT 90% 175 Reviews
The 1 Rotten review feels like Ebert has come back from the dead.

quote:

There is very little precedent for a movie like Blade Runner 2049, a 2.75-hour, R-rated sequel to a very old cult movie and box office flop starring a long-ago box office draw and an inconsistent younger movie star, earning as much as this one needs to in order to be profitable.

Denis Villeneuve’s sequel, produced by Ridley Scott and co-starring original lead Harrison Ford, is a grim, very long and occasionally violent R-rated sci-fi drama.

Blade Runner 2049 takes forever to go nowhere special.
The picture, filled with intriguing sights, low-key performances and a few interesting ideas, is drawn out to the point of self-parody. Like the first Blade Runner, it masks a thin story and little in the way of momentum with towering visuals and self-seriousness. But the filmmaking world has changed in 35 years, and the mere ability to put incredible sights and sounds onscreen is no longer in itself a pass for deficiencies elsewhere. It is a true sequel to Blade Runner, warts and all.

There is far more visual emphasis on the visuals this time out until we realize that this is a 90-minute detective story stretched out to 155 minutes (plus credits).

This faithful to a fault sequel can’t compete with the visual and narrative imagination of something like Dark City or Ex Machina.


Byron Bojangles III
Butler Fan
Member since Nov 2012
44033 posts

re: Blade Runner 2049: RT 90% 175 Reviews
So is Deckerd a replicate?


YumYum Sauce
Arkansas Fan
Arkansas
Member since Nov 2010
2853 posts

re: Blade Runner 2049: RT 90% 175 Reviews
watching it at 7 tonight


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
abellsujr
LSU Fan
Dallas, TX
Member since Apr 2014
18930 posts
 Online 

re: Blade Runner 2049: RT 90% 175 Reviews
Leaving shortly.


jackwoods4
New Orleans Saints Fan
Nashville
Member since Sep 2013
12422 posts

re: Blade Runner 2049: RT 90% 175 Reviews
In the theater.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
OMLandshark
Ole Miss Fan
Member since Apr 2009
62053 posts

re: Blade Runner 2049: RT 90% 175 Reviews
One hour to go!


VoxDawg
Georgia Fan
Kennesaw, GA
Member since Sep 2012
5552 posts

re: Blade Runner 2049: RT 90% 175 Reviews
Just got out. I enjoyed it, but I'm going to have to read up a good bit to figure out what exactly I watched.

Loved me some Joi, though. She's adorable.


jackwoods4
New Orleans Saints Fan
Nashville
Member since Sep 2013
12422 posts

re: Blade Runner 2049: RT 90% 175 Reviews
VIS. UAL. MAS. TER. PIECE


TD SponsorTD Fan
USA
Member since 2001
Thank you for supporting our sponsors
Advertisement
jackwoods4
New Orleans Saints Fan
Nashville
Member since Sep 2013
12422 posts

re: Blade Runner 2049: RT 90% 175 Reviews
If Roger Deakins doesn't win this year, I will fight people.


jg8623
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Aug 2010
10673 posts

re: Blade Runner 2049: RT 90% 175 Reviews
So is it also a good movie or just a visual masterpiece?


jackwoods4
New Orleans Saints Fan
Nashville
Member since Sep 2013
12422 posts

re: Blade Runner 2049: RT 90% 175 Reviews
I liked it a lot. It's one of those movies that really takes its time to tell the story, but you don't mind at all. Very atmospheric.


abellsujr
LSU Fan
Dallas, TX
Member since Apr 2014
18930 posts
 Online 

re: Blade Runner 2049: RT 90% 175 Reviews
Visual masterpiece. Some of the best cinematography I've ever seen. Much like the original.

I enjoyed it.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
jg8623
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Aug 2010
10673 posts

re: Blade Runner 2049: RT 90% 175 Reviews
Yea I have no problem with a slower paced movie if it's done right. Planning on seeing it Sunday or Monday depending on this damn hurricane. Can't wait


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
abellsujr
LSU Fan
Dallas, TX
Member since Apr 2014
18930 posts
 Online 

re: Blade Runner 2049: RT 90% 175 Reviews
quote:

So is it also a good movie or just a visual masterpiece
Solid movie. Good story. A slow burn, like the original.


tiderider
Alabama Fan
Member since Nov 2012
6603 posts

re: Blade Runner 2049: RT 90% 175 Reviews
thought it was a bit blunt in some places, with one or two too many nods to the original ... not sure 'blunt' is the right word ... did a fantastic job using the new technology and maintaining the original feel ...


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
OMLandshark
Ole Miss Fan
Member since Apr 2009
62053 posts

re: Blade Runner 2049: RT 90% 175 Reviews
quote:

So is it also a good movie or just a visual masterpiece?


Both. Just wrapped it up. I'm willing to say it is the best sci fi sequel of all time (Empire is Science Fantasy and Khan's predecessor was lacking). Instantly memorable and a classic. Loved every moment of it. I like it more than the original personally. I may need another watch of both of them to confirm it. But regardless, it's one of the best sequels of all time.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
14
tiderider
Alabama Fan
Member since Nov 2012
6603 posts

re: Blade Runner 2049: RT 90% 175 Reviews
quote:

So is Deckerd a replicate?




YumYum Sauce
Arkansas Fan
Arkansas
Member since Nov 2010
2853 posts

re: Blade Runner 2049: RT 90% 175 Reviews
blown away.

everything was beautiful. the score, the gritty people, the city, the wastelands (hello fallout 4) and of course the story.

I have a few spoilerish questions, but not going to post them until there' a spoiler tag on the title.

there's been very few movies that take me out of reality like this one did.


first pageprev pagePage 2 of 3next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram