Preview of Softball 2014 Recruiting Class | Page 3 | TigerDroppings.com
Posted by
Message
Tigerbait357
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2011
2851 posts

re: Preview of Softball 2014 Recruiting Class

I have to also say, Torina has an outstanding staff. I'm very pleased with the Howard Dobson. I think he'll stay at LSU. His track record as a coach is poor, but he is terrific in developing hitters and is a good recruiter!


mistert
Member since Jun 2011
356 posts
Online

re: Preview of Softball 2014 Recruiting Class
Tigerbaiter: Thanks for all of the information. I knew we had a good class, but Torina REALLY is doing a fabulous job. You aptly pointed out, or someone did, she and Fico had a tremendous emotional battle at season's end and Fico lost her dad and Torina is facing a similar prospect with her mom, only child in both cases, I think.

As for the "detractors," LOL, when you look at their evaluations, based on hottest to lesser looks, then just consider that YOUR PEARLS ARE BEING CAST TO SWINES AND THAT'S JUST HOW THIS IMPRERFECT LIFE GOES. Peace be with you brother and keep telling it on TIGER MOUNTAIN!!


Tigerbait357
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2011
2851 posts

re: Preview of Softball 2014 Recruiting Class
Mistert, its nice to see you post something positive


mistert
Member since Jun 2011
356 posts
Online

re: Preview of Softball 2014 Recruiting Class
Durn, I did not proofread before I posted, did I leave out a negative spin? Dimmit!!



I have always thought highly of Torina and was quite ecstatic over the departure to the Murphy Squaw and his Grinning Cajun ASS't.......they are both spawns of our former HC and I will give that ole gal her props for an overall career in Louisiana Softball, but she was never a real Tiger....let her go back to her Boudin Farm and show her real colors.

Now I am adding this negative spin so my m.o. remains intact


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
flucobaseball
LSU Fan
VA
Member since Apr 2004
6251 posts

re: Preview of Softball 2014 Recruiting Class
Thanks for the update. I'm not sure how any pitcher could be a lot farther along than Fico in high school. Fico had the best stats I've ever seen.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
CPT Tiger
LSU Fan
My own personal Hell
Member since Oct 2009
1005 posts

re: Preview of Softball 2014 Recruiting Class
So I got to chat with my brother (Taylor's dad) last night and we both got a good chuckle out of this. Taylor was never commited to anyone prior to LSU, Taylor is a lead off slap hitter who will burn up the base path.

She will be a senior next year so lay off the remarks you degenerates.

She is in California thi summer playing for one of the top travel teams in the country.


smp4lsu
Member since Sep 2006
46 posts

re: Preview of Softball 2014 Recruiting Class
Did your brother say who offered her?


CPT Tiger
LSU Fan
My own personal Hell
Member since Oct 2009
1005 posts

re: Preview of Softball 2014 Recruiting Class
I didn't ask. I know she was uncommitted though before LSU. I also know she had worked out with UCLA players a while back when she played in a tournament with the Cali travel team. I think she also met with MIZZU coach then as well. I am pretty sure she did visit some of the state schools.


Tigerbait357
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2011
2851 posts

re: Preview of Softball 2014 Recruiting Class
Weird... ull coaches told me she committed to them b4, well guess that is a lie!! Taylor is a very good slapper, she has a lot of speed!


catnip
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2003
11037 posts

re: Preview of Softball 2014 Recruiting Class
Caught the 5A Louisiana final last night. It was in the 7th inning and I realized it was Bailey Corbello who was pitching.

Does anyone know how hard she throws? Her fastball didn't look that fast. She has a very good change up though. I watched Selmon last week on TV and her fastball looked faster but she didn't seem to have a second pitch.


Tigerbait357
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2011
2851 posts

re: Preview of Softball 2014 Recruiting Class
Corbello throws 60-62, but her pitches have great movement.
Selman throws 64-66, she has has a very good change up and drop ball. She is developing her third pitch, the rise ball . I have no doubt that beth will develop that third pitch.


catnip
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2003
11037 posts

re: Preview of Softball 2014 Recruiting Class
Thanks 357. Would like to see both girls have great careers as Tigers. BT has been a pleasant surprise as coach and I hope she succeeds here for a long time.


Tigerbait357
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2011
2851 posts

re: Preview of Softball 2014 Recruiting Class
Your very welcome, ever have a question about any aspect of the softball or WBB program, I'll be very happy to answer. I have many connections to both programs. Beth will be here for a long time!! She is very young!
Like I said, Beths record at Florida international over shadowed what she really did. She took a team from 29-34 to 31-29 to 38-21. That's incredible considering its Fl. International, its very difficult to get players for a school like that. She is a great fit for LSU, what she does better then Girouard, is knowing that you have to have hitters, an offense to be able to compete in the sec and win a national championship!!


atlee
Stanford Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Oct 2008
1043 posts

re: Preview of Softball 2014 Recruiting Class
She was loyal to a fault with DeFeo and very good high hitters weren't developing on his watch in college.


Tigerbait357
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2011
2851 posts

re: Preview of Softball 2014 Recruiting Class
quote:

She was loyal to a fault with DeFeo and very good high hitters weren't developing on his watch in college.

Huh??


saintsfan22
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
baton rouge
Member since May 2006
30440 posts
Online

re: Preview of Softball 2014 Recruiting Class
quote:

She was loyal to a fault with DeFeo and very good high school hitters weren't developing on his watch in college.

I think FIFY


doya2
LSU Fan
Franklin
Member since Jan 2005
1873 posts

re: Preview of Softball 2014 Recruiting Class
quote:

Corbello throws 60-62, but her pitches have great movement. Selman throws 64-66, she has has a very good change up and drop ball. She is developing her third pitch, the rise ball . I have no doubt that beth will develop that third pitch.


The ball used in college is a tad heavier. They will have to get stronger to keep throwing that hard.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
doya2
LSU Fan
Franklin
Member since Jan 2005
1873 posts

re: Preview of Softball 2014 Recruiting Class
quote:

Corbello throws 60-62, but her pitches have great movement. Selman throws 64-66, she has has a very good change up and drop ball. She is developing her third pitch, the rise ball . I have no doubt that beth will develop that third pitch.


The ball used in college is a tad heavier. They will have to get stronger to keep throwing that hard.


Tigerbait357
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2011
2851 posts

re: Preview of Softball 2014 Recruiting Class
Fico threw at 64 coming out of hs, I have no concerns that they won't develop quickly.


Harv1790
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2009
1140 posts

re: Preview of Softball 2014 Recruiting Class
With Clint Meyers leaving Arizona State... would we accept any transfers or their recruits? Just curious... & are you hearing any interest?


Page 3 of 8

Back to top

Follow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram