bar room pool rules | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
iggle
USA Fan
Member since Oct 2007
2646 posts

bar room pool rules


Last night, I had more disagreements over supposedly universal pool rules than I've ever had before. Here's three situations, looking to get some other opinions on what's the accepted rule:

1. Player one breaks but doesn't sink a ball. The table is open. Player two attempts a combo shot with a stripe to a solid to sink the solid. Is this allowed, using a solid AND a stripe?

2. Player one is attempting a three ball combo shot, solid to eight ball to solid. Is using the eight ball like this allowed?

3. Player two breaks and sinks two solids, no stripes. He then attempts a shot on a solid and misses. Is the table still open?

I'll sit back and listen now.







Back to top
Share:
Factsman
LSU Fan
Badstreet USA
Member since Oct 2008
12229 posts

re: bar room pool rules


3. open





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Enigma
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Jan 2008
6617 posts

re: bar room pool rules


1. Looked it up... here is the ruling: If the table is open you can combo off anything. If it is not open then you can still combo (stripe/solid) to make a ball and the ball counts, but you don't get another shot.
2. yes, I think so
3. still open, you have to make a ball after the break for it not to be open.

thread/



This post was edited on 6/2 at 7:03 pm


Back to top
Factsman
LSU Fan
Badstreet USA
Member since Oct 2008
12229 posts

re: bar room pool rules


yea not sure bout first 2





Back to top
  Replies (0)
lathoroughbred
LSU Fan
Louisiana/Kentucky
Member since May 2008
7126 posts

re: bar room pool rules


no
yes
open






Back to top
  Replies (0)
UnclassyStudent
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Oct 2007
2496 posts

re: bar room pool rules


1. table is open after the break, it doesn't matter
2. the eightball can be contacted as long as it isn't the first, or the ball to go in
3. the table is open after the break

quote:

The table is always open immediately after the break shot. When the table is open, it is legal to hit any solid or stripe first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid.


BCA 8 Ball rules



This post was edited on 6/2 at 7:06 pm


Back to top
Sheep
USA Fan
In the beer room at Stein's
Member since Jun 2007
15672 posts
 Online 

re: bar room pool rules


My knowledge is limited (at best) regarding the subject at hand.

That said....

1. Never allowed.

2. Yes.

3. No.

I'm probably wrong, but that's my thoughts.






Back to top
kengel2
LSU Fan
Team Gun
Member since Mar 2004
5622 posts

re: bar room pool rules


Yall, do a lot of combo shots.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
SW2SCLA
LSU Fan
on the night shift
Member since Feb 2009
19762 posts

re: bar room pool rules


quote:

. Player one breaks but doesn't sink a ball. The table is open. Player two attempts a combo shot with a stripe to a solid to sink the solid. Is this allowed, using a solid AND a stripe?


must be the same type of ball

quote:

. Player one is attempting a three ball combo shot, solid to eight ball to solid. Is using the eight ball like this allowed?


the eight ball is always neutral and can be used in any combo

quote:

3. Player two breaks and sinks two solids, no stripes. He then attempts a shot on a solid and misses. Is the table still open?



the table is still open






Back to top
Enigma
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Jan 2008
6617 posts

re: bar room pool rules


quote:

1. table is open after the break, it doesn't matter
2. the eightball can be contacted as long as it isn't the first, or the ball to go in
3. the table is open after the break


+1
This is correct, similar to what I stated above..







Back to top
  Replies (0)
Sheep
USA Fan
In the beer room at Stein's
Member since Jun 2007
15672 posts
 Online 

re: bar room pool rules


So, I was wrong on #3. Cool, I learned my one thing for the day.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Enigma
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Jan 2008
6617 posts

re: bar room pool rules


quote:

quote:
. Player one breaks but doesn't sink a ball. The table is open. Player two attempts a combo shot with a stripe to a solid to sink the solid. Is this allowed, using a solid AND a stripe?



must be the same type of ball


This combo is always allowed, though if the table is not open, you will lose your turn.






Back to top
lathoroughbred
LSU Fan
Louisiana/Kentucky
Member since May 2008
7126 posts

re: bar room pool rules


quote:

Player two attempts a combo shot with a stripe to a solid to sink the solid



no I say again no. That is refered to as.... pool. I would start a fight.






Back to top
glassman
USA Fan
Next to the beer taps at Finn's
Member since Oct 2008
98347 posts
 Online 

re: bar room pool rules


Sounds like a really shitty break.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
UnclassyStudent
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Oct 2007
2496 posts

re: bar room pool rules


quote:

no I say again no. That is refered to as.... pool. I would start a fight


You might wanna go learn the rules before you go getting into any fights






Back to top
BamaScoop
Alabama Fan
Panama City, Florida
Member since May 2007
33363 posts

re: bar room pool rules


1. No
2. Yes
3. No






Back to top
  Replies (0)
iggle
USA Fan
Member since Oct 2007
2646 posts

re: bar room pool rules


ok, because I know you're all dying to know:

1. This other guy broke and didn't sink anything. So my buddy tries a combo with a stripe and a solid and the other guy, right away, said he couldn't do that. NEVER HEARD THAT BEFORE.

2. I was attempting a three ball combo, desperation shot I admit, and my only chance was to use the eight ball. Again, this same guy started to cry about how that was against the rules too. NEVER HEARD THAT BEFORE EITHER

3. I've always played the table is NOT open (unless a stripe and solid was pocketed on the break) but I've heard of others playing with it open. FWIW, in any tournament or league, the table is not open as well. Yeah yeah, I know this is bars we're talkin about, but I've know others that play the table is not open in bars as well.






Back to top
lathoroughbred
LSU Fan
Louisiana/Kentucky
Member since May 2008
7126 posts

re: bar room pool rules


quote:

You might wanna go learn the rules before you go getting into any fights


You are probably right. Thing of it is we call our game before it starts. That is Bush league pool you are getting rules from. Ours is a Gentlemans game.






Back to top
BilJ
LSU Fan
Shady's
Member since Sep 2003
117132 posts

re: bar room pool rules


here's a rule...

if you're playing in a packed bar like JLs, you're a douche so don't get pissed when people frick your shot up






Back to top
GoldenBoy
Georgia Fan
Winning!
Member since Nov 2004
35373 posts

re: bar room pool rules


quote:

if you're playing in a packed bar like JLs, you're a douche so don't get pissed when people frick your shot up








Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top