Posted by
Message
HandGrenade
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2010
10805 posts

re: What are you reading?
Halfway into The Sound and the Fury. It's tough, but I want to finish it.


lsunurse
LSU Fan
Scottsdale, AZ
Member since Dec 2005
111980 posts

re: What are you reading?
Halfway into Beneath a Scarlet Sky

Image: https://images.gr-assets.com/books/1485303988l/32487617.jpg



Pretty good so far, but I'm always fascinated by any WW2 books.

quote:

Based on the true story of a forgotten hero, USA Today bestseller Beneath a Scarlet Sky is the triumphant, epic tale of one young man’s incredible courage and resilience during one of history’s darkest hours.

Pino Lella wants nothing to do with the war or the Nazis. He’s a normal Italian teenager—obsessed with music, food, and girls—but his days of innocence are numbered. When his family home in Milan is destroyed by Allied bombs, Pino joins an underground railroad helping Jews escape over the Alps, and falls for Anna, a beautiful widow six years his senior.

In an attempt to protect him, Pino’s parents force him to enlist as a German soldier—a move they think will keep him out of combat. But after Pino is injured, he is recruited at the tender age of eighteen to become the personal driver for Adolf Hitler’s left hand in Italy, General Hans Leyers, one of the Third Reich’s most mysterious and powerful commanders.

Now, with the opportunity to spy for the Allies inside the German High Command, Pino endures the horrors of the war and the Nazi occupation by fighting in secret, his courage bolstered by his love for Anna and for the life he dreams they will one day share.

Fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Nightingale, and Unbroken will enjoy this riveting saga of history, suspense, and love.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
jrenton
New Orleans Saints Fan
Houston
Member since Mar 2007
1820 posts
 Online 

re: What are you reading?
Titan: the life of John D Rockefeller by Ron Chernow


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
rgsa
USA Fan
n/w La.
Member since May 2015
260 posts

re: What are you reading?
J.Patterson '16th'seduction


REG861
Vanderbilt Fan
Wellsville
Member since Oct 2011
31598 posts

re: What are you reading?
Dreamland: the true tale of America's opiate epidemic by Sam Quinones


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
Palo Gaucho
Benton
Member since Jul 2013
3046 posts

re: What are you reading?


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
JawjaTigah
LSU Fan
South of Tampa
Member since Sep 2003
16308 posts

re: What are you reading?
The Half-Blood Prince. First time Potter series reader; light, easy, fun reads. Binging them.


OMLandshark
Ole Miss Fan
Member since Apr 2009
62060 posts
 Online 

re: What are you reading?
That's my favorite of the 7


Crimson1L
Alabama Fan
Mountain Brook
Member since Nov 2015
34 posts
 Online 

re: What are you reading?
Goblet of Fire is my favorite in the series. Hard to beat that opening 100 pages of the Quidich World Cup. Also, I know it catches a lot of slack, but I really enjoyed Order of the Phoenix.

Chamber of Secrets is by far the worst IMO.


auburn32
Auburn Fan
Auburn
Member since Dec 2009
704 posts

re: What are you reading?
Just finished Stillhouse Lake. It's really good if you like Silence of the Lambs type stuff. Now, I'm going with a change of pace and re-reading A Wise Man's Fear.
This post was edited on 8/16 at 7:55 pm


S
Texas Southern Fan
America was already great, mane.
Member since Jan 2007
84974 posts
 Online 

re: What are you reading?
Snows of Kilimanjaro

I love Hemingway but his style would drive modern day publishing houses crazy
This post was edited on 8/16 at 11:43 pm


Spitting Venom
USA Fan
Member since Sep 2013
936 posts

re: What are you reading?
The World is Flat by Thomas L. Friedman. I'm about 30% finished and enjoying it.


unbeWEAVEable
Chicago Cubs Fan
The Golf Board Godfather
Member since Apr 2010
13356 posts
 Online 

re: What are you reading?
Actually took me a while to find this. Had two orders cancelled on Amazon because the seller was "out of stock", but then saw them reselling it for almost 10x the price. Found it at a bookstore in New Orleans.

It has become a collector's item now that White House Chief of Staff John Kelly has announced its his go-to professional development book.

Image: https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/51LA85bFmeL._SX309_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg


Sasquatch Smash
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2007
6234 posts

re: What are you reading?
Just started on Jim Butcher's "Furies of Calderon."


Dubosed
Alabama Fan
Gulf Breeze
Member since Nov 2012
3012 posts
 Online 

re: What are you reading?
Doing a re read of The Power of the Dog by Don Winslow. Been a decade since I read it and really enjoying it so far.


TheGooner
LSU Fan
Baton Rewage
Member since Jul 2016
259 posts

re: What are you reading?
I'm working through the Flashman series. I'm on to book 5 - Flashman and the Great Game.

Loving this series. Can't believe I had never heard of it until recently.


12Pence
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Jan 2013
6225 posts

re: What are you reading?
Bad Paper: Chasing debt from Wall Street to the underworld by Jake Halpern


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Sasquatch Smash
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2007
6234 posts

re: What are you reading?
quote:

the Flashman series


I really want to get to these someday.




I'm currently about to finish the second book, "Academ's Fury," of Butcher's The Codex Alera series.


REG861
Vanderbilt Fan
Wellsville
Member since Oct 2011
31598 posts

re: What are you reading?
The Skeptic: A Life of H.L. Mencken by Terry Teachout

very interesting and well written


TigerV
Member since Feb 2007
1194 posts

re: What are you reading?
Confessions of an Economic Hitman.

Very interesting history


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Jump to page
Page First 7 8 9 10 11 ... 13
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 9 of 13next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram