Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32 | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
Judge Smails
Michigan State Fan
Chasing Blue Duck
Member since Mar 2008
4196 posts
 Online 

Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32


I'm interested in fellow OBer's experiences with this setup. It's for my newly purchased M&P 15-22. Should I go with this one or a Nikon P-22 (which is currently on sale at Cabela's).

LINK







Back to top
Share:
LSUmakemewanna
LSU Fan
Houston, TX
Member since Aug 2010
1067 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32


I said my piece earlier on this particular scope. The elevation/windage turrets crapped out on me. I had it on my 15-22 as well. Maybe I just got a lemon.





Back to top
Judge Smails
Michigan State Fan
Chasing Blue Duck
Member since Mar 2008
4196 posts
 Online 

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32


That's one vote for the Nikon.





Back to top
Hu_Flung_Pu
USA Fan
In the handicap stall
Member since Jan 2013
4715 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32


I think I'm gonna go P223 on my AR 3-9x40. Thought about the 3x32 but want the extra umph. I've been looking at that UTG also. They do have a lifetime warranty though.





Back to top
Judge Smails
Michigan State Fan
Chasing Blue Duck
Member since Mar 2008
4196 posts
 Online 

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32


quote:

P223 on my AR 3-9x40


I have that scope on my 5.56 and really like it






Back to top
  Replies (0)
bbvdd
Alabama Fan
Memphis, TN
Member since Jun 2009
8589 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32


I have the UTG on my 15-22 and haven't had any issues at all. Really like the scope. I haven't put just a ton of rounds through it but have probably put 1000-1500, I guess. Scope has held up perfectly and has maintained it's zero.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Pepperidge
LSU Fan
Slidell
Member since Apr 2011
2003 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32


I've got the Nikon on my 15-22...very accurate...

I have another that I took off my sons 15-22 as he is great with the factory open sights...

get the P series scope rings to go with it...you can get them off ebay for $35 shipped...






Back to top
  Replies (0)
TigerOnThe Hill
Springhill
Member since Sep 2008
2594 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32


I admit I have no personal experience w/ this scope as don't have a scope made by UTG. Nevertheless, I wouldn't recommend one. UTG appears to be made by Leapers. From what I've read Leapers doesn't have much of a reputation for reliability. On a lower recoiling gun like a 223 Rem or 22 LR, I imagine most of the scopes will be ok. Put them on a heavier recoiling gun and I bet one will begin to see problems. Your gun is a 22 so you'll probably be ok so risk it if you want. Since it's just a plinking gun, at least you won't have to worry about the scope failing during a big game hunt or a self defense situation. I'm reminded of the time I put a NcStar handgun scope on a T/C Contender handgun chambered in a round similar to the 308 Win. I'd read all kinds of great reviews from other handgun hunters. After,100 rounds my scope went belly up, resulting in a wounded deer that couldn't be recovered. I sent it back to the factory and they replaced it. I put the replacement on a 22 LR and it's been ok so far. I've not bought an NcStar since nor will I ever do so. If you choose to get it, be sure you've made an informed decision of what you may be getting in to.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
kengel2
LSU Fan
Team Gun
Member since Mar 2004
5584 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32


Honestly, never used utg and never will unless I get into to airsoft.





Back to top
Hu_Flung_Pu
USA Fan
In the handicap stall
Member since Jan 2013
4715 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32


quote:

Honestly, never used utg and never will unless I get into to airsoft.


IIRC you can use a rimfire or airsoft scope on a centerfire but can't use a centerfire on a rimfire/airsoft. Somebody could have just trying to get by cheaply.






Back to top
Judge Smails
Michigan State Fan
Chasing Blue Duck
Member since Mar 2008
4196 posts
 Online 

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32


Thanks to all who commented. Looks like I'm going with the Nikon, although I did see a bad arse Leupold last night.

Leupold






Back to top
TigerOnThe Hill
Springhill
Member since Sep 2008
2594 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32


I've had nothing but GOOD experience w/ both Nikon and Leupold scopes through the year. Don't see many low powered variables now days because there's so much emphasis on "more power." I think a low powered variable is highly underrated and very useful.





Back to top
Judge Smails
Michigan State Fan
Chasing Blue Duck
Member since Mar 2008
4196 posts
 Online 

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32


Thanks for the input TotH.





Back to top
LSUmakemewanna
LSU Fan
Houston, TX
Member since Aug 2010
1067 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32


Buddy of mine has a 3-9 Nikon rimfire on his 10/22. Shooting @ 50 yds is very very clear.....and fun.





Back to top
Hu_Flung_Pu
USA Fan
In the handicap stall
Member since Jan 2013
4715 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32


quote:

LSUmakemewanna


wasted 1k post on this....

Need NSFW or Gun porn






Back to top
LSUmakemewanna
LSU Fan
Houston, TX
Member since Aug 2010
1067 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32


And at 1K, I still feel like an underachiever.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
kengel2
LSU Fan
Team Gun
Member since Mar 2004
5584 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32


quote:

IIRC you can use a rimfire or airsoft scope on a centerfire but can't use a centerfire on a rimfire/airsoft.


You got that backwards. A centerfire rifle would destroy a rimfire/airsoft scope.

quote:

Somebody could have just trying to get by cheaply.


Still can with the Nikon.






Back to top
Judge Smails
Michigan State Fan
Chasing Blue Duck
Member since Mar 2008
4196 posts
 Online 

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32


Guys I took a chance on the Vortex Strikefire at PSA for $99.99 - it comes with an extra high set of rings so I can cowitness with my Magpul MBUS sights.

PSA






Back to top
Hu_Flung_Pu
USA Fan
In the handicap stall
Member since Jan 2013
4715 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32


quote:

Vortex Strikefire at PSA for $99.99


you went from magnified to non-magnified?






Back to top
Judge Smails
Michigan State Fan
Chasing Blue Duck
Member since Mar 2008
4196 posts
 Online 

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32


It includes a 2x magnifier. I think that should be plenty for a plinking fun gun. I could be wrong, but it will cost me $100 to find out.





Back to top


Back to top