UPDATE Drunk Chicken - Would a brine help? - Opinion on spatchcock method? | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
bossflossjr
LSU Fan
The Great State of Louisiana
Member since Sep 2005
8612 posts

UPDATE Drunk Chicken - Would a brine help? - Opinion on spatchcock method?


Would a 5-6 hour brine help the "drunk" chicken method?

Thought about trying the "spatchcock" as well.

Have a whole chicken im planning using tonight.



This post was edited on 9/15 at 7:21 pm



Back to top
Share:
Martini
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Mar 2005
27962 posts

re: UPDATE Drunk Chicken - Would a brine help? - Opinion on spatchcock method?


Yes and yes. I like spatchcock then put a brick on it in a cast iron pan on my grill. If I have time I brine all my chicken.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
oldcharlie8
LA-Lafayette Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2012
3847 posts

re: UPDATE Drunk Chicken - Would a brine help? - Opinion on spatchcock method?


i just inject them. never have i brined them before.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
pooponsaban
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2008
13103 posts

re: UPDATE Drunk Chicken - Would a brine help? - Opinion on spatchcock method?


Drunk chicken is a gimmick with no upside. If you are going to grill then spatchcock. I personally don't brine chickens but if you do I would go 2 hours max.





Back to top
Martini
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Mar 2005
27962 posts

re: UPDATE Drunk Chicken - Would a brine help? - Opinion on spatchcock method?


This has fail written all over it. A gimmick with no upside? What the hell does that even mean? 2 hours max on a chicken. Ok. Why?





Back to top
bossflossjr
LSU Fan
The Great State of Louisiana
Member since Sep 2005
8612 posts

re: UPDATE Drunk Chicken - Would a brine help? - Opinion on spatchcock method?


I disagree on "gimmick with no upside." I will agree that the can/liquid doesnt add significance to the moisture of the bird, but cooking a whole chicken while standing on the grill has benefits.

Im not sure why a chicken should brine "at most 2 hours"






Back to top
  Replies (0)
pooponsaban
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2008
13103 posts

re: UPDATE Drunk Chicken - Would a brine help? - Opinion on spatchcock method?


Because I find a chicken brined longer than that is too salty. Sorry for having an opinion on the matter.





Back to top
bossflossjr
LSU Fan
The Great State of Louisiana
Member since Sep 2005
8612 posts

re: UPDATE Drunk Chicken - Would a brine help? - Opinion on spatchcock method?


Ok. Just curious about the reasoning





Back to top
hungryone
LSU Fan
river parishes
Member since Sep 2010
1849 posts

re: UPDATE Drunk Chicken - Would a brine help? - Opinion on spatchcock method?


No brine for me, but I do buy better than average chickens to begin with. Spatchcock rules...forget the can. Rub a spice mix under the skin, sprinkle a little more on the outside (oil the skin a little first), them cook indirect at 350-400...1 hr 30 at the lower temp range, 1 hr 10-15 at the higher temp. A damn near perfect bird every time. Like this:
To me, the best part about spatchcock is the wide sweet spot...if the temp and time aren't perfect, the results will still be very edible.






Back to top
ruzil
Southeastern LA Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2012
4811 posts

re: UPDATE Drunk Chicken - Would a brine help? - Opinion on spatchcock method?


Spatchcock on the BGE. Brining is really not needed if you are using this method to cook.

But, brine away if that makes you feel good.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
bossflossjr
LSU Fan
The Great State of Louisiana
Member since Sep 2005
8612 posts

re: UPDATE Drunk Chicken - Would a brine help? - Opinion on spatchcock method?


Brined from 9am - 3pm

Removed and patted dry.... Spatchcocked the chicken.

Rubbed with olive oil, then a homeade blackening seasoning & celery salt/cayenne.

Grilled outside on charchoal for about an hour around 300... Then put in oven for 20 at 425.

Chicken was huge....could have cooked longer, or in different order...

But it was probably the most moist chicken i have ever eaten/cooked. Will b the method goin forward. Thanks all






Back to top
Martini
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Mar 2005
27962 posts

re: UPDATE Drunk Chicken - Would a brine help? - Opinion on spatchcock method?


Brining any poultry or pork is always good if you think ahead and have the time.

And if you rinse well in cool water and pat dry it will not be salty. That's a myth.






Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top