Star Trek Review*No Spoiler* | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
FootballNostradamus
Clemson Fan
Member since Nov 2009
14421 posts

Star Trek Review*No Spoiler*



Just got out. I'll keep from including anything that could spoil anything for anyone. Also, as apparently needs to be made known in any Star Trek thread, I am not a Star Trek fan in any way. I love the first of the reboot, but I hadn't watched any of the previous films. Anyways, here goes.

That movie was sweeeeeeet! Visually it was breathtaking. I saw it in IMAX 3D, and it was the closest thing since Avatar to visuals. Some scenes, like the opening scene and some space fights, are epic in the 3D, just epic.

The main villain was a sweet character, one of the better villains in a long time. Alice Eve's character was a pretty weak addition, but jesus she could've been the janitor and it would've been a great casting, dat body is insane.

If I had any criticisms it'd be that at times it went a little too querky in line with The Avengers when it could have gotten a little darker, grittier. It's fine, doesn't detract at all, just a little annoying to always have to have some comic/light-hearted comment, as it was in The Avengers.

I also thought they overdid Kirk and Spahk's gut/logic debates. It works at times, but sometimes it's just overkill. They brought it to a good close in the end so hopefully in the next films (there better be more) they just let the two be themselves.

Overall, awesome movie. Wish it was a little darker, but for what it tried to be it nailed it. Might see it again tomorrow .

Edited by Admin



This post was edited on 5/11 at 11:57 am



Back to top
Share:
ATLTiger
#TreyBiletnikoffs
Member since Sep 2003
35527 posts

re: Star Trek Review*No Spoiler*


actually there is a pretty big spoiler in there. though I suspected it.


This post was edited on 5/11 at 4:41 am


Back to top
auyushu
Auburn Fan
Scottsdale, AZ
Member since Jan 2011
5439 posts

re: Star Trek Review*No Spoiler*


Yeah, I kinda figured as well but he will probably want to either remove the no spoilers tag or remove the actual spoiler before someone gets pissed.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Ace Midnight
LSU Fan
Currently asymptomatic
Member since Dec 2006
33504 posts

re: Star Trek Review*No Spoiler*


quote:

actually there is a pretty big spoiler in there. though I suspected it.





Yeah- didn't it have to be [The Villain in the New "Star Trek" movie]? Abrams doesn't really have any original ideas. He just watches Michael Bay and M. Night Shyamalan films and tries to combine elements thereof.

If you're going to copy all of the forms and styles (but none of the substance) of Star Trek, The Original Series, you have to grab the definitive villain that made his way into the TOS feature films, right?



This post was edited on 5/11 at 5:53 am


Back to top
CCT
LSU Fan
LA
Member since Dec 2006
3961 posts

re: Star Trek Review*No Spoiler*


quote:

Spahk







Back to top
LSUBrad5277
LSU Fan
North Louisiana
Member since Jan 2011
12640 posts

re: Star Trek Review*No Spoiler*


Contains a really big spoiler but most trek fans either knew this or it was one of their two it was going to be.







Back to top
  Replies (0)
dr smartass phd
LSU Fan
Valerie Jarrett's School Picture
Member since Sep 2004
11598 posts

re: Star Trek Review*No Spoiler*








Back to top
FootballNostradamus
Clemson Fan
Member since Nov 2009
14421 posts

re: Star Trek Review*No Spoiler*


Genuinely curious what my spoiler was



*****



What was my spoiler?



*****






Back to top
Napoleon
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Dec 2007
36930 posts

re: Star Trek Review*No Spoiler*


The name of the villain is not known except to those who saw the movie.

is the biggest of Star Trek villains, revealing that he is in the movie is a spoiler.




This post was edited on 5/11 at 5:16 pm


Back to top
FootballNostradamus
Clemson Fan
Member since Nov 2009
14421 posts

re: Star Trek Review*No Spoiler*


quote:

The name of the villain is not known except to those who saw the movie.

Khan is the biggest of Star Trek villains, revealing that he is in the movie is a spoiler.


Genuine whoops. Was this that much of a spoiler. I swear I don't follow Star Trek for shire, I just like the movies, and even I knew he was the main guy. I feel like anyone who is a diehard definitely knows who he is. There were a million threads about him in discussion talks.

I'll remove it though.






Back to top
saintsfan92612
New Orleans Saints Fan
a pretty good city
Member since Oct 2008
19812 posts

re: Star Trek Review*No Spoiler*


did anyone expect anyone other than Khan when they were doing so much to keep it a secret?





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Napoleon
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Dec 2007
36930 posts

re: Star Trek Review*No Spoiler*


It's okay, it wasn't a good secret. It either had to be him, or the guy from the first episode of TOS.

They tried to make it look like one or the other.

I always like Khan Noonien Singh, a spin-off movie about the Eugenics wars would be cool.






Back to top
FootballNostradamus
Clemson Fan
Member since Nov 2009
14421 posts

re: Star Trek Review*No Spoiler*


quote:

It's okay, it wasn't a good secret. It either had to be him, or the guy from the first episode of TOS.

They tried to make it look like one or the other.

I always like Khan Noonien Singh, a spin-off movie about the Eugenics wars would be cool.


This is when I guess my Trek knowledge limits me. Idk wtf yal are talking about and thought it was universally understood how this movie's main antagonist was, my mistake.






Back to top
Walking the Earth
Member since Feb 2013
4304 posts
 Online 

re: Star Trek Review*No Spoiler*


Without using spoilers, can you answer whether they make any attempt to explain how he is out and about this early in the new timeline?





Back to top
FootballNostradamus
Clemson Fan
Member since Nov 2009
14421 posts

re: Star Trek Review*No Spoiler*


quote:

Without using spoilers, can you answer whether they make any attempt to explain how he is out and about this early in the new timeline?


Who are you referring to when you say 'he'?






Back to top
Walking the Earth
Member since Feb 2013
4304 posts
 Online 

re: Star Trek Review*No Spoiler*


The main villain. I see his name is deleted now so I don't want to type it even though a couple of other posts have used it.





Back to top
FaSheaux
LSU Fan
12,000 posts
Member since Oct 2012
331 posts

re: Star Trek Review*No Spoiler*


If you look up the cast on IMDB it tells you who the villain is. Must not be trying too hard to keep it a secret.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
The Eric
LSU Fan
Louisiana
Member since Sep 2008
14042 posts

re: Star Trek Review*No Spoiler*


Thanks guys. He removed the spoiler but you guys posted it.

Morons.






Back to top
Napoleon
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Dec 2007
36930 posts

re: Star Trek Review*No Spoiler*


the spoiler was posted before he removed it.





Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top