Posted byMessage
Augustus
Wake Forest Fan
North Carolina
Member since Sep 2006
8084 posts

First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing


Of course, it's only two so it's a pretty small sample size, but they have basically the same complaints.

quote:

DiCaprio is a total misfire as Gatsby, thick and expressionless and unable to evoke any real sense of longing, and Tobey Maguire plays Carraway more as feeble-minded than anything else. Carraway is so passive through so much of the movie, so unwilling to take a position on anything that's happening around him, that he just doesn't work as a narrator. Considering he's the one person who is constantly telling us exactly what he's thinking and feeling, we learn basically nothing about him, and at the end of the film, he's just as much of a blank as he was at the start.

quote:

I have spoken with three people now who have struggled to articulate their feelings about this film before landing on "I didn't hate it," and that seems damning to me. I don't hate it, either, but I can't really recommend anything about it. It is professionally made and entirely limp, a gorgeous piece of craft hung on a nothing of a script, a prime case of how you can throw all the best intentions in the world at a project and none of it matters if if just doesn't click, chemistry-wise. There was never a moment in the film where I was anything less than aware that these were actors playing dress-up on expensive and completely artificial sets, and certain performances (Jason Clarke being a prime offender) are so far over the line into melodrama that I couldn't take any of it seriously.

Hitfix review.

quote:

It doesn't help that the cast feels like they're in different movies — and none of them are movies you'd particularly want to see. The blank and reactive Maguire and Mulligan are cast as the blank and reactive Nick and Daisy, the result being such a vortex of nothing that they threaten to disappear from the screen entirely. Edgerton perspires and chews the scenery in his best Snidely Whiplash manner, while DiCaprio has a fluctuating accent that often sounds like it's being delivered through a mouthful of marshmallows. DiCaprio's utterances of Gatsby's pet endearment "old sport" become more and more cringe-worthy with each repetition.

quote:

Humanity is, in fact, in short supply here, with most of the supporting characters reduced
to grotesque mugging and posturing. Luhrmann treats the people of color here like exotic
furniture, shooting his African-Americans as though he were planning to turn them into Mammy cookie jars. It’s a queasy situation only compounded by the bizarre casting of legendary Indian actor Amitabh Bachchan as Gatsby's unsavory associate Meyer Wolfshiem.

The cardinal sin of this new "Gatsby" is that it’s dull, and say what you will about
Luhrmann’s previous movies, that’s not an adjective that usually comes up. Here, sadly,
you can hear the wheels of the plot grinding as loudly as Gatsby’s custom Duesenberg.

The Wrap review.







Back to top
Share:
Billy Mays
Ole Miss Fan
The Northshore, Brah...
Member since Jan 2009
15714 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing


Not too surprised - I've been skeptical about it since I saw the first trailer.

Baz Luhrmann never inspired a lot of confidence in this project for me. His style is visually appealing - that's about it.






Back to top
OMLandshark
Ole Miss Fan
Member since Apr 2009
34714 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing


Not surprised





Back to top
Baloo
LSU Fan
Formerly MDGeaux
Member since Sep 2003
43023 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing


I haven't seen the film yet, obviously, but Nick IS feeble-minded in the book. His wide-eyed naivety allows him to swallow the entire Gatsby myth without question. He's the perfect narrator precisely because he is passive and such a blank slate. His eventually disillusionment is just a proxy for the reader.





Back to top
fouldeliverer
LSU Fan
Lannisport
Member since Nov 2008
9618 posts
 Online 

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing


I agree with most of Sepinwalls reviews, so it is disappointing.





Back to top
trillhog
Elite Membership
Member since Jul 2011
17304 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing


they are advertising the music in the film trailers now if that tells you anything.





Back to top
Mo Jeaux
LSU Fan
NYC
Member since Aug 2008
11410 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing


quote:

Tobey Maguire


quote:

so passive









Back to top
Mo Jeaux
LSU Fan
NYC
Member since Aug 2008
11410 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing


I am disappointed to hear that review about DiCaprio.





Back to top
Carson123987
LSU Fan
Middle Court at the Rec
Member since Jul 2011
34372 posts
 Online 

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing


called it. i dont think im gonna go see it





Back to top
thatguy1892
Alabama Fan
That place you wish you were.
Member since Aug 2011
4139 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing


When you move a film like that from Oscar season to early summer, that should be a clue that, "hey, this is going to be an abomination."





Back to top
lsuhunt555
Baylor Fan
Bunkie
Member since Nov 2008
19453 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing


quote:

they are advertising the music in the film trailers now if that tells you anything.



Saw that yesterday, thought it was pretty telling.






Back to top
Tiger1242
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2011
19404 posts
 Online 

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing


Well, it's getting me to re read the book, so that's good





Back to top
Rittdog
LSU Fan
Yesterday, all my troubles seemed
Member since Oct 2009
9955 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing


Its probably one of those movies I would hate to see in the theaters. Wouldnt watch when it comes on HBO. 10 years from now never miss when it comes on TNT at 10 o'clock at night on a Friday.

Typical Luhrmann






Back to top
trillhog
Elite Membership
Member since Jul 2011
17304 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing


BUT it does have Leo in it , and he doesn't really make bad movies, so i bet it's good.





Back to top
lsuhunt555
Baylor Fan
Bunkie
Member since Nov 2008
19453 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing


quote:

Its probably one of those movies I would hate to see in the theaters. Wouldnt watch when it comes on HBO


Spot on. I would probably rent it from RedBox too.






Back to top
lsuhunt555
Baylor Fan
Bunkie
Member since Nov 2008
19453 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing


quote:

BUT it does have Leo in it , and he doesn't really make bad movies, so i bet it's good.



The last time I went to the movie theater to watch a movie based on a single Actor I was supremely dissapointed.






Back to top
BluegrassBelle
Kentucky Fan
Go home Mother Nature, you're drunk
Member since Nov 2010
37801 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing


I've just come to the conclusion that for as good as the book is, it's just not meant to be adapted to the big screen. At least not in a way that's going to really grasp it.

It's a bummer honestly. I'll probably just wait for it's run on HBO too.






Back to top
13SaintTiger
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Aug 1904
Member since Sep 2011
2745 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing


quote:

called it. i dont think im gonna go see it


You must not have a S/O. Mine is making me go see this with her.






Back to top
Roaad
LSU Fan
Bushrod Owns
Member since Aug 2006
52218 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing


Robert Redford is Gatsby

The End



This post was edited on 5/6 at 10:50 am


Back to top
nikki6
New Orleans Saints Fan
Dallas
Member since Jul 2011
1782 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing


quote:

I've just come to the conclusion that for as good as the book is, it's just not meant to be adapted to the big screen


This. The reviews are critical of Nick for being exactly like Nick is in the book. I just don't think this novel translates well at all to the big screen, especially not in today's day and age.






Back to top



Back to top