From the Southern U Review | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
TigerTattle
LSU Fan
Out of Town
Member since Sep 2007
5027 posts

From the Southern U Review


I can't stick around to discuss this, but thought the board might find it worth discussing. I think she hits quite a few nails on the head. I also think she's going to get some blowback from this. (beware, grammar police)

By Jessica Sarpy, Commentator Editor

quote:

Are we living MLK's legacy or nightmare?

Is Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s ‘Dream’ still alive, or has it turned into a terrifying nightmare?

Dr. King fought nonviolently to establish equality for all Americans.

He fought so that everyone would be given the chance to achieve his or her educational goals, and to provide themselves with the lifestyle they sought fit.

Since Dr. Kings ‘I Have a Dream’ speech students can attend any school they choose and achieve the education to be anything they’d like.

America has seen black pro-athletes, actors and actresses, judges, CEOs and a black president. The appearance of equality seems to be present.

Yes, blacks are able to achieve more but do we achieve more?

Has the later generations become complacent due to the implications of equality? Why achieve more?

The novelty of being first has worn off, who cares about being the second of third black anything?

What would Dr. King Jr. say to our generation if he were alive today?

What would he say to the rappers who degrade women?

How would he react to seeing young ladies dress?

Would he be proud or would we get a stern talking to?

I believe there was a time when Dr. King’s ‘dream’ was alive, when blacks unified and accomplished things much bigger than themselves.

There was a time when we put each other first instead of stepping on each other in order to get where we wanted.

Nowadays it seems like everyone is out for his or herself. We use to worry about getting beat up or killed by Anglo-Saxon, now we are killing each other over the most ridiculous things.

Black women use to have a since of modesty, now we’re just poster boards for sexuality. Shaking our posteriors every time we hear ‘that beat’.

Black women use to be the definition of stability, we use to be strong and hold down our households without a man by our side.

Now we copy and paste the drama from TV right into our lives.

Women these days need a man to complete them.

Men use to be men and actually raise the children they brought into this world and would marry a woman before he impregnated her.

Nowadays its all Maury styled DNA test, and jigging when he’s “NOT THE FATHER!” It’s almost a sad nightmare of what Dr. King Jr. hoped for us.

As we get ready for yet another black history month I pose a few questions to whoever reads this, what happened to us?

Why can’t we unify?

Why can’t we look out for one another?

Did we replace the unified mind frame that our grandparents and great grandparents were raised on with the ‘crabs in a bucket’ way of thinking?

Are you doing everything you can to make a better life than the one your parents provided for you?

Most importantly, Is Dr. King Jr.’s ‘Dream’ alive within you?

Is Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s ‘Dream’ still alive, or has it turned into his nightmare?








Back to top
Share:
Zach
LSU Fan
Member since May 2005
62899 posts

re: From the Southern U Review


I'll start with the obvious:

quote:

How would he react to seeing young ladies dress? Would he be proud or would we get a stern talking to?


MLK would want your clothes off.






Back to top
mule74
LSU Fan
Houston, TX
Member since Nov 2004
6444 posts

re: From the Southern U Review


The grammatical errors are overwhelming.


quote:

Men use to be men





I can't believe we pay to support that "school".



This post was edited on 2/2 at 4:25 pm


Back to top
Siderophore
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2010
3334 posts

re: From the Southern U Review


An editor shouldn't have the mistakes that are in there.

Ironic considering it's about achievement.

Sounds like that Boondocks episode from years back at that.



This post was edited on 2/2 at 3:54 pm


Back to top
BRgetthenet
Golf Board Smash Lab™ CEO
Member since Oct 2011
58212 posts

re: From the Southern U Review


quote:

Sounds like that Boondocks episode from years back at that.


Is this what I took all those asswhoopins for?






Back to top
Tigah in the ATL
LSU Fan
Atlanta
Member since Feb 2005
23869 posts

re: From the Southern U Review



Not grammar, but presentation. A list of random ideas like that is almost unreadable to me.






Back to top
Gray Tiger
LSU Fan
Prairieville, LA
Member since Jan 2004
22338 posts

re: From the Southern U Review


quote:

Since Dr. Kings ‘I Have a Dream’ speech students can attend any school they choose and achieve the education to be anything they’d like.



No they can not. Unless their families have money, they are stuck in a rigidly districted and failing public education system.






Back to top
badlands
Florida Fan
Member since Apr 2008
1190 posts

re: From the Southern U Review


Say what you'd like about the grammar. The point is made and actually comes across as genuine. People complain about "Democrats," not wanting to pull their weight and how they lack morals. I'd take something like this with a few grammatical errors over a perfectly written essay on how someone has held someone else down anyday. Kudos to the writer.


This post was edited on 2/2 at 7:58 pm


Back to top
Gray Tiger
LSU Fan
Prairieville, LA
Member since Jan 2004
22338 posts

re: From the Southern U Review


quote:

Kudos to the writer.

And to the university's English department.






Back to top
WizardSleeve
Louisiana
Member since Sep 2011
763 posts

re: From the Southern U Review


The answer to the author's questions ironically lie in progressivism and its govt educational system with low standards that permits someone of her 5th grade grammar into an "accredited" university.





Back to top
matthew25
Ole Miss Fan
Member since Jun 2012
3359 posts

re: From the Southern U Review


Bill Cosby made the same points around 12-15 years ago. She dusted off his speech.





Back to top
La Place Mike
LSU Fan
West Florida Republic
Member since Jan 2004
15595 posts
 Online 

re: From the Southern U Review


She sounds like a self loathing sister to me.





Back to top
CarrolltonTiger
LSU Fan
New Orleans
Member since Aug 2005
46291 posts

re: From the Southern U Review


quote:

I'll start with the obvious:


I would have thought you would start by joining her and gang up on the Anglo-Saxons, since they threw your people out of New France.






Back to top
trackfan
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Sep 2010
16123 posts
 Online 

re: From the Southern U Review


quote:

Say what you'd like about the grammar. The point is made and actually comes across as genuine. People complain about "Democrats," not wanting to pull their weight and how they lack morals. I'd take something like this with a few grammatical errors over a perfectly written essay on how someone has held someone else down anyday. Kudos to the writer.

Amen! Grammar error asides, it's not hard to understand the point she's trying to get across.






Back to top
Bestbank Tiger
Tulane Fan
Landmass
Member since Jan 2005
19205 posts

re: From the Southern U Review


quote:

Amen! Grammar error asides, it's not hard to understand the point she's trying to get across.


Yep. And horrible grammar isn't limited to Southern University. It's a widespread issue.






Back to top
prplhze2000
LSU Fan
Parts Unknown
Member since Jan 2007
31094 posts

re: From the Southern U Review


Go read Ali's playboy interview from forty or so years ago. Might b e surprised at his comments toward the sisters.





Back to top


Back to top




//