First Time at Mr Bs Review | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
TigerTatorTots
LSU Fan
Mandeville, LA
Member since Jul 2009
66342 posts

First Time at Mr Bs Review


Stopped for lunch with my parents today. My mom and dad go often, but I had never been.

I started with the Duck Rolls. Absolutely amazing. I have to say that is the best spring roll type app I have ever tried. The ginger soy sauce made it.

I had to get the BBQ shrimp per an older thread I read where everyone had suggested it. I've had BBQ shrimp at quite a few places across the city before today. The sauce at Mr Bs was my favorite, however, the shrimp were a bit overcooked. 2 or 3 of the shrimp were very hard to peel and 1 was downright impossible. Needless to say, the flavor was still amazing.

Mom wasn't that hungry so she got the catfish fingers app . Dad was really craving a burger so he that is what he ordered. I thought it would be another waste, but I tried it and I have to say its easily top 3 best burgers I've ever had.

For dessert I got the profiteroles, per Glassman's recommendation in the older thread. They were a perfect light desert to end the meal.

Overall, I was very impressed for the first time there. It would have been a perfect meal if my shrimp were cooked correctly. However, the sauce definitely made up for it.







Back to top
Share:
VOR
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
New Orleans
Member since Apr 2009
41203 posts

re: First Time at Mr Bs Review


quote:

Stopped for lunch


Really, the best time to eat there, imo. I have always thought of it as a lunch place.

Too bad about the shrimp. That's unusual in my experience.

But the profiteroles are an absolute must if you're eating dessert.

The only thing I'd say is that someone should have had the gumbo ya-ya.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
AtlBrett
LSU Fan
Marietta, GA
Member since Sep 2008
2789 posts

re: First Time at Mr Bs Review


Sent a friend of mine there back in November for his first trip to NOLA, he also said his bbq shrimp were over cooked and many impossible to peel. Hate to hear this.





Back to top
Dannunzio
Tennessee Fan
MS
Member since Sep 2011
1674 posts

re: First Time at Mr Bs Review


quote:

bbq shrimp were over cooked

Hate to hear that. I've been several times for lunch and dinner, and the shrimp have been perfectly cooked every time. It has been well over a year since the last time I went though.

Like someone else said, the gumbo ya-ya is a must.






Back to top
TigerTatorTots
LSU Fan
Mandeville, LA
Member since Jul 2009
66342 posts

re: First Time at Mr Bs Review


Next time I'm down in the quarter, I'll be taking the g/f and will definitely get the gumbo ya-ya.





Back to top
Gris Gris
LSU Fan
GRIS GRIS MARIE, REST IN PEACE CIT!
Member since Feb 2008
25116 posts
 Online 

re: First Time at Mr Bs Review


I've had a few overcooked bbq shrimp there, also. One time, they were all overcooked and I was very disappointed. I was told that's because they're so large, but that didn't appease me since I've had plenty of large bbq shrimp before that are not overcooked. However, I still think Mr. B's is a good dining choice. Lunch is especially good.





Back to top
Kajungee
LSU Fan
South ,Section 6 Row N
Member since Mar 2004
15494 posts
 Online 

re: First Time at Mr Bs Review


quote:

I've had a few overcooked bbq shrimp there, also. One time, they were all overcooked and I was very disappointed


Same thing here on my last trip there..
Way overcooked.
But I agree the flavor is the best anywhere






Back to top
  Replies (0)
LibraTiger
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2006
454 posts
 Online 

re: First Time at Mr Bs Review


I usually always enjoy Mr. B's but we just went for our department lunch and every single thing that I had was cold. I like my food hot almost to the point of burning my mouth. I was very, very disappointed.





Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top