Not being able to advance a fumble on 4th down | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
shel311
Nicholls St. Fan
Orlando, Florida
Member since Aug 2004
31942 posts

Not being able to advance a fumble on 4th down


Isn't there a rule that states exactly that?

I mean, I won't tell if you won't tell, but I'm wondering if there is some other rule I don't know about.

Like maybe if you flip the ball over your head, it supercedes that rule and makes it null and void.







Back to top
Share:
JJ27
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2004
46982 posts

re: Not being able to advance a fumble on 4th down


Wasn't a fumble. It was an incomplete lateral.





Back to top
tigertroy
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Sep 2005
450 posts

re: Not being able to advance a fumble on 4th down


check out the sec rant





Back to top
  Replies (0)
BleedPurpleGold
LSU Fan
New Orleans
Member since Apr 2005
15343 posts

re: Not being able to advance a fumble on 4th down


A lateral is not the same thing as a fumble.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Teddy Ruxpin
LSU Fan
New Orleans, LA
Member since Oct 2006
18964 posts
 Online 

re: Not being able to advance a fumble on 4th down


You can always advance a fumble(right?), you just can't have the ball being fumbled advance itself by bouncing forward for yardage.


This post was edited on 10/10 at 2:14 am


Back to top
StarkvilleTigerFan
Mississippi St. Fan
Muncie, IN
Member since Jan 2005
2607 posts

re: Not being able to advance a fumble on 4th down


Only if the fumble occurs PAST the line of scrimmage-and a lateral thats missed is not a fumble.





Back to top
memphisplaya
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2009
74177 posts

re: Not being able to advance a fumble on 4th down


incorrect, but you are right.


The is no fumbled snap, the correct term is muffed and there is a difference. Therefore there was no fumble on that play, it qualifies as a muff

Hope that helps






Back to top
Teddy Ruxpin
LSU Fan
New Orleans, LA
Member since Oct 2006
18964 posts
 Online 

re: Not being able to advance a fumble on 4th down


Ya that one makes sense





Back to top
  Replies (0)
shel311
Nicholls St. Fan
Orlando, Florida
Member since Aug 2004
31942 posts

re: Not being able to advance a fumble on 4th down


quote:

You can always advance a fumble(right?),


Nope. On 4th down or within 2 minutes(I think on the 2 minutes part), ONLY the person who fumbled the ball can adavnce a fumble.






Back to top
shel311
Nicholls St. Fan
Orlando, Florida
Member since Aug 2004
31942 posts

re: Not being able to advance a fumble on 4th down


quote:

incorrect, but you are right.


The is no fumbled snap, the correct term is muffed and there is a difference. Therefore there was no fumble on that play, it qualifies as a muff

Hope that helps


If that's the official ruling, thanks!






Back to top
  Replies (0)
memphisplaya
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2009
74177 posts

re: Not being able to advance a fumble on 4th down


quote:

Nope. On 4th down or within 2 minutes(I think on the 2 minutes part), ONLY the person who fumbled the ball can adavnce a fumble.



Correct, but as stated the play is not a "fumble" it is a muff, and therefore can be advanced.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Teddy Ruxpin
LSU Fan
New Orleans, LA
Member since Oct 2006
18964 posts
 Online 

re: Not being able to advance a fumble on 4th down


I understand the fumbling past the line of scrimmage because it would be a veiled "forward pass" that would be done on purpose, but a backwards fumble not being able to advanced sounds dumb.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Korkstand
LSU Fan
Plaquemine, LA
Member since Nov 2003
9638 posts

re: Not being able to advance a fumble on 4th down


quote:

Nope. On 4th down or within 2 minutes(I think on the 2 minutes part), ONLY the person who fumbled the ball can adavnce a fumble.

Can you link to this rule? I think any special fumble rules are only in regards to forward fumbles to prevent intentional "fumbles" to advance the ball.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
JaxTigah
Georgia Fan
Jackson, MS
Member since Dec 2009
1488 posts

re: Not being able to advance a fumble on 4th down


A lateral that hits the ground is not a fumble. It can be advanced.





Back to top
shel311
Nicholls St. Fan
Orlando, Florida
Member since Aug 2004
31942 posts

re: Not being able to advance a fumble on 4th down


quote:

A lateral that hits the ground is not a fumble. It can be advanced


Gotcha.

I'll take the win any day and if that is the actual rule, a rule is a rule, lol.

That being said, I would think that the second a ball touches the ground, that is in fact, a fumble, no?

I mean, if that same lateral happened, and a UF guy happened to be there and catch it after the bounce, would he not be credited with a fumble recovery?






Back to top
tigerinridgeland
LSU Fan
Mississippi
Member since Aug 2006
6050 posts

re: Not being able to advance a fumble on 4th down


quote:

would he not be credited with a fumble recovery?


Maybe on the stat sheet, but It seems that it is analgous to recovery of a kickoff by the kicking team when the ball goes more than 10 yards and it is a "live" ball. A player from either side can pick it up. It isn't a fumble. (And Jasper's picking up the ball on the bounce will not be shown on the stat sheet as a fumble recovery.)



This post was edited on 10/10 at 2:36 am


Back to top
shel311
Nicholls St. Fan
Orlando, Florida
Member since Aug 2004
31942 posts

re: Not being able to advance a fumble on 4th down


quote:

Maybe on the stat sheet, but It seems that it is analgous to recovery of a kickoff by the kicking team when the ball goes more than 10 yards and it is a "live" ball. A player from either side can pick it up. It isn't a fumble


Gotcha. For whatever reason, I'm just not understanding this, lol.

So, if it's the last play of a game and 4th down and team is down, so they keep pitching it to a different guy before he gets tackled, if on one of those pitches backwards, it's an errant toss, that would fall under the same rule here and it could be advanced by any offensive player?






Back to top
Teddy Ruxpin
LSU Fan
New Orleans, LA
Member since Oct 2006
18964 posts
 Online 

re: Not being able to advance a fumble on 4th down


quote:

So, if it's the last play of a game and 4th down and team is down, so they keep pitching it to a different guy before he gets tackled, if on one of those pitches backwards, it's an errant toss, that would fall under the same rule here and it could be advanced by any offensive player?


I see it happen all the time so I think so.

On a slightly related note, what pisses me off is when teams are doing the lateral shite at the end of a game and one time accidentally passes it forward (obvious forward). I saw this happen not too long ago and the refs just threw the flag and let the bastards keep flipping the ball around until they failed. I feel like that situation should have the play called dead. I'd be pissed if one of my defenders got hurt after that play had already become irrelevant due to a forward pass.
Of course, if you kill the play and the ref is wrong then oh shite controversy.



This post was edited on 10/10 at 2:43 am


Back to top
  Replies (0)
Korkstand
LSU Fan
Plaquemine, LA
Member since Nov 2003
9638 posts

re: Not being able to advance a fumble on 4th down


quote:

So, if it's the last play of a game and 4th down and team is down, so they keep pitching it to a different guy before he gets tackled, if on one of those pitches backwards, it's an errant toss, that would fall under the same rule here and it could be advanced by any offensive player?

I think any muffed lateral toss or backwards fumble can be recovered and advanced by anyone, regardless of down or time left. I think the rule only applies when the ball is advanced by the fumble itself. As in, if the fumbled ball advances toward the goal line before being recovered.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
ffhouston
LSU Fan
The Woodlands
Member since Sep 2007
1863 posts

re: Not being able to advance a fumble on 4th down


Well, there's a rule that an uncatchable pass can't be called for pass interference, but we saw that happen anyway.

Equals out, IMHO.






Back to top


Back to top