Posted by
Message
saints5021
Southeastern LA Fan
Slidell
Member since Jul 2010
1413 posts

LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I am thinking of getting my online MBA from LSU Shreveport, but I am unable to find anybody who has completed any of the program. I am trying to figure out the difficulty of the courses, so that I can determine if I will be able to double up on the classes and finish within a year.

If anyone knows anything about the program, please let me know what experiences you have had with it.

Thanks


nelatf
Louisiana Tech Fan
NELA
Member since Jan 2011
2296 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Go the executive MBA route. Meet people that want to succeed and advance.

Connections are the most valuable takeaway from MBA classes....don't be limited by online classes.



saints5021
Southeastern LA Fan
Slidell
Member since Jul 2010
1413 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I am not too worried about meeting other people who want to succeed and advance. I am surrounded by them at my current job. I am limited to online classes due to my intense travel schedule.


JayDeerTay84
LSU Fan
Texas
Member since May 2013
4939 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
If you are going online, there are better than LSU.

USnews does a number of MBA rankings.


saints5021
Southeastern LA Fan
Slidell
Member since Jul 2010
1413 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I understand that there are better online colleges, but I am looking for a 100% online degree from a Louisiana college, so that it doesn't scream online college on my resume. There are only 3 in the state: UL Monroe, LSUS and Southwestern Louisiana in Kenner.

Just want to know if anyone has had any experience with LSUS.


ragacamps
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2011
2997 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
La tech now has one.

Go unc, Indiana, ASU if you can. all 100 percent online and ranked way higher than lsu


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
90
barry
Cincinnati Fan
Location, Location, Location
Member since Aug 2006
45372 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

so that it doesn't scream online college on my resume.


but it will scream LSUS, which isn't much better.


Salmon
USA Fan
On the trails
Member since Feb 2008
54881 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

but it will scream LSUS


pretty sure it will just say "Louisiana State University"


barry
Cincinnati Fan
Location, Location, Location
Member since Aug 2006
45372 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

pretty sure it will just say "Louisiana State University"



Pretty sure thats lying.


ragacamps
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2011
2997 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
There is also la tech


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
31
Salmon
USA Fan
On the trails
Member since Feb 2008
54881 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
nevermind, I'm wrong, they do specify


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
30
ragacamps
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2011
2997 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Lsu has one. Its pretty obvious you haven't done a good job of finding the ones in state

ULM. cheapest
LSU
LA tech

These are the ones i know of. There may be more. You keep saying LSUS but regular old LSU has one


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
20
NawlinsTigah270
LSU Fan
Mile High
Member since Jun 2008
13115 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

online degree from a Louisiana college

Very meh


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
21
EA6B
Navy Fan
TX
Member since Dec 2012
5412 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

I am thinking of getting my online MBA from LSU Shreveport, but I am unable to find anybody who has completed any of the program. I am trying to figure out the difficulty of the courses, so that I can determine if I will be able to double up on the classes and finish within a year.


I don't know anything about the LSU program, but I have taken online graduate level courses from well known brick and mortar schools, and the time required to complete the work was huge compared to a going to a traditional class, this seems to be a common trait among online programs.


Trade and Tryon 704
LSU Fan
Charlotte, NC
Member since Nov 2011
83 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
The LSUS online MBA is a very good program that is very challenging. The courses are compressed into a 7 week format which requires you to stay on top of your game. It's difficult to take more than one class per 7 week session. Also, the program is AACSB accredited. Only 5% of business schools have this distinction. It is by far the cheapest AACSB program on the mArket. It's perfect for those who are in their careers and just want a MBA to sharpen their existing skills. However,I wouldn't recommend it for kids coming out of undergrad without any experience and who do not live in Louisiana. A brick and mortar MBA is only good for networking and finding a job. You can learn the content without stepping foot in a classroom.


Paul Allen
Notre Dame Fan
Boca Raton, FL
Member since Nov 2007
47615 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Is it a 12 month program at LSUS?


GreenTrout
LSU Fan
Toledo Bend
Member since Jul 2013
1010 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Their website says that "it can be completed in as little as 12 months."


Paul Allen
Notre Dame Fan
Boca Raton, FL
Member since Nov 2007
47615 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I wonder if 12 months is feasible for full time workers? That would be 3 classes per semester?


GreenTrout
LSU Fan
Toledo Bend
Member since Jul 2013
1010 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
LSUS doesn't do semesters like BR does. The online classes are only 7 weeks long, and I would think they would limit it the number of classes you could take per 7 week period not to exceed 2.


Paul Allen
Notre Dame Fan
Boca Raton, FL
Member since Nov 2007
47615 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Ok thanks


Jump to page
Page 1 2 3 4 5 ... 177
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 177next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram