Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising | TigerDroppings.com
Posted by
Message
The Sad Banana
New Orleans Saints Fan
The gate is narrow.
Member since Jul 2008
82805 posts

Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising

CGM - 97/100
GameTrailers - 8.6/10
Gamespy - 4.5/5
Ditital Spy - 4/5
Vandal - 9/10
EGM - 10/10
EDGE - 8/10
Hardcore Gamer - 4/5
OPM - 9/10
GamereactorUK - 9/10
GameInformer - 9/10
Eurogamer - 10/10
GodisaGeek - 9/10
1UP - B-/A+
Gamesradar - 4.5/5
VideoGamer.com - 9/10
IBTimes - 7/10
Strategy Informer - 9/10
IGN - 9/10

ETA: Release date is December 4th. This is telling that a game that lets reviews go weeks before it actually hits shelves will be pretty damn solid.
This post was edited on 11/21 at 12:50 pm



stout
Arizona Fan
Sportsman's Paradise
Member since Sep 2006
124502 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
I hope this game is fun. It looks amazing and Far Cry 2 had so much potential. If the developers learned from the mistakes on it then I think 3 will be fun. I have been looking forward to this game more than any other this quarter.


The Sad Banana
New Orleans Saints Fan
The gate is narrow.
Member since Jul 2008
82805 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
Yeah, I think I'm going to let this game be my Assassin's Creed III.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
sbr2
Member since Apr 2011
13515 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
I totally agree about Far Cry 2. If they fix the mistakes that plagued that game, then this will live up to the reviews IMO.


stout
Arizona Fan
Sportsman's Paradise
Member since Sep 2006
124502 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
My only question is should I get it on PC or Xbox? I am leaning PC. Depends on how cheap I find it for each I guess.


LSU Coyote
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2007
13562 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
I could be wrong but I remember this selling for $29.99 on a Steam or Amazon Black Friday week sale.


sbr2
Member since Apr 2011
13515 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
Far Cry/ Crysis are two games that should be played on PC if possible, they do an awesome job with the game engine. I don't imagine I'll get too deep into the multiplayer (main reason I'd use a console) so PC all the way.


stout
Arizona Fan
Sportsman's Paradise
Member since Sep 2006
124502 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
quote:

I could be wrong but I remember this selling for $29.99 on a Steam or Amazon Black Friday week sale.




I need to check and see. I haven't been paying attention to it. Just figured I could probably get it for $30 like I did Borderlands 2. Green Man Gaming usually has great deals on new releases.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
BottomlandBrew
LSU Fan
Nashville
Member since Aug 2010
15392 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
Far Cry 2 received pretty high scores from professional reviewers. Just sayin'. I hope 3 is a lot better.


LSU Coyote
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2007
13562 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
quote:

Far Cry/ Crysis are two games that should be played on PC if possible, they do an awesome job with the game engine. I don't imagine I'll get too deep into the multiplayer (main reason I'd use a console) so PC all the way.

Agreed. mods mods modsssssss

TBH, I would love turning my HTPC into a full gaming rig. I play most of the games that aren't FPS/RPG with a controller already.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
The Sad Banana
New Orleans Saints Fan
The gate is narrow.
Member since Jul 2008
82805 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
That's true, but it looks like they are putting comparisons to FC2 in most reviews.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
LSU Coyote
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2007
13562 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
quote:

Far Cry 2 received pretty high scores from professional reviewers. Just sayin'. I hope 3 is a lot better.

I just thought it was terrible.

The time it took to travel and the more than normal repetitive nature.


stout
Arizona Fan
Sportsman's Paradise
Member since Sep 2006
124502 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
FC2 was fun for about 10 minutes.


BottomlandBrew
LSU Fan
Nashville
Member since Aug 2010
15392 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
I bought FC2 on sale for $2.50 and felt like I got ripped off.


jmarto1
LSU Fan
Houma, LA
Member since Mar 2008
15803 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
I'm at the point where I don't trust most of these scores anymore. I know it is all a matter of opinion but ME3 was a prime example of why I think some of these companies are in bed with these game companies.


stout
Arizona Fan
Sportsman's Paradise
Member since Sep 2006
124502 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
TigerDik86
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Oct 2011
2940 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
What I'm hearing is "It's like Skyrim with Guns"

How true do you think this is?


BottomlandBrew
LSU Fan
Nashville
Member since Aug 2010
15392 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
quote:

What I'm hearing is "It's like Skyrim with Guns"


So like Fallout?


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
tom
Baton Rouge
Member since Jun 2007
4096 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
quote:

I just thought it was terrible.

The time it took to travel and the more than normal repetitive nature.


Other than those two (obviously major) issues, it was a really good game. Multiplayer was surprisingly fun.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
sbr2
Member since Apr 2011
13515 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
Oh my god. Get over the ending, it was an excellent game except for that ending and I'd be willing to bet most "professional" reviewers take a clinical view of these games and don't worry so much about continuity.

As for Far Cry 2, the game looks great on the surface and from a review standpoint I can see where it could score highly but upon closer inspection by gamers who invested time into it, frick it was bad. Guns bursting apart in your hands after a certain amount use (lol), infinite respawning enemies at checkpoints, useless fast travel over a gigantic map, and my personal favorite the SUPER AGGRESSIVE ENEMIES. The game saddled you with a huge game world but it made every single enemy in the game hunt you down on sight, pass a Ford Pinto in the fricking desert? HE STOPS AND GETS OUT TO SHOOT YOU.


Page 1 of 4

Back to top

Follow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram