Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising | Page 2 | TigerDroppings.com
Posted by
Message
LSU Coyote
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2007
13562 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising

quote:

pass a Ford Pinto in the fricking desert? HE STOPS AND GETS OUT TO SHOOT YOU.



The Sad Banana
New Orleans Saints Fan
The gate is narrow.
Member since Jul 2008
82779 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
quote:

What I'm hearing is "It's like Skyrim with Guns"

How true do you think this is?
I don't know, I never played Skyrim. What has been intriguing to me is the open worldness of this game. In the reviews I've read, they make sure to point out that the campaign is much more focused and the missions are much more approachable. I remember how annoying the missions were in FC2...you couldn't come within five miles of an enemy before all of Africa was on top of you.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
tehchampion140
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Bow to the Brow
Member since Sep 2010
17294 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
Far Cry 2 was one of the worst games I've ever bought. It left such a bad taste in my mouth that I will more than likely never pick this one up. How fricking weak of a mission structure is it that every damn mission you do is top secret and results in every faction trying to kill you, even when you're helping them out? Not to mention the endless driving and the annoying as frick checkpoints.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
LSU Coyote
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2007
13562 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
This is more hijacking, but did anyone purchase the Wii version?

Holy shit, nearly unplayable.

I believe 2 games solely hold responsibility for making me never to purchase another Wii game.

CoD: World at War and FarCry


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
jmarto1
LSU Fan
Houma, LA
Member since Mar 2008
15803 posts
Online

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
quote:

Oh my god. Get over the ending, it was an excellent game except for that ending and I'd be willing to bet most "professional" reviewers take a clinical view of these games and don't worry so much about continuity.



Sorry, the ending is part of the game and should be reviewed as such. FPS's shouldn't get the marks that they do either. Homefront and Bulletstorm come to mind there.


sbr2
Member since Apr 2011
13514 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
Well then get out there and review these games then. As a gamer I've suffered through some bad endings and gameplay "innovations" but these are almost never called out (and really we could have a whole discussion on game reviews), but I use a mixture of different reviews to see if promised gameplay additions in marketing perform well in the featured product, not to spoil the endings of games.


jmarto1
LSU Fan
Houma, LA
Member since Mar 2008
15803 posts
Online

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
I'd like to see more comprehensive reviews myself. One that separated the multiplayer from the campaign. Not to keep on ME3 but I don't recall seeing a review calling them out on that flaw. As pissed off as people were you would hope someone out there would have done so. Politics in the industry maybe? We shouldn't have to find some review hidden among all the big boys to get an honest review.


Carson123987
LSU Fan
Middle Court at the Rec
Member since Jul 2011
41979 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
Very excited

I guess I'm one of the few that enjoyed 2.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
The Sad Banana
New Orleans Saints Fan
The gate is narrow.
Member since Jul 2008
82779 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
The reviews I'm reading say the campaign is the reason for buying. The MP is meh and the coop is worse.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Muppet
Kansas State Fan
Member since Aug 2007
50509 posts
Online

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
Far Cry 2 is in the same category as the original Assassin's Creed for me in terms of appearing to have great depth but ending up being pop-up books after about 3 hours of gameplay.

These games lend themselves to good reviews because it takes investment to recognize the problems below the surface.


UltimateHog
Wake Forest Fan
Springfield, MO
Member since Dec 2011
40072 posts
Online

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
I've been pumped for FC3 since E3, game looks amazing and like they fixed a lot of things making this a complete game.

Preordered last month.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
stout
Arizona Fan
Sportsman's Paradise
Member since Sep 2006
124459 posts
Online

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
quote:

Homefront and Bulletstorm come to mind there.


Homefront had a decent campaign though. Bulletstorm was just senseless fun and I don't know why anyone would have high hopes for it outside of that.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
stout
Arizona Fan
Sportsman's Paradise
Member since Sep 2006
124459 posts
Online

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
LINK

I hope to have my own review up tomorrow


Carson123987
LSU Fan
Middle Court at the Rec
Member since Jul 2011
41979 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
quote:

LINK

I hope to have my own review up tomorrow




Replies (0)
Replies (0)
BayouBengal504
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Nov 2011
3851 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
so this will be the first far cry game i get, do i need to play the first 2?

what would you compare the game to?


stout
Arizona Fan
Sportsman's Paradise
Member since Sep 2006
124459 posts
Online

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
I will let you know tomorrow. Plan on playing it pretty hard tonight. Not far into it at all right now.


Carson123987
LSU Fan
Middle Court at the Rec
Member since Jul 2011
41979 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
is it fun so far?


The Dude's Rug
LSU Fan
Gerdzfa
Member since Nov 2004
9379 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
The trailer/gameplay at E3 looked pretty crazy.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
stout
Arizona Fan
Sportsman's Paradise
Member since Sep 2006
124459 posts
Online

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
Meh so far. Just getting into the open world stuff so I am hoping it picks up. The map is decent size and the graphics are pretty freaking nice.


BayouBengal504
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Nov 2011
3851 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising
what platform are you playing on?


Page 2 of 4

Back to top

Follow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram