Tommy's in Prairieville review | TigerDroppings.com
Posted by
Message
JBM210
Member since Dec 2010
1594 posts

Tommy's in Prairieville review

I made my last trip there Friday night. Took my wife and son. I was prepared for a little wait, which there was(20 minutes. The place was freezing cold. We arrived at 6:20. Was sat at 6:40. Got our beverages fairly quick but iswas another 15 minutes before the waitress came back by and took our order. The wife got 5lbs of boiled crawfish, shrimp poboy and sweet potatoe fries for son and I got a fried shrimp/fish combo plate with onion strings. The crawfish came out by itself in about 1o minutes. My son helped my wife polish off the crawfish before any other food arrived. After asking our waitress twice to check on our food and an hour later, the rest of the food came to the table. We presumed she or the kitchen lost our order. The sweet potatoes were stone cold so my son asked the waitress to do something about it. Her solution was to microwave it because the exact order showed back up at the table in 2 minutes. The poboy(which used to be overflowing with shrimp) was pretty skimpy. My shrimp were hot, my fish were not on the plate(she brought them later and my onion strings were cold. We left at 8:15


urinetrouble
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2007
17251 posts

re: Tommy's in Prairieville review
Last time I went there the shrimp poboy was VERY skimpy.


Sparky36
LSU Fan
Member since Dec 2005
1019 posts

re: Tommy's in Prairieville review
Went there for lunch a couple years ago. Ordered that day's lunch special (which should not take long to come out). Took about 30 minutes for the lunch special to come out. Waitress was unapologetic. And it wasn't that good. frick her. frick Tommy's. Will never go back.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
El Josey Wales
LSU Fan
Greater Geismar
Member since Nov 2007
22710 posts

re: Tommy's in Prairieville review
Last time my family ate there, they did the same thing with bringing my crawfish out 30 minutes before everyone else's food. I wasn't pleased with the service or the crawfish and haven't been back.


Politiceaux
LSU Fan
Member since Feb 2009
15792 posts

re: Tommy's in Prairieville review
I went for a poboy recently after hearing they had a good shrimp one. Good bread but the shrimp weren't seasoned at all. Onion strings weren't strings and were soggy and unseasoned. Too long of a drive out there for mediocre food/service.


Skillet
Skilly's life don't matter
Member since Aug 2006
60851 posts

re: Tommy's in Prairieville review
Wow, Tommy's Fish House is getting no love in this thread. We tried some to-go order lunches at Tommy's a few times and thought the food was very average.


OTIS2
LSU Fan
NoLA
Member since Jul 2008
30601 posts
Online

re: Tommy's in Prairieville review
I went last week to get a to go order, and one of the owners cursed my kids, kicked my dog, bedded my wife, and gave me soggy cold fries...honest.


El Josey Wales
LSU Fan
Greater Geismar
Member since Nov 2007
22710 posts

re: Tommy's in Prairieville review


bossflossjr
LSU Fan
The Great State of Louisiana
Member since Sep 2005
9570 posts

re: Tommy's in Prairieville review
Hate to hear it. My favorite oyster poboy n town.

That said, i usually always sit at the bar..... And have never been at night.

I will continue to go. Sometimes slow? Maybe so. One of the better fried seafood poboys n town tho.


El Josey Wales
LSU Fan
Greater Geismar
Member since Nov 2007
22710 posts

re: Tommy's in Prairieville review
Sitting at the bar probably helps your level of service. I've never been during the day. We still pick up from there but I'll never dine- in again


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
NC17
Member since Feb 2010
1380 posts
Online

re: Tommy's in Prairieville review
probably deserved it.


TheRoarRestoredInBR
LSU Fan
Member since Dec 2004
22435 posts

re: Tommy's in Prairieville review
Usually hit 'em up for some market stuff, and/or a shrimp poboy to-go around 3 or 4 PM, when I have their sole attention..has always been overflowing and good.

Never been when slammed, and will make sure to avoid rush hours due to these reviews.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
CITWTT
LSU Fan
baton rouge
Member since Sep 2005
31765 posts

re: Tommy's in Prairieville review
This board can make restaurant owners take notice about the failures of the operations with the viewership that relies on the word of mouth seen on Chickens board.


Skillet
Skilly's life don't matter
Member since Aug 2006
60851 posts

re: Tommy's in Prairieville review
quote:

This board can make restaurant owners take notice about the failures of the operations with the viewership that relies on the word of mouth seen on Chickens board.


I guess it really depends on how many vehicles are in Tommy's parking lot. If biz is great at Tommy's than I doubt the owner would give a rats arse about what's said on here.

I think I recall a Tommy's owner posting on here when they opened up a few years ago. Maybe if there were a few more pages of posters negative comments in this thread, it might get their attention. As for me, Tommy's has been off my radar for a long time, and I've read nothing in this thread so far that'd make me want to eat their food again.


El Josey Wales
LSU Fan
Greater Geismar
Member since Nov 2007
22710 posts

re: Tommy's in Prairieville review


bsramzy
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2012
168 posts

re: Tommy's in Prairieville review
As said before, food is average at best. last platter i got there was 15 bucks and 99% fries.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Tigerpaw123
USA Fan
Louisiana
Member since Mar 2007
9866 posts

re: Tommy's in Prairieville review
quote:

Maybe if there were a few more pages of posters negative comments in this thread, it might get their attention


The owner is a super nice guy, I can not believe he has not been on here to make things right, He has gone above and beyond for me after a bad experience or two


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
TigerinATL
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Member since Feb 2005
37439 posts
Online

re: Tommy's in Prairieville review
quote:

they did the same thing with bringing my crawfish out 30 minutes before everyone else's food.


It's not just them, I've had it happen at other restaurants, they treat the crawfish like an appetizer for some reason.

Tommy's food is usually pretty good, but the place seems like total chaos whenever they have a full house. And it's not like they are understaffed, they're trying, just not succeeding.


Skillet
Skilly's life don't matter
Member since Aug 2006
60851 posts

re: Tommy's in Prairieville review
quote:

And it's not like they are understaffed, they're trying, just not succeeding.


I just sent Chef Robert Irvine an email.


Who Me
LSU Fan
Ascension
Member since Aug 2011
5983 posts

re: Tommy's in Prairieville review
Anyone tried Galvez Seafood yet?

I've been once and it was solid. I would go back there again before Tommy's.

Also haven't been to Gulf Net since the supposed change in ownership or management. I've been curious to see the changes though.


Page 1 of 2

Back to top

Follow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram