X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers) | Page 10 | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
vilma4prez
New Orleans Saints Fan
Lafayette, LA
Member since Jan 2009
3650 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


You are correct.

I remember now.






Back to top
abellsujr
LSU Fan
Dallas, TX
Member since Apr 2014
8045 posts
 Online 

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


Just saw it. Great movie! I was worried in the beginning because I didn't understand what was going on with all the time travel and how it pertained to the other X-Men movies. I'm sure I can go back and read this thread and get all the info to connect everything.

But the movie in itself was very well done. I started to just let go of trying to connect it perfectly with the other movies and just enjoyed it. Great story, very well written. Only complaint, Wolverine needs his fricking claws back! Other than that, GREAT!

Ending credit scene was awesome. I love the look of Apocalypse. Reminds me of some kind of Egyptian god or something. Well done!



This post was edited on 5/30 at 4:50 am


Back to top
Fewer Kilometers
LA-Lafayette Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2007
9102 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


quote:

yeah, the quicksilver scenes were great scenery but I fear they made him too powerful


I think that was the point. Everyone now thinks that Quicksilver is the new all-powerful mutant. When Apocalypse takes him down with ease it will be a huge WTF moment for the general audiences.






Back to top
BilJ
LSU Fan
Shady's
Member since Sep 2003
117546 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


that was one of my problems with this movie though, OM touched on it but there's no way as short handed as they were and with basically the world's future at stake they'd be like "ok we don't need you anymore, bye quicksilver"

also liked kelsey grammar's beast getting an appearance, he's a better beast than hoult IMO. One of the few things x3 did right.







Back to top
Fewer Kilometers
LA-Lafayette Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2007
9102 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


quote:

there's no way as short handed as they were and with basically the world's future at stake they'd be like "ok we don't need you anymore, bye quicksilver"


At that point their plan was to convince Mystique to refrain from killing. They thought that between her two mentors (Magneto and Xavier) they would be able to convince her that the future depended on her not being a killer.

If their plan had been to do a full out attack on Mystique, Logan could've given them a list of powerful mutants to gather for the assault.






Back to top
Fewer Kilometers
LA-Lafayette Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2007
9102 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


BTW, not relying on the all-powerful heroes to jump in and save the day is a conceit of the superhero genre. It's like the secret identity, you have to suspend some disbelief.

As with the comics, we're going to see movies that could end in a few minutes if the Supermen and Quicksilvers are called in to save the day. Tons of Batman comics would end on page two if Batman gave Flash a call and said, "I'm trying to locate the Joker, could you run through every square foot of Gotham in the blink of an eye and tell me where he is?"

But to keep the stories going, we're going to see movies where Cap doesn't call in Thor or Hulk to beat the crap out of a stronger opponent. And the X-Men and Avengers won't rely on Pietro to take care of every problem in a split second. And Batman will go back to looking for clues instead of asking Superman to scan the city with his X-Ray vision.

But getting back to Quicksilver... I really think they'll build to a "Holy shit!" moment where Apocalypse takes him out quickly, making the audience gasp at the power of Apocalypse.



This post was edited on 5/30 at 10:45 am


Back to top
  Replies (0)
BilJ
LSU Fan
Shady's
Member since Sep 2003
117546 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


if time is of the essence I probably want the fastest guy on the planet there

also prof x fricked the line up, wolverine told them to go frick themselves in first class






Back to top
OMLandshark
Ole Miss Fan
Member since Apr 2009
38727 posts
 Online 

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


quote:

also prof x fricked the line up, wolverine told them to go frick themselves in first class


From what I've read, the script actually said for Wolverine to tell them to frick off, but on one take he instead said "Go frick Yourselves" and they went with that.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Duzz
LSU Fan
Houston
Member since Feb 2008
5164 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


quote:

I love the look of Apocalypse. Reminds me of some kind of Egyptian god or something. Well done!



Well HE IS an Egyptian and the first mutant in existence so yeah XD. And he got hax alien tech.

As for trying to connect the other movies. Xmen 1-3 no longer exist.

The new timeline now start from Xmen: First then Days of the Future past.

Mutant have died that were alive in X1-X3. So yeah you don't need to connect it.



This post was edited on 5/30 at 6:56 pm


Back to top
OMLandshark
Ole Miss Fan
Member since Apr 2009
38727 posts
 Online 

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


quote:

As for trying to connect the other movies. Xmen 1-3 no longer exist.


Rouge still has a white streak in her hair, so some variation of X1 and 2 happened.






Back to top
Duzz
LSU Fan
Houston
Member since Feb 2008
5164 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


quote:

Rouge still has a white streak in her hair, so some variation of X1 and 2 happened.



Well my guess is that some variation but the events in X1- X3 no longer exist. Heck for all we know Rouge might have absorb Ms Marvel powers already.







Back to top
  Replies (0)
SchianoMan
Member since May 2014
26 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


Just got out of it. Thought it was alright. Dragged on a bit too long, no new themes developed, and I just wasn't drawn in as much as I was with X2 and First Class (whose jockstraps DOFP can't hold). It was a solid 2 hours of entertainment, but fell a bit short.

As far as Apocalypse, help me out. I'm not a comic reader. I searched him and found this

quote:

The character has total control over the molecules of his body, enabling him to alter his form as it suits him,[69] such as allowing his body to become extremely malleable and flexible or change its size, enhance his physical abilities, transform his limbs into weapons, wings, or jets, regenerate from fatal injuries, adapt his body to apparently any disease or hostile environment, and give himself virtually any physical superhuman power.[70] The character is also able to project and absorb energy, and has displayed telepathy and telekinesis. Apocalypse is as well capable of technopathy, able to directly interface with the various technologies he has at his disposal. Thanks to the aid of his mutant abilities, special "regeneration" chambers,[71] and changing bodies, Apocalypse has made himself effectively immortal.[72] Aside from his superhuman powers, Apocalypse is extraordinarily intelligent,[73] a scientific genius with knowledge in various areas of science and technology including physics, engineering, genetics and biology, that is far more advanced than conventional science.[74] Apocalypse has knowledge of Celestial technology that he uses for his own applications, such as altering mutants or humans. Apocalypse is also a skilled demagogue and a master strategist.


How does that make for an interesting villain? If you give him every power there is, it just fails from a story standpoint. It's exactly why Jean sucked in X3. If you make the characters demigods, then the only way they can be killed is by them conveniently not using power X to combat opponent x.

So how do they kill him? Just spoil it for me, the only reason I'll go see it is to see the powers on the big screen



This post was edited on 5/30 at 11:08 pm


Back to top
abellsujr
LSU Fan
Dallas, TX
Member since Apr 2014
8045 posts
 Online 

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


quote:

Well HE IS an Egyptian and the first mutant in existence so yeah XD.
Yeah, I know absolutely nothing about the comics, but thanks for the info.
quote:

So yeah you don't need to connect it.
Yeah, kind of got that.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
OMLandshark
Ole Miss Fan
Member since Apr 2009
38727 posts
 Online 

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


quote:

Dragged on a bit too long


I've heard this a few times in the reviews, and honestly out of all the movies I see, I have to say this argument is complete bull shite on this film. Seriously, please tell me what the wasted scene and the wasted dialogue was.



This post was edited on 5/31 at 8:22 am


Back to top
la_birdman
LSU Fan
Lake Charles
Member since Feb 2005
16232 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


quote:


I've heard this a few times in the reviews, and honestly out of all the movies I see, I have to say this argument is complete bull shite on this film



I didn't think it seemed long at all. I checked the run time before I went to see it because I had to plan part of my day around it and it felt nowhere near that.



This post was edited on 5/31 at 12:53 am


Back to top
DanglingFury
VCU Fan
Living the dream
Member since Dec 2007
17897 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


quote:

I didn't think it seemed long at all.


One of the few movies that could've benefitted from being longer.






Back to top
Fewer Kilometers
LA-Lafayette Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2007
9102 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


The Quicksilver scene went on too long. Seemed like they stretched a second into two minutes. And Dinklage's screen time seemed a bit short.





Back to top
theunknownknight
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Sep 2005
28060 posts
 Online 

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


ISWYDT





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Duzz
LSU Fan
Houston
Member since Feb 2008
5164 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


quote:


So how do they kill him? Just spoil it for me, the only reason I'll go see it is to see the powers on the big screen


The only person that could kill him is someone with the combine power of Jean Grey and Cyclops. That is Apocalypse weakness.

And that man is name Cable XD It was cool back then.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
BlackPawnMartyr
Alabama Fan
Houston, TX
Member since Dec 2010
4511 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


Was watching some of the old cartoons and it was Bishop not Wolverine who went back in time but I understand why they did this considering the audience is much more invested in wolverine so it makes for a better storyline and they also have to pay Hugh Jackman a good bit of money (lol). I was surprised how little Bishop was used in this movie. If you had never seen the cartoons you would have thought while watching the movie that he was not a very important character when he was quite possibly THE most important character. (though not most interesting).

I am very excited to see Apocalypse in the next movie though also very nervous. A god like figure with so much power is hard to keep tame in a movie. They definitely fricked it up big time with phoenix. At least Apocalypse has pretty bad arse quotes, though its probably a bit delicate of a matter to pull off in a movie without being too cheesy. Its easier to pull off in a cartoon IMHO. Going to be interesting to see how that all works out.







Back to top


Back to top