X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers) | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
athenslife101
Georgia Fan
Athens
Member since Feb 2013
649 posts

X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


There can be one without spoilers but I'm not starting it.

I thought it was right up there with Captain America in terms of a morality play and trying to walk the line of right and wrong with consequences.

I thought the action was ok and the story was good but what really interested me is having seen these characters through so many movies, I felt very invested in them.

I was a bit confused about where this is set in the timeline and I feel like there's plotholes if you look too close. I could be wrong, but something did feel a little strange with how the timeline felt, but that's pretty common in time travel stories.

At times I felt embarrassed watching the drama of the characters, but in a good way if you know what I mean. Xavier's pitiful position at the beginning of the movie felt painfully awkward to watch and seeing how low he's fallen does strike a cord.

In the final act, Magneto and Mistique's moments do feel kind of off but that doesn't really detract from the movie. The whole ending really does feel a little forced, but I still really enjoyed it.

Drunk rant/off.



This post was edited on 5/22 at 11:33 pm



Back to top
Share:
Displaced
LSU Fan
Member since Dec 2011
15434 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


not reading, can you give your thoughts spoiler free?





Back to top
athenslife101
Georgia Fan
Athens
Member since Feb 2013
649 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


Ok, non spoilers thoughts: It was very good. I don't think it's the type of movie that holds up great under close scrutiny but I didn't have a big deal with it. I really really enjoyed seeing these characters in a new light.Action was just OK with the exception of one great quarky scene that couldn't have been done better. Fit the time period. The movie's final act is weakest.


This post was edited on 5/22 at 11:41 pm


Back to top
Displaced
LSU Fan
Member since Dec 2011
15434 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


was there any stinger or extra scene during or after the credits?





Back to top
WB504
New Orleans Saints Fan
New Orleans
Member since May 2008
2964 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


quote:


was there any stinger or extra scene during or after the credits?


Yes there is a post credits scene.






Back to top
athenslife101
Georgia Fan
Athens
Member since Feb 2013
649 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


Didn't stay. Probably is. I might go see it again Sunday so I'll catch it again.





Back to top
WicKed WayZ
New Orleans Saints Fan
Meridian, MS
Member since Sep 2011
6951 posts
 Online 

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


Yes heard it was legit


Still 92% on RT with 111 fresh and 9 rotten. So I think it stays in the 80's






Back to top
tigerfan88
USA Fan
Member since Jan 2008
3833 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


SPOILERS: SPOILERS







Thought it was great. Really curious as to what happens to mystique/magneto and what Jean being alive means. Mystique helps wolverine at the end so are her and magneto not teamed up in the future? Do the events of xmen 1-3 not happen? The next movie is featuring apocalypse and set in the 80's so I'll guess we'll find out then. Time travel movies are already confusing, combine it with the fact that it's a sequel I'm quite unsettled






Back to top
athenslife101
Georgia Fan
Athens
Member since Feb 2013
649 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


Spoilers

How did Xavier get his body back after X3? I read that they were uncannonzing X3 but they had flashbacks to it.

Where does this take place in the continum. No Wolverine doesn't have ademantium but shouldn't the events of wolverine already be taking place? I don't remember that movie exactly but if I do remember correctly, he should be holed up with the love of his life at that point.







Back to top
BlackPawnMartyr
Alabama Fan
Houston, TX
Member since Dec 2010
4076 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


So would you give the advice to a person only going to the theatre once: See x-men or captain America?





Back to top
danman6336
Duke Fan
Member since Jan 2005
12408 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


I just got home from seeing it

Pretty good stuff. I don't think I liked it more than Cpt America, but its close. It was a good movie.

I didn't stay for the post-credit scene but **SPOILERS** it apparently shows Apocalypse in ancient Egypt, which is pretty sweet. Should have fricking stayed, oh well.






Back to top
OMLandshark
Ole Miss Fan
Member since Apr 2009
37525 posts
 Online 

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


quote:

How did Xavier get his body back after X3? I read that they were uncannonzing X3 but they had flashbacks to it.


The best thing to do is just ignore X3 aside from the subtle "frick you" references at the end to X3.

quote:

Where does this take place in the continum. No Wolverine doesn't have ademantium but shouldn't the events of wolverine already be taking place? I don't remember that movie exactly but if I do remember correctly, he should be holed up with the love of his life at that point.


Honestly, the continuity is a complete mess, and there's no point in Singer trying to work around it if it negatively affects the film he is trying to tell. Really the only two films he tried to be faithful to are X2 and First Class. In his mind, the other films are merely a slight inconvenience, and can be referenced, and then tossed out the window when he doesn't care for them. With some of the clusterfrick of films that proceeded this one, can't blame the guy either.

As for where it should fall on the continuity, about 20 years after X3.






Back to top
PsychTiger
LSU Fan
Augusta
Member since Jul 2004
21955 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


quote:

So would you give the advice to a person only going to the theatre once: See x-men or captain America?


Take in a double feature. After the first ends, walk into the second. Just pick the right show times. You're welcome.






Back to top
ipodking
LSU Fan
Ducking the BRAVE Team
Member since Jun 2008
23571 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


Anyone else sing along with "Time in a Bottle"?


This post was edited on 5/23 at 1:47 am


Back to top
GoCrazyAuburn
Auburn Fan
Member since Feb 2010
13664 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


Tate was great as Quicksilver.


Here is my biggest question, are we to assume Wolverine got his metal bones back or not?






Back to top
GoCrazyAuburn
Auburn Fan
Member since Feb 2010
13664 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


quote:

Do the events of xmen 1-3 not happen?


They did and they didn't. Logan knows about them, as does Charles when he went into Logan's mind. However, with that knowledge, they were able to avoid much of them, like Xavier fricking up Jean.






Back to top
athenslife101
Georgia Fan
Athens
Member since Feb 2013
649 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


Spoilers:

Well, Mystique captures him at the end. So Wolverine is captured. She's not the most competent person in the world. If Stryker (who she's impersonating) catches up to her and she escapes, Wolverine is already captured for him to do experiments on and for him to get ademantium.






Back to top
athenslife101
Georgia Fan
Athens
Member since Feb 2013
649 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


Spoilers:

All the dead characters showing up at the end lead me to believe that the X1-X3 and the Wolverine movie did not take place in that current timeline.






Back to top
OMLandshark
Ole Miss Fan
Member since Apr 2009
37525 posts
 Online 

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


OK, saw it last night. I was really apprehensive of the concept since I was a bit flabbergasted that they didn't use the opportunity to reboot the franchise as a whole and start fresh. Also the concept seemed incredibly difficult to pull off to where there were certainly going to be some plot holes, but there are plenty in this series already, so who cares?

But, wow, great movie. Probably in my Top 10 comic book movies of all time. I'm unsure if it's better than X-2 and First Class, but it seems to be in the same league as those two. It is for sure though the most emotional of all the X-Men film, and I think is the most heavy with themes, the central one is hope.

While Wolverine is in much of the film, he's not the main character in this film. Wolverine is merely a catalyst to get the plot going. The film stays focused on Xavier, Mystique, and Magneto as it's main characters. And while First Class was almost entirely focused Xavier's and Magneto's relationship, this one is more focused on Mystique's and Xavier's, and it truly is much of the emotional core of this film.

Great performances across the board, but I really liked Quicksilver in this film and wonder if the Avengers will be able to stand up to it.

And stay through the credits, probably the best end credit scene for a Marvel movie since Nick Furry appeared in Iron Man's living room.

4 out 4 stars.






Back to top
13SaintTiger
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Aug 1904
Member since Sep 2011
3043 posts

re: X-Men Days of Future Past Thoughts and Reviews (With Spoilers)


So did they erase the events of X1-3?





Back to top


Back to top




//