Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
aVatiger
New Orleans Saints Fan
Springville, Va/Portland, Me
Member since Jan 2006
21125 posts

Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing



*(when it works).. :/

no worries, awesome review

Gizmodo X-Bone Review


quote:

As did the PS4, this thing is going to blow your gat-dang hair back. All the games we tried (Forza 5, Dead Rising 3, Crimson Dragon, and a few titles we're not allowed to talk about yet) looked beautiful, without exception. You can get graphics like this out of a powerhouse PC, sure. But in the console world the Xbox One—and the PS4—is like whoa. Then again, after eight years, you'd expect it to be.

Some titles embrace the future better than others. It's an unfortunate fact that Dead Rising 3, one of the cornerstones of the Xbox One's launch line-up, runs in 720p (upscaled to 1080), locked at 30fps. That's not bad, but it's not the kind of HOLY FREAKIN WOW you necessarily expect out of your new $500 box. That said, there's still plenty of HOLY FREAKIN WOW to Dead Rising 3; it boasts massive crowds of zombies on screen at a time, while only occasionally (but still occasionally) stopping to chug if you're really cruising through the scenery in a car or armored tank or whatever. That's a different kind of impressive. And it's worth noting that Killzone: Shadow Fall did its fair share of chugging too on the PS4, albeit in native 1080p.











Back to top
Share:
hg
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Member since Jun 2009
73762 posts
 Online 

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing








Back to top
RTR America
Alabama Fan
Memphis, TN
Member since Aug 2012
24827 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing


I just posted a ton of reviews in the Xbone thread.

quote:

(when it works)


This seems to be sort of the consensus. The negatives are all easily fixable things that you can expect with any launch console. The big thing is that all of them can tell the ambition is there.

You have to trust MS to make these adjustments because of what they did with the 360 during its life span.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Dooshay
LSU Fan
CEBA
Member since Jun 2011
29308 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing









Back to top
hg
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Member since Jun 2009
73762 posts
 Online 

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing


my fingertips are ready





Back to top
Dooshay
LSU Fan
CEBA
Member since Jun 2011
29308 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing


grippy texture is sexy
i totes push it from the side






Back to top
SG_Geaux
LSU Fan
Googolplexian Posts
Member since Aug 2004
51073 posts
 Online 

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing


quote:

But—and this is admittedly a sizable but—if the Xbox One can straighten the few little quirks it has with some software tweaks, this thing is going to be unstoppable in a way the PS4 could never touch. It's too versatile, too feature-ridden, too future.






Back to top
Macphisto
LSU Fan
Washington, DC
Member since Jul 2005
5746 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing








Back to top
RTR America
Alabama Fan
Memphis, TN
Member since Aug 2012
24827 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing


PS4 has the same "Not Yet" gif from Kotaku as well





Back to top
RTR America
Alabama Fan
Memphis, TN
Member since Aug 2012
24827 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing


quote:

my fingertips are ready



The rumble triggers are apparently awesome as well






Back to top
Macphisto
LSU Fan
Washington, DC
Member since Jul 2005
5746 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing


quote:

PS4 has the same "Not Yet" gif from Kotaku as well

True, but the argument can be made that it's limitations at this moment are more important given its ambitiousness.






Back to top
CornDogCologne
LSU Fan
all aboard the hate train
Member since Nov 2007
7741 posts
 Online 

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing


quote:

rumble triggers


I'm hoping these are utilized in BF4.






Back to top
ThaKaptin
Alabama Fan
The Sultan of Swag
Member since Nov 2010
20226 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing


quote:

this thing is going to be unstoppable in a way the PS4 could never touch. It's too versatile, too feature-ridden, too future.


This is going to be the tipping point. If Sony decides to be bullheaded and refuse to update the PS4 to compete with the home theater centerpiece that is the xbone, they will suffer greatly.






Back to top
RTR America
Alabama Fan
Memphis, TN
Member since Aug 2012
24827 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing


quote:

True, but the argument can be made that it's limitations at this moment are more important given its ambitiousness.



Then the counter argument would be that it has a better launch lineup of games.

If you read what the limitations are, they aren't anything that is frustratingly bad that make you think you made the wrong decision. Some of which are things that will probably be fixed with the day 1 patch.

MS has a track record of improving things over time extremely well. The 360 I have now is only comparable to the launch 360 by name and that it plays games.



This post was edited on 11/20 at 12:28 am


Back to top
  Replies (0)
RTR America
Alabama Fan
Memphis, TN
Member since Aug 2012
24827 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing


quote:

I'm hoping these are utilized in BF4.


quote:

The new controller is something of a revelation in terms of rumble. Four motors inside the device provide more subtle, immersive physical feedback, from the low hum of your engine as you hit the pavement in Forza 5 to the heavy blasts of rumble as your jury-rigged, post-apocalyptic skull-crusher connects with a zombie cranium in Dead Rising 3. The thumb sticks are more concave and have textured rims, making them easier to grip in even the most dire of virtual circumstances.









Back to top
wish i was tebow
Arizona Fan
The Golf Board
Member since Feb 2009
42932 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing


quote:

The biggest advantage here is being able to make a special menu of just the channels that matter to you, with some streaming app options (your Netflix queue, for instance) thrown in for good measure. This is fantastic. I don't have to explain to you how great it is to never have to scroll past Nick Jr. ever again, do I?



My favorite part of review.



posted the same thing in the other thread but didnt know where to put it








Back to top
  Replies (0)
BuckeyeFan87
Ohio State Fan
Columbus
Member since Dec 2007
22067 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing


quote:

If Sony decides to be bullheaded and refuse to update the PS4 to compete with the home theater centerpiece that is the xbone, they will suffer greatly

This may be a dumb question, but at this point, can they?

I've read a lot of the PS4 running hot already(which I would assume will become an issue over time). Do they have enough space in their console to take it to the next level like MS?

Everyone laughed at the size of tONE, but I just assumed that meant it wouldn't overheat.






Back to top
Mear
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Oct 2010
3538 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing


But I was told that people who bought a PS4 only cared about games...





Back to top
  Replies (0)
SG_Geaux
LSU Fan
Googolplexian Posts
Member since Aug 2004
51073 posts
 Online 

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing


quote:

This may be a dumb question, but at this point, can they?


No they can not, simply by making the decision to not include the eye.

quote:

I've read a lot of the PS4 running hot already(which I would assume will become an issue over time)


Not a surprise. The more you shrink down the machine, the more cooling becomes an issue.



This post was edited on 11/20 at 8:35 am


Back to top
BuckeyeFan87
Ohio State Fan
Columbus
Member since Dec 2007
22067 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing


quote:

Not a surprise. The more you shrink down the machine, the more cooling becomes an issue.

I don't remember, but wasn't that the cause of the RROD? Or was overhearing a separate issue for t360?






Back to top


Back to top