12 Years a Slave - Tomatometer: 101 Reviews, 96% Positive | Page 2 | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
leoj
Texas A&M Fan
Member since Nov 2010
1474 posts

re: 12 Years a Slave - Tomatometer: 101 Reviews, 96% Positive


I really want to see this but I'm sure it's going to be intense.





Back to top
CoCo311
LSU Fan
Anyone want my shirt??
Member since Jun 2012
15573 posts

re: 12 Years a Slave - Tomatometer: 101 Reviews, 96% Positive


Is Freauxzen going to have a meltdown when he sees the reviews?





Back to top
JumpingTheShark
New Orleans Saints Fan
Uptown Dallas
Member since Nov 2012
6580 posts

re: 12 Years a Slave - Tomatometer: 101 Reviews, 96% Positive


quote:

If I had to bet now, I'd say this will be the clear winner at this year's Oscars for basically everything.


My money is on The Butler, a definite checklist movie and Oprah is behind it






Back to top
Patrick_Bateman
USA Fan
Member since Jan 2012
11148 posts

re: 12 Years a Slave - Tomatometer: 101 Reviews, 96% Positive


I usually trust Peter Travers' reviews. Love what he had to say about it:
quote:

You won't be able to tuck this powder keg in the corner of your mind and forget it. What we have here is a blistering, brilliant, straight-up classic.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Carson123987
LSU Fan
Middle Court at the Rec
Member since Jul 2011
39018 posts

re: 12 Years a Slave - Tomatometer: 101 Reviews, 96% Positive


frick the butler





Back to top
  Replies (0)
WITNESS23
LSU Fan
Courtside
Member since Feb 2010
11608 posts

re: 12 Years a Slave - Tomatometer: 101 Reviews, 96% Positive


Looks great, as long as it isn't preachy





Back to top
Behind The Ivy
LSU Fan
Los Angeles
Member since Jan 2008
988 posts

re: 12 Years a Slave - Tomatometer: 101 Reviews, 96% Positive


quote:

Looks great, as long as it isn't preachy


Slavery happened, there were bad people owning slaves, and they were white. You never owned slaves, I never owned slaves, just enjoy the movie.

And no, its not very preachy. It was actually a lot fairer than i thought it would be.






Back to top
bbap
Indiana Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Feb 2006
82584 posts

re: 12 Years a Slave - Tomatometer: 101 Reviews, 96% Positive


total ripoff of life. Life is better.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
ladytiger118
LSU Fan
Member since Aug 2009
17102 posts

re: 12 Years a Slave - Tomatometer: 101 Reviews, 96% Positive


Good...I'm hoping it won't be one of those
"evil white men" movies.






Back to top
Rittdog
LSU Fan
Yesterday, all my troubles seemed
Member since Oct 2009
9955 posts

re: 12 Years a Slave - Tomatometer: 101 Reviews, 96% Positive


Hey...

Django Unchained was a great movie.

Then again..the brilliance of that....The most evil character was a black man.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Patrick_Bateman
USA Fan
Member since Jan 2012
11148 posts

re: 12 Years a Slave - Tomatometer: 101 Reviews, 96% Positive


Anyone seen it yet? It's not showing anywhere in north Louisiana, and it's really pissing me off!

ETA: Neither is All Is Lost.



This post was edited on 10/18 at 6:45 pm


Back to top
  Replies (0)
OMLandshark
Ole Miss Fan
Member since Apr 2009
39883 posts

re: 12 Years a Slave - Tomatometer: 101 Reviews, 96% Positive


quote:

My money is on The Butler, a definite checklist movie and Oprah is behind it



No. The Butler is pure, pure Oscar bait and a mediocre film to the extreme. This is Oscar Bait and a much better film, filmmaker, better written, better story, and a better cast.






Back to top
Rittdog
LSU Fan
Yesterday, all my troubles seemed
Member since Oct 2009
9955 posts

re: 12 Years a Slave - Tomatometer: 101 Reviews, 96% Positive


From a poster whose opinion I trust

quote:

Well the movie just received a standing ovation. I’ve never experienced that before. Chiwetel Ejiofor gives an outstanding performance as Solomon Northup, while Ejiofor certainly has his moments to shine, it’s the moments in which McQueen just leaves the camera on Ejiofor without saying a single word, allowing his emotion and facial expressions to do the talking that really play at the heart strings. At points you could hear a pin drop apart from the sniffles of tears in the audience. Seriously Chiwetel Ejiofor is one of the best natural criers I’ve seen on screen, weird statement but its true.

Michael Fassbender has a lot of fun and really stinks his teeth into the role of Edwin Epps. A more violent Calvin Candle, there are moments when Fassbender looks lost within the role, in a good way. His eyes literally show no emotion or remorse for his actions. Lupita Nyongo’s really sold the emotion of her character and I understand why she is receiving the praise she has, especially in her latter scenes. Brad Pitt feels wasted and out of place, with only two short scenes. Benedict Cumberbatch plays the opposite to Michael Fassbender’s character, a slave owner who has his slaves best interest at heart. While Benedict did fine in his short role, again he felt a bit wasted.

The direction was what you’ve come to expect from Steve McQueen. He is great at building tension through natural sound and breathing like he did in Shame. The lashing scenes are pretty brutal, especially the last one where I swear I literally saw some flesh fly off the body. McQueen makes it even more brutal with long takes in which you never know if they are going to end. Zimmer’s score reminded me a lot of “Time” from Inception and felt quite repetitive. The Cinematography was beautifully shot, especially the cotton field and a sequence with the boat’s motor going through the water (I’m not sure what their actually called).

I wasn’t impressed with the editing I must admit. The pacing didn’t feel right in some places and the ending felt a bit abrupt. Overall I preferred Gravity and Inside Llewyn Davis but 12 Years a Slave is still a fantastic movie which I’m sure will sweep the Oscars.

Any questions feel free to ask?






Back to top
Patrick_Bateman
USA Fan
Member since Jan 2012
11148 posts

re: 12 Years a Slave - Tomatometer: 101 Reviews, 96% Positive








Back to top
  Replies (0)
Methuselah
LSU Fan
On da Riva
Member since Jan 2005
14401 posts

re: 12 Years a Slave - Tomatometer: 101 Reviews, 96% Positive


quote:

I really want to see this but I'm sure it's going to be intense.

That's the one thing that gives me pause about seeing it. I'm not crazy about films that are over the top intense. I've never seen The Passion of the Christ because I didn't really feel like sitting and watching someone getting beat up for most of a movie. I kind of feel the same way about this.

I guess I need to read little more about what exactly the movie encompass. But if it's just an hour and a half or two hours of someone getting beat and whipped, I may pass on it.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
IndependentGeorge
LSU Fan
Anytown, USA
Member since Oct 2011
2355 posts

re: 12 Years a Slave - Tomatometer: 101 Reviews, 96% Positive


About a slave in the south being beaten and abused. Should have just given them the oscars when the original proposal was drafted.

Hollywood and most of everyone else will eat this up.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Freauxzen
USA Fan
Utah
Member since Feb 2006
22306 posts
 Online 

re: 12 Years a Slave - Tomatometer: 101 Reviews, 96% Positive


quote:

Is Freauxzen going to have a meltdown when he sees the reviews?



Why would I have a meltdown? This looks like a super good film and I'm a big fan of Ejiofor.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Easy
Inglewood, CA
Member since Dec 2008
3593 posts
 Online 

re: 12 Years a Slave - Tomatometer: 101 Reviews, 96% Positive


I just saw it. Most of it anyway...got there late. It was ok. Not great. I don't usually like slave movies so this was better than most. At least the white people weren't portrayed as the real heros like often happens in Hollywood movies. Well actually one of them was. Most of the rest were pretty evil. It's not something that anyone has to rush out and see imo.





Back to top
Bestbank Tiger
Ohio State Fan
Landmass
Member since Jan 2005
20786 posts

re: 12 Years a Slave - Tomatometer: 101 Reviews, 96% Positive


One thing I like to mention in these threads is the book (and by extension the movie) has an LSU connection.

There was a widow in Northup's area who owned a plantation, and he had a lot of good things to say about her. In the 1960s, two of her great-granddaughters found the book in LSU's archives and worked to get it re-published.






Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top