Rules question in game tonight. | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
ianfson1
LSU Fan
Houston
Member since Aug 2009
339 posts

Rules question in game tonight.


In the Miss St/UCLA game on now, why was the UCLA runner who collided with the Miss St first baseman not out due to interference? He was clearly outside the running lane and in fair territory. Can someone clarify?






Back to top
Share:
LSULyle00690
Samford Fan
Birmingham,AL
Member since Sep 2004
3904 posts

re: Rules question in game tonight.


He wasn't out of the lane





Back to top
ctiger69
LSU Fan
New Orleans Saints/Pelicans Fan
Member since May 2005
7278 posts
 Online 

re: Rules question in game tonight.


Runner ran straight down the line.

The first baseman stuck his arm out across first base. If anything the first baseman had interference to the baserunner.



This post was edited on 6/24 at 9:44 pm


Back to top
  Replies (0)
ianfson1
LSU Fan
Houston
Member since Aug 2009
339 posts

re: Rules question in game tonight.


quote:

He wasn't out of the lane


Actually he was. He was running the whole way in fair territory and the running lane is on the foul side of the line.






Back to top
ell_13
USA Fan
Alex Box
Member since Apr 2013
21865 posts
 Online 

re: Rules question in game tonight.


Smart runner.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
LSU Tigershark
South Alabama Fan
10,000 posts
Member since Dec 2007
7879 posts

re: Rules question in game tonight.


I didn't know LSU was playing in this game. In that case, the LSU player was right





Back to top
  Replies (0)
lsubmorrison
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2005
46 posts
 Online 

re: Rules question in game tonight.


The lane down the first base line is really only relevant on a thrown ball. If a runner is outside the lane and hit by a thrown ball, he's out. Otherwise, it's OK for him to run outside of the lane.





Back to top
ianfson1
LSU Fan
Houston
Member since Aug 2009
339 posts

re: Rules question in game tonight.


quote:

The lane down the first base line is really only relevant on a thrown ball. If a runner is outside the lane and hit by a thrown ball, he's out. Otherwise, it's OK for him to run outside of the lane.


Even if he interferes with the first baseman's attempt to catch the thrown ball??






Back to top
lsubmorrison
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2005
46 posts
 Online 

re: Rules question in game tonight.


Yes. The fielder has to throw around the runner, but if he's out of the lane at first base, and the throw hits the runner, the runner is out.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
junkfunky
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2011
13818 posts
 Online 

re: Rules question in game tonight.


I didn't watch the game but it reminds of a high school game where I had made it to first and the next batter was probably our best hitter. He popped up about 5 feet foul and 2/3 of the way down to first base. I'm standing on the bag watching the play unfold right in front of me and just before the first baseman catches the ball I see our batter charging right at the guy. He speared him about chest level and the dude went flying and dropped the ball. It was a complete moment but kinda funny looking back now.





Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top