Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before | Page 3 | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
Zach
LSU Fan
Member since May 2005
65128 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


quote:

for 5 straight hours.

That's why I play at sunrise in the first cart. I have played a round in 3 hours. Never more than 3 and 1/2.






Back to top
double d
Baylor Fan
Amarillo by morning
Member since Jun 2004
7837 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


I like the early tee times also. Playing solo I can finish a round in just over 2 hours while still playing well, but slow me down to a 4 hour round or more and I can't focus for shite.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
tigerfoot
LA-Monroe Fan
Alexandria
Member since Sep 2006
18805 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


I score about three strokes better on back than front. So I am of no help. It surely isn't because of superior fitness or mental toughness on the course





Back to top
  Replies (0)
guedeaux
LSU Fan
Houston
Member since Jan 2008
10739 posts
 Online 

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


If it is true that you are getting worse as you warm up, perhaps you should warm up significantly before you practice and play to get better control. You can't keep yourself tight, but you can warm up properly.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
HubbaBubba
LSU Fan
RIP - los angeles tiger
Member since Oct 2010
8345 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


Zachary, I know this may seem odd, but just for interest in analyzing the situation, are you wagering? Other than pride is there "something on the table" when you play?


Regardless, try this. Go see your doctor and tell him you've been experiencing some anxiety and ask for a sample of Zanax, to see if it will help. Break a tab into quarters. Take one quarter 30 minutes before your second nine. Your concentration should still be very good, but any anxiety you normally associate with the turn should be dissipated. If you had been experiencing
any anxiety from a chronic conditioning from your previous golfing history, your nerves and mental tate can have a profound effect on your swing by adding subconscious negative energy to your setup.


I'm not advocating this as a long term fix, but it could help you get past the turn and allow you to condition a new positive reflex to making the turn, eliminating negative expectations.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
beaverfever
Arkansas Fan
Little Rock
Member since Jan 2008
7878 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


10 strokes? That's absurd if you really average 10 shots worse over a several year period, like 43, 53. Are you really out of shape? My swing generally starts getting a little tired around 15 or so when I haven't played in a long time or am kind of out of shape. Not 10 shots worth though. Maybe one or two.
ETA: Forgot to ask if you're one of those guys that hits two buckets of balls before teeing off. If so, obviously stop.



This post was edited on 3/21 at 2:04 pm


Back to top
JJ27
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2004
47392 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


Friend of mine is exact opposite. He shot 49/39 to win D flight at Tamahka a month ago.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Geauxld Finger
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jan 2005
24847 posts
 Online 

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


i find it to be more of repetition of good and bad shots. i don't get fatigued playing golf.

But i find that if i shank a ball i'll get on a string of garbage for a bit. Almost like I have to re-adjust myself.






Back to top
guedeaux
LSU Fan
Houston
Member since Jan 2008
10739 posts
 Online 

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


quote:

Almost like I have to re-adjust myself.


Its amazing how much of this game is mental fortitude.






Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top