Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before | TigerDroppings.com
Posted by
Message
Zach
LSU Fan
Member since May 2005
70144 posts

Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before

I play about 50 rounds a year on a rotation of 8 courses in NW La. and East Tex.

I keep a lot of my statistics on a spreadsheet. Just for fun and I've always been interested in math tendencies.

Well, over the last 5 years I've noticed that 90% of the time my score is better on the front 9 than on the back 9. This is not a 1 or 2 stroke difference. More like 10.

My partners have noticed this and have two explanations:

1. You get tired on the back, so have some peanuts at the turn.
My answer: I don't feel tired. I'm not hungry. We're riding in a cart.

2. It's psychological. You play well on the front and expect a collapse on the back so it's a self fulfilling prophecy.
My answer: I can't afford a psychologist.

Any help would be appreciated.


BRgetthenet
USA Fan
Golf Board Smash Lab™ CEO
Member since Oct 2011
75016 posts
Online

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before
For the next few years, play the back 9 first, then report back.


TIA


Tiger1242
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2011
23796 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before
too many beers?

I would say it's probably some kind of fatigue, or you're trying to fix your swing flaws on the course thus your swing is changing in the middle of your round


bamafan425
Colorado State Fan
Denver via Chattanooga
Member since Jan 2009
24815 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before
Is this true when you start off the back 9? (if you ever do).


Pintail
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2011
2886 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before
You are more focused on the front nine than the back. You are just losing your concentration. Take a little more time on the back nine.


BeaverPRO
LSU Fan
Member since Aug 2009
15143 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before
quote:

play the back 9 first

This, this will tell you i you start to get tired or not. if you play well on the "back" 9 then you are just getting tired whether you think it or not. if you play bad, then you you are losing concentration over the ball and hitting it "squirrely"


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Billy Mays
Syracuse Fan
Member since Jan 2009
17959 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before
quote:

You are more focused on the front nine than the back. You are just losing your concentration. Take a little more time on the back nine.


This.

And fatigue, of course. Make sure to hydrate and eat at the turn.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Zach
LSU Fan
Member since May 2005
70144 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before
quote:

Is this true when you start off the back 9? (if you ever do).

We rotate 8 courses. Back and Front difficulty is not an issue. Especially since my partners score near equal on back and front.


LSUTIGER in TEXAS
Toledo Fan
Houston TX
Member since Jan 2008
7113 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before
quote:

too many beers?
this
quote:

You are more focused on the front nine than the back
or this. maybe you let your guard down psychologically on the back b/c the front went so well.


WinnPtiger
LSU Fan
Arlington
Member since Mar 2011
4960 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before
I don't know about the courses you're playing but at my home course in Arlington the back 9 is substantially harder than the front


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
LSUTIGER in TEXAS
Toledo Fan
Houston TX
Member since Jan 2008
7113 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before
im more of a back 9 kinda guy. i need the front to warm up


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Zach
LSU Fan
Member since May 2005
70144 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before
quote:

You are more focused on the front nine than the back. You are just losing your concentration. Take a little more time on the back nine.

One of my partners suggested this.
After the front 9 I'm feeling frisky with a good score. Then when I tee up on the 10th hole I always hit a bad shot and get frustrated. As in 'well, here we go again."


Zach
LSU Fan
Member since May 2005
70144 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before
quote:

too many beers? this

Nope. I'm a morning golfer. My favorite time to tee off is 7 am.


bamafan425
Colorado State Fan
Denver via Chattanooga
Member since Jan 2009
24815 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before
Might just be mental fatigue instead of physical fatigue. Golf can wear you out just from concentrating.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
The Easter Bunny
Georgia Tech Fan
Member since Jan 2005
42623 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before
quote:

We rotate 8 courses. Back and Front difficulty is not an issue. Especially since my partners score near equal on back and front.


Since I know at least a few of the courses you're playing in Shreveport I can believe that the front and back are about the same difficulty. I think the poster was more saying that to do an independent test for your abilities would require playing the back 9 first and seeing if you still score better on the front 9 when they are played as 10-18.

Does your putting stay about the same? FWH? GIR?

If your putting was declining on the back I'd think it's even more a concentration thing.

Another possibility is you know you're playing well and are thinking about shooting a certain number and that messes you up on the back. I'm awful, and so breaking 100 is usually a good day, so I don't pay attention to my total on the back so that it doesn't get in my head.


BRgetthenet
USA Fan
Golf Board Smash Lab™ CEO
Member since Oct 2011
75016 posts
Online

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before
You're creating this reality for yourself Zach.

Change your thoughts, and change the world around you.


BeaverPRO
LSU Fan
Member since Aug 2009
15143 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before
quote:

After the front 9 I'm feeling frisky with a good score. Then when I tee up on the 10th hole I always hit a bad shot and get frustrated. As in 'well, here we go again."


Try reading this!

the last paragraph is what i'm getting at!
This post was edited on 3/20 at 5:16 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
bamafan425
Colorado State Fan
Denver via Chattanooga
Member since Jan 2009
24815 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before
That was such a 'Get comment.


BRgetthenet
USA Fan
Golf Board Smash Lab™ CEO
Member since Oct 2011
75016 posts
Online

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before
Mind over matter....that shit's real padnuh.


bamafan425
Colorado State Fan
Denver via Chattanooga
Member since Jan 2009
24815 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


Page 1 of 3

Back to top

Follow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram