Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
Zach
LSU Fan
Member since May 2005
65920 posts

Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before



I play about 50 rounds a year on a rotation of 8 courses in NW La. and East Tex.

I keep a lot of my statistics on a spreadsheet. Just for fun and I've always been interested in math tendencies.

Well, over the last 5 years I've noticed that 90% of the time my score is better on the front 9 than on the back 9. This is not a 1 or 2 stroke difference. More like 10.

My partners have noticed this and have two explanations:

1. You get tired on the back, so have some peanuts at the turn.
My answer: I don't feel tired. I'm not hungry. We're riding in a cart.

2. It's psychological. You play well on the front and expect a collapse on the back so it's a self fulfilling prophecy.
My answer: I can't afford a psychologist.

Any help would be appreciated.







Back to top
Share:
BRgetthenet
LSU Fan
Golf Board Smash Lab™ CEO
Member since Oct 2011
66246 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


For the next few years, play the back 9 first, then report back.


TIA






Back to top
Tiger1242
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2011
22847 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


too many beers?

I would say it's probably some kind of fatigue, or you're trying to fix your swing flaws on the course thus your swing is changing in the middle of your round






Back to top
bamafan425
Alabama Fan
Member since Jan 2009
23681 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


Is this true when you start off the back 9? (if you ever do).





Back to top
Pintail
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2011
2712 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


You are more focused on the front nine than the back. You are just losing your concentration. Take a little more time on the back nine.





Back to top
BeaverPRO
LSU Fan
Member since Aug 2009
15077 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


quote:

play the back 9 first

This, this will tell you i you start to get tired or not. if you play well on the "back" 9 then you are just getting tired whether you think it or not. if you play bad, then you you are losing concentration over the ball and hitting it "squirrely"






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Billy Mays
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Member since Jan 2009
17507 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


quote:

You are more focused on the front nine than the back. You are just losing your concentration. Take a little more time on the back nine.


This.

And fatigue, of course. Make sure to hydrate and eat at the turn.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Zach
LSU Fan
Member since May 2005
65920 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


quote:

Is this true when you start off the back 9? (if you ever do).

We rotate 8 courses. Back and Front difficulty is not an issue. Especially since my partners score near equal on back and front.






Back to top
LSUTIGER in TEXAS
USA Fan
Houston TX
Member since Jan 2008
6804 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


quote:

too many beers?
this
quote:

You are more focused on the front nine than the back
or this. maybe you let your guard down psychologically on the back b/c the front went so well.






Back to top
WinnPtiger
LSU Fan
Fort Worth
Member since Mar 2011
4334 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


I don't know about the courses you're playing but at my home course in Arlington the back 9 is substantially harder than the front





Back to top
  Replies (0)
LSUTIGER in TEXAS
USA Fan
Houston TX
Member since Jan 2008
6804 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


im more of a back 9 kinda guy. i need the front to warm up





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Zach
LSU Fan
Member since May 2005
65920 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


quote:

You are more focused on the front nine than the back. You are just losing your concentration. Take a little more time on the back nine.

One of my partners suggested this.
After the front 9 I'm feeling frisky with a good score. Then when I tee up on the 10th hole I always hit a bad shot and get frustrated. As in 'well, here we go again."






Back to top
Zach
LSU Fan
Member since May 2005
65920 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


quote:

too many beers? this

Nope. I'm a morning golfer. My favorite time to tee off is 7 am.






Back to top
bamafan425
Alabama Fan
Member since Jan 2009
23681 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


Might just be mental fatigue instead of physical fatigue. Golf can wear you out just from concentrating.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
The Easter Bunny
Georgia Tech Fan
Minneapolis, MN
Member since Jan 2005
42453 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


quote:

We rotate 8 courses. Back and Front difficulty is not an issue. Especially since my partners score near equal on back and front.


Since I know at least a few of the courses you're playing in Shreveport I can believe that the front and back are about the same difficulty. I think the poster was more saying that to do an independent test for your abilities would require playing the back 9 first and seeing if you still score better on the front 9 when they are played as 10-18.

Does your putting stay about the same? FWH? GIR?

If your putting was declining on the back I'd think it's even more a concentration thing.

Another possibility is you know you're playing well and are thinking about shooting a certain number and that messes you up on the back. I'm awful, and so breaking 100 is usually a good day, so I don't pay attention to my total on the back so that it doesn't get in my head.






Back to top
BRgetthenet
LSU Fan
Golf Board Smash Lab™ CEO
Member since Oct 2011
66246 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


You're creating this reality for yourself Zach.

Change your thoughts, and change the world around you.






Back to top
BeaverPRO
LSU Fan
Member since Aug 2009
15077 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


quote:

After the front 9 I'm feeling frisky with a good score. Then when I tee up on the 10th hole I always hit a bad shot and get frustrated. As in 'well, here we go again."


Try reading this!

the last paragraph is what i'm getting at!



This post was edited on 3/20 at 5:16 pm


Back to top
  Replies (0)
bamafan425
Alabama Fan
Member since Jan 2009
23681 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


That was such a 'Get comment.





Back to top
BRgetthenet
LSU Fan
Golf Board Smash Lab™ CEO
Member since Oct 2011
66246 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before


Mind over matter....that shit's real padnuh.





Back to top
bamafan425
Alabama Fan
Member since Jan 2009
23681 posts

re: Need golfers opinion: question I've never heard asked before








Back to top


Back to top