How much does someone's taste in music affect your opinion of them? | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
Big Lake
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2011
3842 posts

How much does someone's taste in music affect your opinion of them?


I always judge people on what type of music they like moreso than any other character trait. I used to be a dick a rag on everyone's taste in music if I deemed it bad but now as long as they have the capacity to like good music they are alright with me.

For example someone could be the nicest/coolest person in the world but if they like Blood on the Dance Floor or My Chemical Romance or some shite then they might as well be Hitler to me.







Back to top
Share:
L Boogie
LSU Fan
Austin
Member since Jul 2009
2806 posts

re: How much does someone's taste in music affect your opinion of them?


Meh.

I work in East Austin with a bunch of hipsters...we don't have the same taste in music but they are all still great people.

My close friends, however, have pretty much the same taste as I and we go to shows together and stuff. That doesn't mean I don't like people with a different taste in music. I just wouldn't invite them to be my +1.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Brosef Stalin
LSU Fan
Member since Dec 2011
8150 posts
 Online 

re: How much does someone's taste in music affect your opinion of them?


I generally like someone less if they have the same taste in music as me.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
iluvdatiger
LSU Fan
Ridgeland, MS
Member since Jan 2004
37644 posts

re: How much does someone's taste in music affect your opinion of them?


I appreciate all genres of music. It's the people who only listen to one genre and never move out of that zone that I find odd.





Back to top
yurintroubl
New Orleans Saints Fan
Dallas, Tx.
Member since Apr 2008
22736 posts

re: How much does someone's taste in music affect your opinion of them?


Agree. Historically - I don't get along the best with people that have "tunnel hearing" but those have been few and far in between.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
quail man
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
New York, NY
Member since May 2010
25081 posts

re: How much does someone's taste in music affect your opinion of them?


typically, i dislike people who feel like this

quote:

I always judge people on what type of music they like moreso than any other character trait.


more than people who listen to this

quote:

My Chemical Romance






Back to top
HeadyBrosevelt
Hawaii Fan
Summer Tour
Member since Jan 2013
17004 posts

re: How much does someone's taste in music affect your opinion of them?


I hate when people have a shitty taste in music,but as long as it doesn't directly affect me (like at a party or in a car or something) then I don't care





Back to top
  Replies (0)
TigerHam85
Hawaii Fan
59-024 Kamehameha Highway, Haleiwa
Member since Nov 2009
27281 posts
 Online 

re: How much does someone's taste in music affect your opinion of them?


If I notice someone is into strictly main stream music (i have lots of friends like this), ill never take them seriously when it comes to music, but that's doesn't make me frown upon them as a person.





Back to top
Kafka
New Orleans Saints Fan
Remember landscaping the Alamo
Member since Jul 2007
72025 posts

re: How much does someone's taste in music affect your opinion of them?


quote:

I always judge people on what type of music they like moreso than any other character trait


If I did that -- judge people on the basis of their taste in music, movies, etc -- I'd have no friends.

People with my taste in music are invariably pretentious a-holes






Back to top
CottonWasKing
LSU Fan
4,8,15,16,23,42
Member since Jun 2011
15386 posts

re: How much does someone's taste in music affect your opinion of them?


quote:

If I notice someone is into strictly main stream music (i have lots of friends like this), ill never take them seriously when it comes to music, but that's doesn't make me frown upon them as a person.


This but I can't date a chick if she has shite taste in music






Back to top
  Replies (0)
CottonWasKing
LSU Fan
4,8,15,16,23,42
Member since Jun 2011
15386 posts

re: How much does someone's taste in music affect your opinion of them?


quote:

If I did that -- judge people on the basis of their taste in music, movies, etc -- I'd have no friends.


You have friends???







Back to top
Kafka
New Orleans Saints Fan
Remember landscaping the Alamo
Member since Jul 2007
72025 posts

re: How much does someone's taste in music affect your opinion of them?


quote:

You have friends???


I'd have even fewer if I based it on them agreeing with my taste in music

That's a very immature and rather arrogant attitude






Back to top
  Replies (0)
stonedbegonias
New Orleans Saints Fan
Baton Rouge / Pensacola
Member since Jan 2010
9319 posts

re: How much does someone's taste in music affect your opinion of them?


I used to judge people based on their taste in music, then I grew the frick up.





Back to top
Baloo
LSU Fan
Formerly MDGeaux
Member since Sep 2003
43815 posts

re: How much does someone's taste in music affect your opinion of them?


"It's not what you're like, it's what you like." Of course, while this is a good line, the lesson of High Fidelity is that this attitude is wrong.

I will say that people have mainstream tastes in everything tend not to be adventuresome people. It doesn't mean I don't like them or think less of them, but I do find that I'm more likely to find them boring. But it's not a hard and fast rule or anything.






Back to top
Big Lake
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2011
3842 posts

re: How much does someone's taste in music affect your opinion of them?


I worded my post wrong. I have plenty of friends who have bad taste in music but in making first impressions and when all else is equal I definitely judge people's personality based on their taste in music.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
CottonWasKing
LSU Fan
4,8,15,16,23,42
Member since Jun 2011
15386 posts

re: How much does someone's taste in music affect your opinion of them?


quote:

I will say that people have mainstream tastes in everything tend not to be adventuresome people. It doesn't mean I don't like them or think less of them, but I do find that I'm more likely to find them boring. But it's not a hard and fast rule or anything.


Hit the nail on the head here.

However like I said earlier I look at music taste in a potential SO pretty heavily.

Mainly because if I can't go to concerts/festivals with her or if we can't just listen and talk about music then we're not going to have much at all in common so what's the point?






Back to top
Big Lake
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2011
3842 posts

re: How much does someone's taste in music affect your opinion of them?


quote:

However like I said earlier I look at music taste in a potential SO pretty heavily.


I do too, as long as they are open to wide variety of music I am hunky dory but if they are caged up in their one shitty genre I will bail.







Back to top
  Replies (0)
olddawg26
Georgia Fan
Member since Jan 2013
4027 posts

re: How much does someone's taste in music affect your opinion of them?


A good bit. Although I studied piano theory for years and play a few instruments. I can tolerate mainstream stuff but I prefer more thought out music. The pop thing deserves respect from a producer and engineering pov, making this stuff sound so good and be so catchy takes talent regardless if it's in Gmaj. That being said a drunk girl on a boat cranked up call me maybe excruciatingly loud one time and I hit her in the face with a red starburst.





Back to top
SUB
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2009
3597 posts

re: How much does someone's taste in music affect your opinion of them?


The OP sounds a little pretentious, but maybe I'm reading his post differently. While I do agree that you can learn a lot about a person from their taste in music, it is pretty shallow to use that one characteristic to judge a person as a whole. Most of my friends don't share my taste in music or what I consider "good", but good taste in music is very subjective. I can find other things in common with people, such as LSU, sports, movies, hobbies, etc, and enjoy the company of people with these characteristics just as much or more than those that have the same taste in music.

Like someone else said, many people that like the same music as me can often be pretentious dicks, so why would I want to hang around them?



This post was edited on 2/14 at 11:40 am


Back to top
High C
LSU Fan
viewing the fall....
Member since Nov 2012
6426 posts

re: How much does someone's taste in music affect your opinion of them?


If I get in someone's ride and they crank up some modern country radio or mainstream, played-out rap, I wanna punch them. You should see the right side of my wife's face.





Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top