"dipped" shotguns. experience? opinions? | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
LSUFan3434
LSU Fan
Iowa, LA
Member since Sep 2006
15908 posts

"dipped" shotguns. experience? opinions?


my cousin told me he's going to have his nova dipped to make it camo after duck season. i've never heard of this being done. of course, i come to the OB to see what you guys have to say about it.

he said it will be around $100 to get it done.

any of y'all have yours dipped?

thoughts?







Back to top
Share:
guesswho
LSU Fan
BATON ROUGE
Member since Apr 2011
1256 posts

re: "dipped" shotguns. experience? opinions?


I don't personally like dipped guns but that's just me. Don't use bug spray after you do it





Back to top
LSUFan3434
LSU Fan
Iowa, LA
Member since Sep 2006
15908 posts

re: "dipped" shotguns. experience? opinions?


i'm really thinking it might be a bad move, but it's what he wants to do.

i'm just looking for some advice and guidance about the whole thing.

why shouldn't he use bug spray after having it dipped? will it wear off the new paint?






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Boats n Hose
LSU Fan
NOLA
Member since Apr 2011
34960 posts

re: "dipped" shotguns. experience? opinions?


King ranch should show up with his gun somewhere in this thread.
It's nice.

Also

quote:

dip

I put one in when I'm using my shotgun, that's about the extent of my knowledge






Back to top
MrCoachKlein
Ole Miss Fan
Member since Sep 2010
7506 posts

re: "dipped" shotguns. experience? opinions?


I'd probably recommend a cerakote in a desert/black combo, I haven't seen an aftermarket camo that looks good

Looks awesome, would look even better if it fired



This post was edited on 1/13 at 4:40 pm


Back to top
KingRanch
LSU Fan
The Ranch
Member since Mar 2012
54591 posts

re: "dipped" shotguns. experience? opinions?


I'm not posting a picture







Back to top
LSUFan3434
LSU Fan
Iowa, LA
Member since Sep 2006
15908 posts

re: "dipped" shotguns. experience? opinions?


please post one so I can show him





Back to top
fishfighter
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Apr 2008
18529 posts

re: "dipped" shotguns. experience? opinions?


If it's a gun he is planning on keeping, why not just spray paint it. Could touch it up every year.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
hypnos
Texas Fan
Member since Dec 2009
2224 posts

re: "dipped" shotguns. experience? opinions?


Im thinking about having my AR dipped. Where did you have it done? How much did it cost?





Back to top
  Replies (0)
lv2bowhntAU
Auburn Fan
God's Country,a.k.a N. Alabama
Member since Jan 2011
2614 posts

re: "dipped" shotguns. experience? opinions?


I can almost guarantee a $100 job is gonna be shite. Mine was double that but looks great and has a lifetime warranty. I did mine because I like camo guns, less worrying about rust, and Benelli's max4 is brighter than a muthafricka

ETA: I've said it on here before, but tell him to check into cerakote too. Sharpest shotgun I have eve laid eyes on was a Benelli SBEII with burnt bronze cerakote on the receiver and barrel and had the stock and forearm dipped in MODB. That gun was a sight to see. It was done at the same place I had mine done



This post was edited on 1/13 at 6:19 pm


Back to top
GreatBrandino
LSU Fan
Somewhere
Member since Nov 2008
393 posts

re: "dipped" shotguns. experience? opinions?


That looks good, where did you get that done?





Back to top
lv2bowhntAU
Auburn Fan
God's Country,a.k.a N. Alabama
Member since Jan 2011
2614 posts

re: "dipped" shotguns. experience? opinions?


WWGUNS





Back to top
hypnos
Texas Fan
Member since Dec 2009
2224 posts

re: "dipped" shotguns. experience? opinions?


Thanks





Back to top
  Replies (0)
LSUFan3434
LSU Fan
Iowa, LA
Member since Sep 2006
15908 posts

re: "dipped" shotguns. experience? opinions?


that's a terrible magazine you have in the top right of that picture

that's a sweet gun, though






Back to top
Boats n Hose
LSU Fan
NOLA
Member since Apr 2011
34960 posts

re: "dipped" shotguns. experience? opinions?



I figure you would come in with something about the price and/or durability of it.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
lv2bowhntAU
Auburn Fan
God's Country,a.k.a N. Alabama
Member since Jan 2011
2614 posts

re: "dipped" shotguns. experience? opinions?


Dunno how that found its way in the house. Usually hits the trash as soon as it comes. Doesn't even make it to be throne reading material haha





Back to top
LSUFan3434
LSU Fan
Iowa, LA
Member since Sep 2006
15908 posts

re: "dipped" shotguns. experience? opinions?


good answer





Back to top
BourgsTheWord
Southeastern LA Fan
Gulf of America
Member since Apr 2008
24123 posts

re: "dipped" shotguns. experience? opinions?


go to the cerakote website and they have thousands of pictures of badass guns to look at





Back to top
lv2bowhntAU
Auburn Fan
God's Country,a.k.a N. Alabama
Member since Jan 2011
2614 posts

re: "dipped" shotguns. experience? opinions?


Major gun porn right there





Back to top
  Replies (0)
LSUFan3434
LSU Fan
Iowa, LA
Member since Sep 2006
15908 posts

re: "dipped" shotguns. experience? opinions?


can you post a pic of cerakote?





Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top