Opinions on an SKS and add-ons for it... | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
iwyLSUiwy
Southern Fan
I'm your huckleberry
Member since Apr 2008
21258 posts

Opinions on an SKS and add-ons for it...


Im fixing up my AR and I have an SKS collecting dust in the gun safe so I figured I might try and put a little money in it.

Its a 1962 or 64 Chinese factory 306, with the bayonet and the original wood stock.

Any thoughts on what could be done/what I should do with it? Over/under on the number of throw it in the trash comments? 3?

Its pretty much original and I might drop the value of it but I was thinking a new stock like this or more original like this. I didnt know stocks for them were that reasonable.

Not sure on the sights or anything else though. Maybe a black bayonet.

Anybody ever fixed one up or do you think id just drop the value doing it?








Back to top
Share:
Ace Midnight
LSU Fan
Ball, LA - Home, Sweet Home
Member since Dec 2006
29510 posts
 Online 

re: Opinions on an SKS and add-ons for it...


quote:

Anybody ever fixed one up or do you think id just drop the value doing it?


I think there's just zero return on this - it being Chinese, the gun may be nearly worthless as it is, but I'd get a pro's opinion first. I certainly wouldn't try to dress up a Russian gun of that vintage (I have 1954 Russian). Getting a new(or newish) one to fix up might be a better option and, if nothing else, an excuse to buy some 7.62X39 and shoot the old girl as well.

Just my $0.02






Back to top
iwyLSUiwy
Southern Fan
I'm your huckleberry
Member since Apr 2008
21258 posts

re: Opinions on an SKS and add-ons for it...


quote:

Just my $0.02





Are they fun to shoot? I just took it on a trade and and wasnt sure what I was even going to do with it. Worthless as in what $200-300?






Back to top
Ace Midnight
LSU Fan
Ball, LA - Home, Sweet Home
Member since Dec 2006
29510 posts
 Online 

re: Opinions on an SKS and add-ons for it...


quote:

Are they fun to shoot?


It is. Mine kind of just rides back, rather than bounce around which is good. Keeping in mind they adjusted the sight at the factory, probably with a hammer, to bend it to zero in (for somebody, at least) at about 100 meters - with those limitations - it is still a fun carbine to shoot at medium 100 to 150 meter range targets (and some can get further, just not me).

quote:

Worthless as in what $200-300?


I really can't help you with the Chinese - it's plenty old, but I don't even know if that helps or hurts. I don't think I've lost money with mine, but I gave about $280 20 years ago. If it functions well, I could see $200 being a floor.



This post was edited on 12/27 at 3:27 pm


Back to top
iwyLSUiwy
Southern Fan
I'm your huckleberry
Member since Apr 2008
21258 posts

re: Opinions on an SKS and add-ons for it...


quote:

It is. Mine kind of just rides back, rather than bounce around which is good. Keeping in mind they adjusted the sight at the factory, probably with a hammer, to bend it to zero in (for somebody, at least) at about 100 meters - with those limitations - it is still a fun carbine to shoot at medium 100 to 150 meter range targets (and some can get further, just not me).


Ammo is pretty cheap huh?

quote:

I really can't help you with the Chinese - it's plenty old, but I don't even know if that helps or hurts. I don't think I've lost money with mine, but I gave about $280 20 years ago. If it functions well, I could see $200 being a floor.



I typically dont get rid of guns so I really shouldnt even care about the value. I traded an older dirt bike for 5 guns, I came out good if this was only worth $50, but the guy I got it from had a video of him shooting from the hip with the trigger tied to his belt loop and he burned through the 30 rnd clip like it was fully auto. I figure it shoots good.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
4X4DEMON
Northwestern St. Fan
NWLA
Member since Dec 2007
11289 posts

re: Opinions on an SKS and add-ons for it...


I'll buy the gun from you. Seriously.





Back to top
iwyLSUiwy
Southern Fan
I'm your huckleberry
Member since Apr 2008
21258 posts

re: Opinions on an SKS and add-ons for it...


Semi bump.

I guess I would sell it. What do ya want to give for it?






Back to top
Me Bite
LSU Fan
A.K.A. - Bite Me
Member since Oct 2007
6596 posts

re: Opinions on an SKS and add-ons for it...


Pics? I may interested too.





Back to top
iwyLSUiwy
Southern Fan
I'm your huckleberry
Member since Apr 2008
21258 posts

re: Opinions on an SKS and add-ons for it...


Email addresses? I got a ten and 30rnd clip. All original.





Back to top
Cold Pizza
Ohio State Fan
Member since Sep 2011
7639 posts

re: Opinions on an SKS and add-ons for it...


quote:

I got a ten and 30rnd clip.










Back to top
iwyLSUiwy
Southern Fan
I'm your huckleberry
Member since Apr 2008
21258 posts

re: Opinions on an SKS and add-ons for it...








Back to top
jimbeam
USA Fan
University of LSU
Member since Oct 2011
30616 posts
 Online 

re: Opinions on an SKS and add-ons for it...








Back to top
  Replies (0)
olgoi khorkhoi
Bucknell Fan
priapism survivor
Member since May 2011
2923 posts

re: Opinions on an SKS and add-ons for it...


I'll start the bidding at $50





Back to top
olgoi khorkhoi
Bucknell Fan
priapism survivor
Member since May 2011
2923 posts

re: Opinions on an SKS and add-ons for it...


going once..





Back to top
  Replies (0)
TopWaterTiger
LSU Fan
Lake Charles, LA
Member since May 2006
6132 posts
 Online 

re: Opinions on an SKS and add-ons for it...


Mine looks pretty much just like this. I added a tapco stock and 30 rd clip and scope. Mine doesn't have the light.







Back to top
  Replies (0)
Mako
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Nov 2011
268 posts

re: Opinions on an SKS and add-ons for it...


I like the SKS. I have a AR and other 'blackguns' but the sks is pretty cool. I have the bayonet for the end of the barrel.

I found the ammo is cheaper than the .223. I got 20 shells for 5.99. Also, I have a scope and a few 30 round mags. The bullet is slower but, its shoots 125 ish grain round and fast. Its a great little gun and I have been slowly fixing it up.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
4X4DEMON
Northwestern St. Fan
NWLA
Member since Dec 2007
11289 posts

re: Opinions on an SKS and add-ons for it...


quote:

iwyLSUiwy


Hit me up on gmail, mudmadman






Back to top
diat150
Tulane Fan
OPELOUSAS
Member since Jun 2005
18883 posts

re: Opinions on an SKS and add-ons for it...


please dont destroy the sks with the bull shite add ons. it is a great weapon as is.





Back to top
4X4DEMON
Northwestern St. Fan
NWLA
Member since Dec 2007
11289 posts

re: Opinions on an SKS and add-ons for it...


Thats not my plan. I just want another one and they are impossible to find right now.





Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top