Anyone have opinions this 26' Offshore Center Console? | Page 2 | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
RBWilliams8
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2009
47105 posts

re: Anyone have opinions this 26' Offshore Center Console?


I'd jump on that @ 18k if it was a better time to do so for me. Just got 2 new vehicles this half of the year.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
RBWilliams8
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2009
47105 posts

re: Anyone have opinions this 26' Offshore Center Console?


quote:

Don't forget to account for the cost of gas each trip.


Yeah the gas is pricy but you don't have to Max it out every trip. You can go to the first set of rigs and have a good ol time. Just preserve the riptide trips for an occasional outing and you're good. The people that want the best trip ever every trip are the ones who drink up $1000 worth of gas each trip. Your first few trips should be finding spots for your gps (unless you can get someone you know to help you out). Once you have a few good spots then it's relatively cheap when you know exactly where you want to go.






Back to top
LSUAlum2001
LSU Fan
Tier BP
Member since Aug 2003
28676 posts
 Online 

re: Anyone have opinions this 26' Offshore Center Console?


quote:

The people that want the best trip ever every trip are the ones who drink up $1000 worth of gas each trip.


A friend has a 26' Polar and he asks every weekend (when the swells are right) if anyone wants to go 20-40 miles offshore during snapper season.

4 of us will pitch in $80 or so each to cover gas.

I told him he needs to get his Capt license so we can go out on a Friday evening, limit on Red Snapper, tie up to a rig and drink/chill/sleep for 8 or so hours and limit again early Saturday morning.






Back to top
geauxpimp
LSU Fan
Cocodrie, LA
Member since Nov 2007
1660 posts

re: Anyone have opinions this 26' Offshore Center Console?


Do yourself a favor if you are really interested and get a survey done on it. The biggest problem i see with that boat is the lack of use. 640 hours on a 15 year old boat is not enough. That about 4 offshore trips per year, max.

The hidden issues are the fuel tanks, the engines, and that wiring needs to be blown up.

I bet he'll take 12 for it.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
TutHillTiger
LSU Fan
Mississippi Alabama
Member since Sep 2010
9105 posts

re: Anyone have opinions this 26' Offshore Center Console?


Buy it at 14 if the compression test you are going to do on each motor is ok. Very solid year for those motors and that hull very solid





Back to top
LSUAlum2001
LSU Fan
Tier BP
Member since Aug 2003
28676 posts
 Online 

re: Anyone have opinions this 26' Offshore Center Console?


I emailed the broker and he says the owner would take 15-17K for it.

So I'll offer $14K.






Back to top
RBWilliams8
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2009
47105 posts

re: Anyone have opinions this 26' Offshore Center Console?


quote:

Posted by LSUAlum2001 on 12/27 at 5:05 pm to TUTHILLTIGER I emailed the broker and he says the owner would take 15-17K for it. So I'll offer $14K. Post Reply • Back to Top • Refresh



He'll say no then when it doesn't sell he'll contact you again.... Then offer him 13






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Gaston
LSU Fan
Dirty Coast
Member since Aug 2008
20607 posts

re: Anyone have opinions this 26' Offshore Center Console?


frick that POS. Don't buy a goddamn offshore boat without riding in it. That thing could be the wettest, most pounding fricker you ever rode in. If you're going to buy one without taking it out, get an old Regulator or Grady White. They're pigs, but dry and solid.

I've never owned an offshore boat and likely wont ever. That's one sport where getting a guide and going in his rig is money better spent. At least you'll catch fish the 3-4 times a year that you actually go.

Bay boats or the like is the biggest boat I'd own. 22-24 ft with one engine and a trolling motor.



This post was edited on 12/27 at 6:03 pm


Back to top
fishfighter
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Apr 2008
19795 posts
 Online 

re: Anyone have opinions this 26' Offshore Center Console?


quote:

I told him he needs to get his Capt license so we can go out on a Friday evening, limit on Red Snapper, tie up to a rig and drink/chill/sleep for 8 or so hours and limit again early Saturday morning.

Also, running a boat offshore, per weekend, I would drop about $1200, that was fuel,oil, bait, ice and replacement tackle.








Still would be breaking the law. To get around that, you have to have two captains on board. A single captain is not suppost to be at the wheel/water more then 12 hours at a time on a charter.



This post was edited on 12/27 at 6:37 pm


Back to top
Coon
Nicholls St. Fan
La 56 Southbound
Member since Feb 2005
16053 posts

re: Anyone have opinions this 26' Offshore Center Console?


im jelly





Back to top
  Replies (0)
LSUAlum2001
LSU Fan
Tier BP
Member since Aug 2003
28676 posts
 Online 

re: Anyone have opinions this 26' Offshore Center Console?


I'd definitely take it out before purchasing it.

As far as bay boats: They are nice, but I'd get bored with inshore fishing after a while and you would need a near perfect day to take it out to the rigs for snapper, etc without getting swamped or tossed around the boat.






Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top