Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now | Page 12 | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
CP3LSU25
LSU Fan
Lafayette
Member since Feb 2009
36062 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now


quote:

All of them incredibly well written by one of the greatest authors of all time. Not tying to sound gay or something but the dude was a true genius, as a person in general, not just an author.


This. all the negative reviews don't say anything negative about the actual film.

I've never read silmarilion yet. Is it that sad and depressing






Back to top
JohnnyBgood
LSU Fan
Dutchtown
Member since May 2010
1781 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now


quote:

I've never read silmarilion yet. Is it that sad and depressing


The book can be frustrating at times because there are so many names and places in all the stories that you get confused as to what's going on. Luckily there is an encyclopedia in the back that you will keep flipping back and forth to.

It is sad/depressing because it feels like no matter how hard the heroes try, evil always end up winning. But Morgoth was a freaking Valar with God like powers who created all evil in the world. And his army consisted of Sauron, Balrogs, trolls, dragons, orcs, etc... So trying to adapt all this to film would be near impossible.






Back to top
CP3LSU25
LSU Fan
Lafayette
Member since Feb 2009
36062 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now


For everyone whining and complaining about 3 movies. Peter Jackson explains and why you should shut the hell up.

quote:

"Anyone who thinks Peter Jackson would fall for market forces around him rather than artistic integrity doesn’t know the guy or the body of his work," Sir Ian McKellen


quote:

"The book is written in a very brisk pace, so pretty major events in the story are covered in only two or three pages," Jackson told reporters on Wednesday. "So once you start to develop the scenes and plus you wanted to do a little bit more character development, plus the fact that we could also adapt the appendices of Return of the King, which is 100-odd pages of material that sort of takes place around the time of The Hobbit, so we wanted to expand the story of The Hobbit a little bit more, as did Tolkien himself. So all those factors combined gave us the material to do it."

LINK



This post was edited on 12/8 at 8:50 am


Back to top
  Replies (0)
davesdawgs
Georgia Fan
Georgia - Class of '75
Member since Oct 2008
17938 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now


quote:

a lot of people are saying its slow and the plot sucks


I can believe a slower pace than the LoTR but there's no way the "plot sucks" if it's true to the book. Viewers who have not read the books looking for non-stop action, should probably look elsewhere.






Back to top
CP3LSU25
LSU Fan
Lafayette
Member since Feb 2009
36062 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now


quote:

Viewers who have not read the books looking for non-stop action, should probably look elsewhere.



People are so fixated on comparing this to LOTR. It's a different book.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
CP3LSU25
LSU Fan
Lafayette
Member since Feb 2009
36062 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now


quote:

There is one BIG negative from my viewing of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey. It has nothing to do with the plot, acting, score or any other aspect of the actual content of the film. It has to do with wrapping this masterpiece in the inappropriate frame of HFR 3D. It was quite simply unnecessary to saddle this film with this presentational wizardry.




Seems to be the consensus. 5 more days



This post was edited on 12/9 at 9:56 am


Back to top
Fearthehat0307
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Dec 2007
54904 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now


quote:

. 5 more days


cant wait






Back to top
CP3LSU25
LSU Fan
Lafayette
Member since Feb 2009
36062 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now


quote:

cant wait






eta. The positives reviews are flowing in.



This post was edited on 12/9 at 1:38 pm


Back to top
  Replies (0)
CP3LSU25
LSU Fan
Lafayette
Member since Feb 2009
36062 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now


The reviews are so weird. Either the give it a 5/5 and say its amazing or the movie is to long and the 48FPS is bad. I tend to sway with the people saying its groundbreaking technology and a great movie





Back to top
Fearthehat0307
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Dec 2007
54904 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now


quote:

I tend to sway with the people saying its groundbreaking technology and a great movie



this x10000000. all those giving it negative reviews probably dvr 2 and a half men






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Tiger n Miami AU83
Auburn Fan
Miami
Member since Oct 2007
36282 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now


quote:


The book can be frustrating at times because there are so many names and places in all the stories that you get confused as to what's going on. Luckily there is an encyclopedia in the back that you will keep flipping back and forth to.


I read the Hobbit and LOTR when I was in 6-7th grade. Then reread after 8th grade. Tried twice to read the Silmarilion after each and just couldn't get far or stick with it. Way too many names, too much to try to follow and just frustrating IMO.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
LeonPhelps
LSU Fan
Member since May 2008
5054 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now


quote:

The book can be frustrating at times because there are so many names and places in all the stories that you get confused as to what's going on. Luckily there is an encyclopedia in the back that you will keep flipping back and forth to.

It is sad/depressing because it feels like no matter how hard the heroes try, evil always end up winning. But Morgoth was a freaking Valar with God like powers who created all evil in the world. And his army consisted of Sauron, Balrogs, trolls, dragons, orcs, etc... So trying to adapt all this to film would be near impossible.


I read the Silmarilion twice and loved it even more than the Lord of the Rings. What is sad about it is basically the loss of paradise. They basically make their way to Eden-equivalent - The Undying Lands, and live among the "gods", basically. But pride in the way of Feanor drives one of the 3 tribes of Elves out of paradise to Middle Earth in search of the Silmarilions that Feanor created and Morgot stole. Galadriel was one of those that crossed back with Feanor and it took until she refused the ring before she was allowed to go back home.

It is sad because you know what we have today is a shadow of the great things that used to be.






Back to top
JohnnyBgood
LSU Fan
Dutchtown
Member since May 2010
1781 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now


quote:

It is sad because you know what we have today is a shadow of the great things that used to be.


This.

Even the island of Numenor was awesome to read about. Their Army was so great that when they rebelled and landed in the undying lands, the Valar feared them and had to call upon Eru to save them. Even Gondor at its peak was no comparison to the Numenorians.

Damn ima have to go bust out the book now!






Back to top
OMLandshark
Ole Miss Fan
Member since Apr 2009
39883 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now


Its ironic, but despite the ratings, I'm actually happy on what they're saying in the reviews. That being said, all this should have been left for the Extended Editions, not the theatrical release. Extended Editions are not for everyone, and I'm still of the opinion that they should have merely made 2 film and added around 2 hours of footage to the Extended Edition DVDs.





Back to top
CP3LSU25
LSU Fan
Lafayette
Member since Feb 2009
36062 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now


quote:

Its ironic, but despite the ratings, I'm actually happy on what they're saying in the reviews. That being said, all this should have been left for the Extended Editions, not the theatrical release. Extended Editions are not for everyone, and I'm still of the opinion that they should have merely made 2 film and added around 2 hours of footage to the Extended Edition DVDs.



This.. But they would never had added the appendices.






Back to top
CP3LSU25
LSU Fan
Lafayette
Member since Feb 2009
36062 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now


quote:

I found myself concentrating more on the strange look of the film and less on the film itself.



But he gave it a A-

see it in 24FPS dumbass.

I might be aliltte drunk






Back to top
ATLienTiger
USA Fan
Atlanta
Member since Oct 2006
23618 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now


This is what I am concerned with. I love the material and story, and would normally be completely down to see this in it's highest quality, Imax etc, but I'm worried the high frame rate might throw me off a bit.

I usually fork out the Imax money for epics, action packed films, but I'm just undecided about this one. I will probably wait for testimony on both version from friends, and this board.






Back to top
OMLandshark
Ole Miss Fan
Member since Apr 2009
39883 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now


quote:

This is what I am concerned with. I love the material and story, and would normally be completely down to see this in it's highest quality, Imax etc, but I'm worried the high frame rate might throw me off a bit.

I usually fork out the Imax money for epics, action packed films, but I'm just undecided about this one. I will probably wait for testimony on both version from friends, and this board.



Just see it in 24 frame rates then. You have to go out of your way to see it in 48. Sorry, but the only thing I think you should witness as if you were there are sports and nature. Films aren't one of them, if the overly real HD has anything to say about it.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
bayoudude
LSU Fan
Houma
Member since Dec 2007
17098 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now


Yeah i am bummed as well that it is only being shown in 3D here in Houma. I ordered my tickets for Saturday I really don't care to watch a film while wearing those goofy glasses.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
CP3LSU25
LSU Fan
Lafayette
Member since Feb 2009
36062 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now


quote:

This is what I am concerned with. I love the material and story, and would normally be completely down to see this in it's highest quality, Imax etc, but I'm worried the high frame rate might throw me off a bit.


IMAX and the 48FPS aren't the same thing? Right.






Back to top


Back to top