Little Rock vs. Fayettville opinions? | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
BabyTac
Louisiana Tech Fan
Austin, TX
Member since Jun 2008
2551 posts
 Online 

Little Rock vs. Fayettville opinions?


Personally it was a lot longer trip, but I really enjoyed the couple of days spent in Fayettville for the LSU game than in Little Rock. Better atmosphere (Dickson Street, etc.), vibe, and much nicer stadium. Hope this becomes a permanent move.

Had a blast out and about Thursday night, then at the game Friday. The Friday night crowd (I guess kids being back in town) was meh. Much younger crowd, frats, and rowdiness led to an early night but was appreciated on the drive home the next morning!







Back to top
Share:
Duckie
LSU Fan
Tippy Toe, Louisiana
Member since Apr 2010
20498 posts

re: Little Rock vs. Fayettville opinions?


quote:

really enjoyed the couple of days spent in Fayettville for the LSU game than in Little Rock. Better atmosphere (Dickson Street, etc.), vibe, and much nicer stadium. Hope this becomes a permanent move






Back to top
mikelbr
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Apr 2008
14333 posts

re: Little Rock vs. Fayettville opinions?


quote:

Hope this becomes a permanent move.


Agreed. I stayed in Ft Smith but just going to the actual campus for an SEC game feels 'right'. Plus the stadium was nice and atmosphere much better. Froze my arse off though.






Back to top
DestrehanTiger
USA Fan
Houston, TX by way of Louisiana
Member since Nov 2005
8150 posts

re: Little Rock vs. Fayettville opinions?


I really enjoyed Fayetteville. When aTm inevitably takes over as our Thanksgiving game, I'll look forward to making a trip back to Fayetteville to truly experience a weekend that isn't taken away some by there being a holiday the day before.





Back to top
SallyWheeler
LSU Fan
Member since Dec 2007
2508 posts

re: Little Rock vs. Fayettville opinions?


I enjoyed Fayetteville as well. Have never been to a game in Little Rock so I cannot compare the two. The Game weekend atmosphere was likely a little subdued from the holiday but overall still a good time.





Back to top
loopdog
LSU Fan
Alexandria, La.
Member since Nov 2011
210 posts

re: Little Rock vs. Fayettville opinions?


Fayetteville is nice. Quiet a change. Cold as the north pole but great atmosphere. LSU played their usual hit and miss rythm. LSU played just good enough to win,that's all.Compared to Tiger Stadium crowd...No comparison. A football game in Fayetteville was like going to a republican party. Very subdued !





Back to top
TIGRLEE
LSU Fan
North La
Member since Nov 2009
19869 posts

re: Little Rock vs. Fayettville opinions?


Ark fans at little rock are the biggest collection of degenerates I've ever been around.
Never going back to that dump.

Friday, day after thanksgiving is just bad day for a college footballmgame.



This post was edited on 11/26 at 10:58 am


Back to top
melonheadla
LSU Fan
New Orleans Positiger
Member since Dec 2007
232 posts

re: Little Rock vs. Fayettville opinions?


Much classier fanbase of season ticketholders in Fayetteville as compared to one toothed sacks of protoplasm in Little Rock.





Back to top
Numberwang
Arkansas Fan
FayetteKill, Eatyourface
Member since Feb 2012
2807 posts

re: Little Rock vs. Fayettville opinions?


Just about any Arkansas alum will tell you this is the case.

Fayetteville is a real college town, and a nice one at that. The tailgating isn't as rowdy, but part of that is the topography around the stadium. If you walked at all you realize what I'm saying. Hills don't get much steeper than those north, west and east of Razorback stadium.

I hope we keep playing the LSU game in Fayetteville, but I agree that earlier in the year would make for a better atmosphere.






Back to top
mtheob17
LSU Fan
Atlanta
Member since Sep 2009
2078 posts

re: Little Rock vs. Fayettville opinions?


quote:

Much classier fanbase of season ticketholders in Fayetteville as compared to one toothed sacks of protoplasm in Little Rock.


My only experiences going to games at Arky were in Little Rock. Couldn't agree more with your statement.






Back to top
tigerbait2010
Michigan Fan
Austin
Member since May 2006
12937 posts

re: Little Rock vs. Fayettville opinions?


quote:

Just about any Arkansas alum will tell you this is the case.

Fayetteville is a real college town, and a nice one at that. The tailgating isn't as rowdy, but part of that is the topography around the stadium. If you walked at all you realize what I'm saying. Hills don't get much steeper than those north, west and east of Razorback stadium.

I hope we keep playing the LSU game in Fayetteville, but I agree that earlier in the year would make for a better atmosphere.



this.

I was very impressed with the campus, facilities, Dickson Street, and NW Arkansas in general. You guys have something special going on up there. Hell, three of my Arkansas friends had interviews with JB Hunt this week. It solidified my desire to get my MBA from the Walton School of Business.






Back to top
Numberwang
Arkansas Fan
FayetteKill, Eatyourface
Member since Feb 2012
2807 posts

re: Little Rock vs. Fayettville opinions?


NWA really is a good place to live. Its suburban, new, with Fayetteville being "the big city" but with enough people and money to have "big city" stores, restaurants, cultural attractions, etc. Plus you're just a short drive from the Ozarks, fishing, hunting, hiking, in any direction.

My favorite place to live, but I'm biased. There are a LOT of former Louisianans up here, as evidenced by the number of LSU fans at Baum when we play LSU.







Back to top
Froghair
Washington Fan
The Great NorthLeft Coast
Member since Feb 2005
320 posts

re: Little Rock vs. Fayettville opinions?


Just went to my first away Arkansas game, and I liked it, but I've never been to a game in Little Rock. The Arkansas fans were very nice, but I also had the feeling they had just resigned themselves to a throw-away season. Pretty setting, and it was easy to get in and out of with respect to parking...much, much better than at LSU. Tailgating was NOTHING like at LSU. I would definitely go to a game in Fayetteville again (if the weather wasn't so damn windy and cold!).





Back to top
purpleturtle50
LSU Fan
Louisiana
Member since Nov 2007
1244 posts

re: Little Rock vs. Fayettville opinions?


I kept wondering where every one parked and how does a vehicle get in and out of that area?





Back to top
LSUINKC
LSU Fan
Overland Park, KS
Member since Sep 2009
156 posts

re: Little Rock vs. Fayettville opinions?


We came down to the game from KC and enjoyed it a lot. They need to move it to earlier in the year to really see what its like when the students are at the game. It was really cold and more freaking commercial breaks than I have ever seen !!!! Ridiculous. Where's the 2014 game? Fayetteville I hope.





Back to top
kingbob
LSU Fan
St. Amant, LA
Member since Nov 2010
17398 posts

re: Little Rock vs. Fayettville opinions?


On third and long for LSU, with Arkansas's crowd at it's loudest, I could still talk to the person next to me without raising my voice. They were pathetic. They were quieter than both Ole Miss and Tennessee, which is saying something.





Back to top
Numberwang
Arkansas Fan
FayetteKill, Eatyourface
Member since Feb 2012
2807 posts

re: Little Rock vs. Fayettville opinions?


Its because we went 4-8 and the coaching staff beat us into submission via their extreme fricktardedness. I admit, our crowd wasn't loud at all Friday.

But, Fayetteville gets loud. I remember McElroy said Fayetteville was the loudest crowd he played in front of in 2010.

Parking is a bitch on campus in Fayetteville. The flatter areas are a pretty good hike from the stadium. The campus has three parking garages, so a lot of people park there.

I park down on Dickson and hike over the hill.






Back to top
SallyWheeler
LSU Fan
Member since Dec 2007
2508 posts

re: Little Rock vs. Fayettville opinions?


We stayed in Bentonville and went hiking Saturday morning. Very different from a typical SEC road trip in that aspect but certainly a good time.


ETA: Also, Hammontree's off of Dickson Street was the best grilled cheese sandwich I ever had.



This post was edited on 11/26 at 4:06 pm


Back to top
LSUINKC
LSU Fan
Overland Park, KS
Member since Sep 2009
156 posts

re: Little Rock vs. Fayettville opinions?


Gotta love the shuttle buses they had set up right outside the stadium to take people out to the perimeter parking areas; hope the game is there again in '14 and its earlier in the year; I wanna see what the crowd's like then.





Back to top
RollTigersRoll
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2011
800 posts

re: Little Rock vs. Fayettville opinions?


I went up and thought that the fayetteville campus was absolutely beautiful..

only complaint was the lack of attendance because of thanksgiving break. I think that when the game is in little rock, there's more fanfare just bc the town is bigger.

...also, side note, surprisingly the students that I talked to said that they enjoyed little rock games because the tailgate scene is much better






Back to top


Back to top




//