Your Opinion on High Fenced Hunts | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
fishen4life
LSU Fan
baton rouge
Member since Dec 2010
396 posts

Your Opinion on High Fenced Hunts



Im just curious what you guys opinions on high fenced hunts are, what scenarios are they okay or not okay, what animal type is more understood in a high fenced hunt etc..






Back to top
Share:
34venture
LSU Fan
Buffer Zone
Member since Mar 2010
9010 posts

re: Your Opinion on High Fenced Hunts








Back to top
  Replies (0)
LSUballs
LA-Monroe Fan
RayVegas LA
Member since Feb 2008
22050 posts

re: Your Opinion on High Fenced Hunts


I'd never pay for one. If you were pickin up the tab I'd go blast one.





Back to top
TXGunslinger10
LSU Fan
Houston, TX
Member since Jun 2011
12058 posts

re: Your Opinion on High Fenced Hunts


High Fence is Deer "shooting". Not Deer "hunting" IMO





Back to top
OldHickory
LSU Fan
New Orleans
Member since Apr 2012
2728 posts

re: Your Opinion on High Fenced Hunts


Fencers gonna fence.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
fishen4life
LSU Fan
baton rouge
Member since Dec 2010
396 posts

re: Your Opinion on High Fenced Hunts


quote:

High Fence is Deer "shooting". Not Deer "hunting"


Any other animal where you think its okay?






Back to top
  Replies (0)
LSUFan3434
LSU Fan
Iowa, LA
Member since Sep 2006
15908 posts

re: Your Opinion on High Fenced Hunts


takes the sport out of it

anyone can go sit in a box stand and wait for a deer to walk in front if a guide knows EXACTLY what time that particular deer will be there






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Boats n Hose
LSU Fan
NOLA
Member since Apr 2011
36300 posts

re: Your Opinion on High Fenced Hunts


This thread again





Back to top
deaconjones35
LSU Fan
Pride
Member since Sep 2009
6184 posts

re: Your Opinion on High Fenced Hunts


Not a fan. But to each his own, I won't dog anyone out for doing it....unless you come to the OB and show your arse and call people who are against it poor, especially if it's your Dad that pays for everything. But that's just a hypothetical.





Back to top
Vlad
Vanderbilt Fan
North AL
Member since May 2012
1908 posts

re: Your Opinion on High Fenced Hunts


quote:

High Fence is Deer "shooting". Not Deer "hunting" IMO


Depends, a guy next to the land we deer hunt has 2000 ac High Fenced. 2000 ac is a shite load of land and still requires you to hunt the deer.






Back to top
El Josey Wales
LSU Fan
Greater Geismar
Member since Nov 2007
22710 posts

re: Your Opinion on High Fenced Hunts


quote:

I'd never pay for one. If you were pickin up the tab I'd go blast one.


This






Back to top
  Replies (0)
wickowick
LSU Fan
Head of Island
Member since Dec 2006
24783 posts

re: Your Opinion on High Fenced Hunts


quote:

Depends, a guy next to the land we deer hunt has 2000 ac High Fenced. 2000 ac is a shite load of land and still requires you to hunt the deer.


This, 200 acres vs 2000 or 20,000 makes a huge difference...






Back to top
  Replies (0)
fishen4life
LSU Fan
baton rouge
Member since Dec 2010
396 posts

re: Your Opinion on High Fenced Hunts


quote:

This thread again


Dont like it, keep scrolling, no need to waste your characters here






Back to top
  Replies (0)
DieselTiger1
LSU Fan
9 Dragon
Member since Oct 2008
12888 posts

re: Your Opinion on High Fenced Hunts


quote:

This thread again

minimum 7 a month



This post was edited on 11/8 at 1:01 pm


Back to top
  Replies (0)
wiltznucs
South Florida Fan
Apollo Beach, FL
Member since Sep 2005
7957 posts

re: Your Opinion on High Fenced Hunts


I have mixed feelings about high fences. I decided back in the late 90's that I wanted to harvest a big whitetail. I traveled extensively and hunted Saskatchewan and Alberta among others. I finally harvested a legit 140+ free range whitetail a few years later. In its time a 140 was by most measures an outstanding trophy. I put a lot of money, time and sweat equity into getting those deer.

I look at whitetail hunting now and I see many 150+ to 180+ killed each year. A good number of those deer are killed by novices or nonhunters that do it for the social interaction with friends. Many of the hunts are held in high fenced preserves(game farms) that are either quite small(sub 100 acres) or in many cases that have killed off every doe on the property so as to ensure that the bucks dont fight and break off antler tines. It seems to me like the trophy whitetail deer has turned into a commodity that can be bought and sold like shares of stocks or traded like baseball cards. I do hate that. I feel the high fences have reduced the accomplishment of those hunters who tagged a rare and great free range whitetail..

Now, for the hypocrite in me.

If I had a piece of property of less than a few hundred acres and I wanted to manage it, what would I do first? I'd put a fence on it...

I know, I know...




This post was edited on 11/8 at 1:08 pm


Back to top
El Josey Wales
LSU Fan
Greater Geismar
Member since Nov 2007
22710 posts

re: Your Opinion on High Fenced Hunts


Wiltednuts has spoken.





Back to top
DieselTiger1
LSU Fan
9 Dragon
Member since Oct 2008
12888 posts

re: Your Opinion on High Fenced Hunts








Back to top
  Replies (0)
DieselTiger1
LSU Fan
9 Dragon
Member since Oct 2008
12888 posts

re: Your Opinion on High Fenced Hunts


you would fence less than a few hundred acres? that's fish in a barrel, man.





Back to top
mylsuhat
New Orleans Saints Fan
NOLA
Member since Mar 2008
39417 posts

re: Your Opinion on High Fenced Hunts


It's a completely different sport/game. IMO.





Back to top
MillerMan
LSU Fan
West U, Houston, TX
Member since Aug 2010
4433 posts

re: Your Opinion on High Fenced Hunts


I fricking love it





Back to top


Back to top