Can Freshman play in the bowl and NOT lose Red shirt? | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
LSU91MBA
LSU Fan
Houston
Member since Aug 2008
1280 posts

Can Freshman play in the bowl and NOT lose Red shirt?



I have been wondering about this... and it seems that post season is considered differnt than regular season.

My ASSUMPTION is that freshman that have "red shirted" this season can play in the bowl game and NOT lose the redshirt eligibility?

Does anyone KNOW for sure?

DD mentions this today and I think he has it wrong... but I'm not sure.







Back to top
Share:
TriumphTiger
LSU Fan
Snellville, GA
Member since Sep 2007
6666 posts

re: Can Freshman play in the bowl and NOT lose Red shirt?


They would lose their redshirt.


This post was edited on 12/31 at 8:16 am


Back to top
LSU91MBA
LSU Fan
Houston
Member since Aug 2008
1280 posts

re: Can Freshman play in the bowl and NOT lose Red shirt?


Why.... technically it's not part of the season?

I need more than opinion... somebody can find the NCAA rule on this, I'm sure.

Yes... I could Google it myself... but I don't want to...






Back to top
The Mick
Ohio State Fan
Member since Oct 2010
24083 posts

re: Can Freshman play in the bowl and NOT lose Red shirt?


I thought it's based on a % of plays. I think you can play a few plays and still reshirt but I could also be totally wrong as well see. Glad to help.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
TriumphTiger
LSU Fan
Snellville, GA
Member since Sep 2007
6666 posts

re: Can Freshman play in the bowl and NOT lose Red shirt?


Travis Daniels gave up his redshirt in the 2001 SECCG. I think it was because Ronnie Prude got hurt. That's not a bowl game though.





Back to top
TriumphTiger
LSU Fan
Snellville, GA
Member since Sep 2007
6666 posts

re: Can Freshman play in the bowl and NOT lose Red shirt?


quote:

Why.... technically it's not part of the season?

I need more than opinion... somebody can find the NCAA rule on this, I'm sure.

Yes... I could Google it myself... but I don't want to...


LINK






Back to top
  Replies (0)
LSUPEPPER
LSU Fan
SHREVEPORT,LA
Member since Aug 2004
507 posts

re: Can Freshman play in the bowl and NOT lose Red shirt?


you play one play anytime in any game you lose your red shirt. There are some exceptions to the rule if you do not play too many games early in the year,injuries,etc. They are too numerous for me to type so you'll need to look them up and then get a compliance guy to explain them.





Back to top
TriumphTiger
LSU Fan
Snellville, GA
Member since Sep 2007
6666 posts

re: Can Freshman play in the bowl and NOT lose Red shirt?


quote:

you play one play anytime in any game you lose your red shirt. There are some exceptions to the rule if you do not play too many games early in the year,injuries,etc. They are too numerous for me to type so you'll need to look them up and then get a compliance guy to explain them.


I thought it was pretty straight-forward:

1) Play in no games in your first year of eligibility
2) Request a medical hardship in any year where you played in less that 30% of the games in the first half of the season.

A medical hardship can give you a 6th year of eligibility if you also took a redshirt.






Back to top
ForeLSU
LSU Fan
The Corner of Sanity and Madness
Member since Sep 2003
34760 posts

re: Can Freshman play in the bowl and NOT lose Red shirt?


sorry..pdf's don't copy/paste too well

quote:

14.2.4 Hardship Waiver. A student-athlete may be granted an additional year of competition by the conference or the Committee on Student-Athlete Reinstatement for reasons of “hardship.” Hardship is defined as an incapacity resulting from an injury or illness that has occurred under all of the following conditions: (Revised:
8/8/02, 11/1/07 effective 8/1/08)

(a) The incapacitating injury or illness occurs in one of the four seasons of intercollegiate competition at any two-year or four-year collegiate institutions or occurs after the first day of classes in the student-athlete’s senior
year in high school; (Revised: 1/10/92 effective 8/1/92, 11/01/01, 8/8/02)

(b) The injury or illness occurs prior to the first competition of the second half of the playing season that
concludes with the NCAA championship in that sport (see Bylaw 14.2.4.3.4) and results in incapacity to compete for the remainder of that playing season; (Revised: 1/14/97 effective 8/1/97, 4/26/01 effective 8/1/01,
4/3/02, 4/24/08)

(c) In team sports, the injury or illness occurs when the student-athlete has not participated in more than three contests or dates of competition (whichever is applicable to that sport) or 30 percent (whichever number is greater) of the institution’s scheduled or completed contests or dates of competition in his or her sport. Only
scheduled or completed competition (including exempted events but excluding scrimmages and exhibition contests identified as such in the legislation) against outside participants during the playing season that concludes with the NCAA championship, or, if so designated, during the official NCAA championship playing season in that sport (e.g., spring baseball, fall soccer), shall be countable under this limitation in calculating both the number of contests or dates of competition in which the student-athlete has participated and the number of scheduled or completed contests or dates of competition during that season in the sport. Dates of competition that are exempted (e.g., alumni contests, foreign team in U.S.) from the maximum permissible number of contests or dates of competition shall count toward the number of contests or dates in which the student-athlete has participated and the number of scheduled or completed contests or dates of competition in the season, except for scrimmages and exhibition contests that are specifically identified as such in the sport’s Bylaw 17 playing and practice season regulations. Scrimmages and exhibition contests that are
not exempted from the maximum permissible number of contests or dates of competition may be excluded from the calculation only if they are identified as such in the sport’s Bylaw 17 playing and practice season
regulations; and (Revised: 1/10/92, 1/14/97 effective 8/1/97, 4/26/01 effective 8/1/01, 3/10/04, 5/11/05, 8/4/05,
4/26/07 applicable to student-athletes who initially enrolled full time in a collegiate institution on or after 8/1/03,
9/18/07, 4/24/08)






Back to top
  Replies (0)
ForeLSU
LSU Fan
The Corner of Sanity and Madness
Member since Sep 2003
34760 posts

re: Can Freshman play in the bowl and NOT lose Red shirt?


quote:

I thought it was pretty straight-forward:

1) Play in no games in your first year of eligibility
2) Request a medical hardship in any year where you played in less that 30% of the games in the first half of the season.

A medical hardship can give you a 6th year of eligibility if you also took a redshirt.


There are 3 circumstances to consider...

redshirt - didn't play 1 play, at all. can be taken any year during the 5, doesn't have to be first year

hardship waiver - played in 3, or 30%, whichever is greater, during first half of season and was injured or had an illness

granting of a 6th year of eligibility - done after 5 years has run out, player must of lost 2 or more seasons to injury or illness, redshirt years don't count







Back to top
cajunjj
LSU Fan
Madison, AL
Member since May 2008
7230 posts

re: Can Freshman play in the bowl and NOT lose Red shirt?


Some one had better tell Les this. I'm sure he doesn't know.





Back to top
someoldhussy
Jacksonville St. Fan
Candyland
Member since Jun 2007
1750 posts

re: Can Freshman play in the bowl and NOT lose Red shirt?


quote:

Some one had better tell Les this. I'm sure he doesn't know.


Better bring sock puppets if you want him to understand.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
ultratiger89
LSU Fan
Houston, Tx
Member since Aug 2007
1944 posts

re: Can Freshman play in the bowl and NOT lose Red shirt?


quote:

Yes... I could Google it myself... but I don't want to...


quote:

LSU91MBA
= 1 lazy SOB






Back to top
ELVIS U
LSU Fan
London
Member since Feb 2007
2981 posts

re: Can Freshman play in the bowl and NOT lose Red shirt?


Not only is it not part of the season, but it is going to technically be 2011





Back to top
wmorris
LSU Fan
Eunice Bobcat Country
Member since Feb 2006
1821 posts

re: Can Freshman play in the bowl and NOT lose Red shirt?


quote:

Not only is it not part of the season, but it is going to technically be 2011


So if we win does it count toward the 2010 season or 2011?






Back to top
Lsutim3
Southeastern LA Fan
Walker
Member since Jul 2009
893 posts

re: Can Freshman play in the bowl and NOT lose Red shirt?


No
/thread






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Uncommon Cents
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since May 2008
14381 posts

re: Can Freshman play in the bowl and NOT lose Red shirt?


quote:

Some one had better tell Les this. I'm sure he doesn't know.


Life just isn't fair for you is it? You are way smarter than Les Miles and yet you are stuck draining those fries every day while Les lives in luxury.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
LSU91MBA
LSU Fan
Houston
Member since Aug 2008
1280 posts

re: Can Freshman play in the bowl and NOT lose Red shirt?


quote:

ultratiger89


quote:

quote: Yes... I could Google it myself... but I don't want to...


quote:LSU91MBA = 1 lazy SOB



NO - actually ACE, I tried... it's not that easy to find.... there is not exactly a direct link to the answer to my question...

so... Happy New Year... now GFYS!






Back to top
TriumphTiger
LSU Fan
Snellville, GA
Member since Sep 2007
6666 posts

re: Can Freshman play in the bowl and NOT lose Red shirt?


quote:

there is not exactly a direct link to the answer to my question...


quote:

The term "redshirt" is used to describe a student-athlete who does not participate in competition in a sport for an entire academic year.


First sentence from the NCAA link I posted.






Back to top
SammyTiger
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Feb 2009
11676 posts

re: Can Freshman play in the bowl and NOT lose Red shirt?


I think the same thing happened to Craig Steltz in the Capital one bowl his freshmen year.





Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top