menu
Posted by
Message
Drank
Winthrop Fan
Member since Dec 2012
5165 posts

O/B's Opinion on Magazine Cycling, storage, etc
I have 4 standard double-stacks for my G19.
I keep them all ready to go.
I have read various opinions but could use some more here...

Does keeping them to capacity all the time have any long term negative effects on the mags, whether w/ the internal spring system, or elsewhere?

Do you guys cycle your rounds in yours? I have also read various things on this as well.

I CC and will alternate mags every few weeks..not that it makes a difference.
Occasionally I will unload the mags and reload them just to qc and for peace of mind.

With the shortage and high demand of all ammo I can't justify painting targets at this time, so I just want to make sure that keeping all my mags to capacity at all times isn't having a negative impact that could potentially have consequences if/when a scenario where I need to defend myself plays out.

Thanks all.


KingRanch
LSU Fan
The Ranch
Member since Mar 2012
60650 posts

re: O/B's Opinion on Magazine Cycling, storage, etc
Keep them loaded up. It's not going to do any damage


Drank
Winthrop Fan
Member since Dec 2012
5165 posts

re: O/B's Opinion on Magazine Cycling, storage, etc
quick and easy ...thanks KR


KingRanch
LSU Fan
The Ranch
Member since Mar 2012
60650 posts

re: O/B's Opinion on Magazine Cycling, storage, etc
No prob, cycling is what does damage to springs and when I say does damage; it would take tens of thousands of rounds to do any damage.


VetteGuy
LSU Fan
Member since Feb 2008
24666 posts
 Online 

re: O/B's Opinion on Magazine Cycling, storage, etc
This.

Any time I have had a problem with a mag, it shows up fairly quickly.

King, do you reload?


KingRanch
LSU Fan
The Ranch
Member since Mar 2012
60650 posts

re: O/B's Opinion on Magazine Cycling, storage, etc
quote:

do you reload?


Negative, my uncle does though. He does most of my stuff.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Uncle JackD
USA Fan
MAGA
Member since Nov 2007
51644 posts
 Online 

re: O/B's Opinion on Magazine Cycling, storage, etc
quote:

Keep them loaded up. It's not going to do any damage


JAB528
LSU Fan
The Mexican Ocean
Member since Jun 2012
15138 posts

re: O/B's Opinion on Magazine Cycling, storage, etc
Keep them loaded.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
WildTchoupitoulas
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2010
25070 posts

re: O/B's Opinion on Magazine Cycling, storage, etc
I cycle mine at the range.


jimbeaux82
LSU Fan
Natchitoches, La
Member since Oct 2008
1119 posts

re: O/B's Opinion on Magazine Cycling, storage, etc
keep them loaded, wont hurt a thing.


HTownTigerFan
LSU Fan
Houston, TX
Member since Oct 2010
249 posts

re: O/B's Opinion on Magazine Cycling, storage, etc
I also understand that keeping em loaded is fine, but have also talked to law enforcement and they tend to store them minus 2 rounds so that the spring is not completely compressed. I have done this with my extra AR mags.


WildTchoupitoulas
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2010
25070 posts

re: O/B's Opinion on Magazine Cycling, storage, etc
(no message)
This post was edited on 3/8 at 12:18 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Drank
Winthrop Fan
Member since Dec 2012
5165 posts

re: O/B's Opinion on Magazine Cycling, storage, etc
That's an interesting way I suppose. All mine are to capacity with Zombie Max
It's all I can find around here since 'The Panic' ensued other than range lead..

Anyone else have a take on the minus 2 approach?

Thanks again all


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 1next pagelast page
refresh

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram