H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale | TigerDroppings.com
Posted by
Message
TigerPimpNationTrank
LSU Fan
NOLA Raised / Northshore Livin'
Member since Nov 2005
2211 posts

H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale

So I grabbed a pack of these last week when I was going through the local Academy store. I already owned some Vudu Shrimp, DOA Shrimp and Gulp Shrimp of course, but something about the Mojo Shrimp intrigued me.

They look like Vudu shrimp except much larger plastic and much larger hook and with a pronounced lead piece near the head.

I dropped one 18" under a popping cork, and held on. From the first cast to the last cast, it outperformed live shrimp, market shrimp, Gulp shrimp. Trout and reds were all over it and never ripped the bait all day.

Something else happened to me that has never happened...after popping the cork a few times after a bad cast, I started reeling it in to recast. About three feet from the boat (and I wasn't even looking), my buddy said he watched a 28" red chase the shrimp and hit it.

I am sold on these and would definitely buy them again.

MOJO



pooponsaban
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2008
13494 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale
Sparkle beetle tipped with dead shrimp is all I need.


TigerPimpNationTrank
LSU Fan
NOLA Raised / Northshore Livin'
Member since Nov 2005
2211 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale
I hear ya...I've used em all too and good ol chartreuse beetle is tough to beat....

But as they continue to improve the shrimp in looks and materials, it's interesting to see the performance of all of the new gimmicks.



pooponsaban
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2008
13494 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale
I'm really kidding. Although when they are biting I'm not sure it makes a huge difference.

I do think Gulps can help a lot on slower days. But they can be a pain and certainly aren't cheap. I'll pick up a pack of these and probably the voodoo to see if they hold up.


jsmoke222000
LSU Fan
Lake Charles
Member since Oct 2007
4245 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale
I know the owner of Egret Baits (Vudu Shrimp) & I can confirm that there is a larger version of the Vudu shrimp coming out soon....


meauxjeaux2
Boise State Fan
watson
Member since Oct 2007
50204 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale
glad you like my bait.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
stoms
Mississippi St. Fan
Starkville
Member since May 2012
1012 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale
I won't buy the mojo b/c it looks like the big boy (Academy/H2o) stole his (egret/vudu) idea. Not only that but they're probably manufactured in China. I'll support the local guy and keep buying vudu. Just want to note that I tried to explain myself without going poli board
This post was edited on 10/24 at 9:19 am


jimbeam
USA Fan
University of LSU
Member since Oct 2011
36462 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale
You ever use the vudu?


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
pooponsaban
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2008
13494 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale
quote:

it looks like the big boy (Academy/H2o) stole his (egret/vudu) idea


Idea being a fake shrimp? Yeah...vudu was the first one with that idea.

I'm fine with the rest of your reasoning though.
This post was edited on 10/24 at 9:22 am


stoms
Mississippi St. Fan
Starkville
Member since May 2012
1012 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale
Specifically, it looks like they ripped off the tail. Vudu blew up and is 1 of the hottest artificials on the gulf coast. I think Academy basically copied his design named it something very close as well. Like I said, I'll support local


pooponsaban
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2008
13494 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale
quote:

Like I said, I'll support local


Again, I understand and appreciate that. Can anyone confirm where the Egret baits are made though? I'm thinking oversees.


TigerPimpNationTrank
LSU Fan
NOLA Raised / Northshore Livin'
Member since Nov 2005
2211 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale
I don't know anything about the Egret baits.



Replies (0)
Replies (0)
stoms
Mississippi St. Fan
Starkville
Member since May 2012
1012 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale
I can't confirm but I was told they were made in LA. Not by anyone affiliated with Egret though.


weisertiger
LSU Fan
Lake Charles, LA
Member since Sep 2007
2073 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale
Egret is based out of Many, LA but I am not positive that is where the bait is actually manufactured


PTBob
Southern Miss Fan
Ocean Springs, MS
Member since Nov 2010
4859 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale
Vudu is manufactured in China according to the guy I purchase from. He was out one day and he said shipment is incoming from China. Shipped from Chine to San Diego and distributed from there. This is all according to him but he IS the owner and makes the orders so I guess I trust him.


pooponsaban
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2008
13494 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale
quote:

Vudu is manufactured in China according to the guy I purchase from. He was out one day and he said shipment is incoming from China. Shipped from Chine to San Diego and distributed from there. This is all according to him but he IS the owner and makes the orders so I guess I trust him.


That was my thought when I went to the website and it said "awaiting shipment." I figured they didn't mean from the warehouse behind the office.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
JAB528
LSU Fan
The Mexican Ocean
Member since Jun 2012
15073 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale
Vudu skrimps are indeed a by product of china, so go ahead and support the Commies and VC allies.


stoms
Mississippi St. Fan
Starkville
Member since May 2012
1012 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale


pooponsaban
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2008
13494 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale
Still appears to be Louisiana owned. If price and quality is similar I'll give them the nod.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Page 1 of 1

Back to top

Follow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram