Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now | Page 7 | TigerDroppings.com
Posted by
Message
CP3LSU25
LSU Fan
Lafayette
Member since Feb 2009
36830 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now

quote:

my step brother apparently saw it last weekend in a screening (works in hollywood). He said it sucked.








I'm hearing its the worst movie in a decade. Quite possibly the worst movie even made since Land Before Time 5


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Methuselah
LSU Fan
On da Riva
Member since Jan 2005
15068 posts
Online

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Fox Mulder
Tulane Fan
Austin, TX
Member since Dec 2010
31937 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now
My main concern with the upcoming films is that they will be a cgi shite show.


iwyLSUiwy
Southern Fan
I'm your huckleberry
Member since Apr 2008
21398 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now
quote:

I may get flamed for this but you could cut about a a quarter of King Kong and it would be a MUCH better movie for it. The pacing in that flick was horrid and the dino stampede scene was laughable with how badly they matched the actors with the CG.


You shouldn't get bashed for thinking that. I like long movies in general, if they are good obviously. But King Kong didn't need to be that long. I think everybody by the end of this movies was thinking "o cmon already let's get this thing over with". It thought it was being action packed but somehow was super boring and not memorable at all.


Purple Spoon
Duke Fan
Hoth
Member since Feb 2005
6490 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now


I saw the LOTR Tril and liked it but never could get into the Froto character. He seemed like a little bitch. I generally like fantasy type storie but am clueless to the Hobbit books.

Good movie for me?


CP3LSU25
LSU Fan
Lafayette
Member since Feb 2009
36830 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now
quote:

My main concern with the upcoming films is that they will be a cgi shite show.



My fear also. The Orcs they used in the Two Towers were real life people which made it more believable.


CP3LSU25
LSU Fan
Lafayette
Member since Feb 2009
36830 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now
quote:

Good movie for me?



Give it a shot it won't hurt. If you don't like it then at least you know. If you enjoyed LOTR there is no doubt in my mind you will enjoy this. Amazing story along with beautiful scenery and some of the best visual effects to date.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Fox Mulder
Tulane Fan
Austin, TX
Member since Dec 2010
31937 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now
Obviously alot of cgi was used in the previous trilogy, but there was a good balance of sets, actors in makeup and on location spots. The previews just look like 95% cgi.


Melvin
New Orleans Saints Fan
Covington
Member since Apr 2011
14104 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now
quote:

My main concern with the upcoming films is that they will be a cgi shite show.
+1


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
CP3LSU25
LSU Fan
Lafayette
Member since Feb 2009
36830 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now
quote:

Obviously alot of cgi was used in the previous trilogy, but there was a good balance of sets, actors in makeup and on location spots. The previews just look like 95% cgi.



That's the only downside with the studio telling you that you have 300 million to spend on each movie.


OMLandshark
Ole Miss Fan
Member since Apr 2009
41871 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now
Back up to 75%


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
makinskrilla
Northwestern St. Fan
Lafayette, LA
Member since Jun 2009
7125 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now
I don't trust RT


RollTide1987
Alabama Fan
Aurora, CO
Member since Nov 2009
27392 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now
quote:

I don't trust RT



Metacritic has it at a 62/100 which, according to their scale, falls under "Generally Favorable Reviews."

Just for comparison's sake (and just to piss people off ), The Dark Knight Rises holds a 78/100 on that website.


iwyLSUiwy
Southern Fan
I'm your huckleberry
Member since Apr 2008
21398 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now
quote:



I saw the LOTR Tril and liked it but never could get into the Froto character. He seemed like a little bitch. I generally like fantasy type storie but am clueless to the Hobbit books.

Good movie for me?


It's not about Frodo. It's Bilbo Baggins. He's a good bit different than Frodo, he's more adventurous and the book is more fun and lighthearted so it will be a good bit different.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
CP3LSU25
LSU Fan
Lafayette
Member since Feb 2009
36830 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now
quote:

Metacritic has it at a 62/100 which, according to their scale, falls under "Generally Favorable Reviews."


Metacritic is terrible for review average.

The eye test will show the hobbit >> dark knight returns


Marciano1
LSU Fan
Marksville, LA
Member since Jun 2009
9459 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now
Sorry but it won't take much for The Hobbit to be better than The Dark Knight Rises.


CP3LSU25
LSU Fan
Lafayette
Member since Feb 2009
36830 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now
quote:

Sorry but it won't take much for The Hobbit to be better than The Dark Knight Rises.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
RollTide1987
Alabama Fan
Aurora, CO
Member since Nov 2009
27392 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now
quote:

Sorry but it won't take much for The Hobbit to be better than The Dark Knight Rises.





Even if The Hobbit was terrible (which it won't be) you'd probably say it was a better movie than The Dark Knight Rises.



CP3LSU25
LSU Fan
Lafayette
Member since Feb 2009
36830 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now
77%. GET IT UP GET IT UP


Pectus
New Orleans Saints Fan
Internet
Member since Apr 2010
48400 posts

re: Reviews from the Hobbit are coming in; 68% right now
You guys do realize that a lot of the LotR trilogy was CGI, an in fact, Peter Jackson and Wingnut were chosen because they had a platform that could run the CGI especially the battle sequences?

CGI was a staple of the trilogy and a lot of the reason it made it work what with Golem and the battle sequences.

I know Peter Jackson can get carried away with CGI, see King Kong, but even in that, it looks spectacular.

I don't see him abandoning his LotR model for shooting and detailing the Hobbit.


Jump to page
Page First 5 6 7 8 9 ... 20
Jump to page
Page 7 of 20

Back to top

Follow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram