Pitcher spears runner trying to score on a past ball | Page 2 | TigerDroppings.com
Posted by
Message
lsu480
LSU Fan
Downtown Scottsdale
Member since Oct 2007
81319 posts

re: Pitcher spears runner trying to score on a past ball

There was no fight!


hendersonshands
LA-Lafayette Fan
Univ. of Louisiana Ragin Cajuns
Member since Oct 2007
124624 posts

re: Pitcher spears runner trying to score on a past ball
quote:

There was no fight!




quote:

lsu480



Sounds familiar.


reddman
Miami (OH) Fan
NOLA
Member since Jul 2005
70364 posts
Online

re: Pitcher spears runner trying to score on a past ball


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Moustache
Kansas State Fan
GEAUX TIGERS
Member since May 2008
19371 posts
Online

re: Pitcher spears runner trying to score on a past ball
The runner bitched out. I would've straight stood up and decked his ass. He just stared him down.


JB Bama
Alabama Fan
Tuscaloosa, AL
Member since Sep 2008
2307 posts

re: Pitcher spears runner trying to score on a past ball
I dunno when he lunged at me I think I would have wrapped him up and taken him head first into home plate.

Yeah you are way past the "stare down" if he's already knocked you down.
This post was edited on 3/4 at 1:33 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Lsuwannabe
LSU Fan
Wesson
Member since Aug 2009
747 posts

re: Pitcher spears runner trying to score on a past ball
The real bitch is the batter for not beating the shite out of him with his helmet.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
elprez00
New Orleans Saints Fan
Hammond, LA
Member since Sep 2011
14799 posts

re: Pitcher spears runner trying to score on a past ball
quote:

My high school baseball coach came from Hendrix. He was a moran


I went to high school with a Moran, a couple actually. Also went with some morons, too...


Choupique19
LSU Fan
The cheap seats
Member since Sep 2005
37303 posts
Online

re: Pitcher spears runner trying to score on a past ball
In other news

quote:

Les Miles has offered a scholarship to some unknown safety last seen pitching at a D3 school


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
elprez00
New Orleans Saints Fan
Hammond, LA
Member since Sep 2011
14799 posts

re: Pitcher spears runner trying to score on a past ball
quote:

Why didnt he touch home right away?
Why didnt he hit him right after he touched home?


Good question. I'm pretty sure that, even if the ump awarded the runner home plate, he still has to physically touch it. The second runner coming home should be out. If the first runner never touches the plate, he should be out too.

Rules are rules.


loweralabamatrojan
Southern Cal Fan
Lower Alabama
Member since Oct 2006
11048 posts

re: Pitcher spears runner trying to score on a past ball


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
bbap
Indiana Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Feb 2006
85124 posts

re: Pitcher spears runner trying to score on a past ball
quote:

Good question. I'm pretty sure that, even if the ump awarded the runner home plate, he still has to physically touch it.


pretty sure no he doesnt.


elprez00
New Orleans Saints Fan
Hammond, LA
Member since Sep 2011
14799 posts

re: Pitcher spears runner trying to score on a past ball
quote:

quote:
Good question. I'm pretty sure that, even if the ump awarded the runner home plate, he still has to physically touch it.


pretty sure no he doesnt


quote:

Rule 7.05(i) Comment: The fact a runner is awarded a base or bases without liability to be put out does not relieve him of the responsibility to touch the base he is awarded and all intervening bases.


LINK


bbap
Indiana Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Feb 2006
85124 posts

re: Pitcher spears runner trying to score on a past ball
right if someone hits a ground rule double the runner on second cant run over the mound and touch home. he has to touch 3rd too. but on that obstruction call im sure the runner doesnt have to touch the plate. what if he had been injured? oh well no run? no.

and the second runner definitely isnt out because the play is dead. im sure they sent him back to 3rd.


elprez00
New Orleans Saints Fan
Hammond, LA
Member since Sep 2011
14799 posts

re: Pitcher spears runner trying to score on a past ball
quote:

but on that obstruction call im sure the runner doesnt have to touch the plate.

The rule I posted specifically disagrees with you.

quote:

what if he had been injured? oh well no run? no.


If a runner is injured and unable to advance on an awarded base, the coach would have to insert a pinch runner who would complete the play. No different than if a fielder is injured on a play.

Rule 5.10 (c): When an accident incapacitates a player or an umpire;
(1) If an accident to a runner is such as to prevent him from proceeding to a base
to which he is entitled, as on a home run hit out of the playing field, or an
award of one or more bases, a substitute runner shall be permitted to complete
the play.

LINK
This post was edited on 3/4 at 2:50 pm


bbap
Indiana Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Feb 2006
85124 posts

re: Pitcher spears runner trying to score on a past ball
quote:

The rule I posted specifically disagrees with you.


eh not so sure. the rule you posted is talking about if a ball is thrown into the dugout or a ground rule double. im pretty sure the umpire has the disrection to just award a run to the team without the guy having to touch the plate.

quote:

If a runner is injured and unable to advance on an awarded base, the coach would have to insert a pinch runner who would complete the play.


good lord no.


Coater
LSU Fan
Madison, MS
Member since Jun 2005
20210 posts

re: Pitcher spears runner trying to score on a past ball
can anyone tell who the other team is?


bbap
Indiana Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Feb 2006
85124 posts

re: Pitcher spears runner trying to score on a past ball
they just finished playing berry college, and their colors are blue. so thats my guess.


elprez00
New Orleans Saints Fan
Hammond, LA
Member since Sep 2011
14799 posts

re: Pitcher spears runner trying to score on a past ball
quote:

e:
The rule I posted specifically disagrees with you.


eh not so sure. the rule you posted is talking about if a ball is thrown into the dugout or a ground rule double. im pretty sure the umpire has the disrection to just award a run to the team without the guy having to touch the plate.

You're wrong, but okay.

quote:

quote:
If a runner is injured and unable to advance on an awarded base, the coach would have to insert a pinch runner who would complete the play.


good lord no.


See my update to the previous post. Rule 5.10c You are still wrong.
This post was edited on 3/4 at 2:56 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Poodlebrain
LSU Fan
Way Right of Rex
Member since Jan 2004
16935 posts

re: Pitcher spears runner trying to score on a past ball
That is a pretty simple interference call. Runner scores, and any other runners get an additionl base. Eject the pitcher for poor sportsmanship and situation over.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Coater
LSU Fan
Madison, MS
Member since Jun 2005
20210 posts

re: Pitcher spears runner trying to score on a past ball
quote:

they just finished playing berry college, and their colors are blue. so thats my guess


gotcha, thanks. i played at millsaps years ago and wanted to make sure that's not who it was.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Page 2 of 3

Back to top

Follow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram