but on that obstruction call im sure the runner doesnt have to touch the plate.
The rule I posted specifically disagrees with you.
what if he had been injured? oh well no run? no.
If a runner is injured and unable to advance on an awarded base, the coach would have to insert a pinch runner who would complete the play. No different than if a fielder is injured on a play.
Rule 5.10 (c): When an accident incapacitates a player or an umpire;
(1) If an accident to a runner is such as to prevent him from proceeding to a base
to which he is entitled, as on a home run hit out of the playing field, or an
award of one or more bases, a substitute runner shall be permitted to complete
the play. LINK
This post was edited on 3/4 at 2:50 pm