UPDATE*** Guild Wars 2 - OPEN BETA - Reviews/Reactions | TigerDroppings.com
Posted by
Message
Freauxzen
USA Fan
Utah
Member since Feb 2006
23346 posts

UPDATE*** Guild Wars 2 - OPEN BETA - Reviews/Reactions

<Ole War Skule> Important Information

Server - TBD
Faction - Not Necesary
Description - Very casual, activities depending on whatever the hell we are in the mood for. Looking to establish PvP groups.
Professions/roles needed - Any.

Release Date: TBA, Summer 2012 Expected

No the game isn't out yet, but the dignified and illustrious Muppet has allowed us, under his benign benevolence, to start a guild under the Ole War Skule banner. Anyways, if you played the first one, good. If not, the game is a lot of fun, see here: LINK

For a broad overview of their philosophy in building the game, and what they learned from GW1, see this video: LINK

Servers are apparently very easy to switch, so we won't have to worry about who goes where.

Combat Articles: LINK
Profession Overview: LINK
Build Calculator: LINK
--------------
Minimum System Specs and Purchase Info:
LINK
--------------

I'll keep an updated list below:

Freauxzen - Human - Guardian, Engineer, Charr - Thief
Muppet - Engineer, Mesmer, Thief
sk33ter - Warrior
Chornix - Norn - Ranger
Kashonly - sylvari- mesmer, asuran -elem/thief
TigerTalker142 - Human - Ele/Guardian, Char - Engineer
Jahel - TBD
displacedtiger - TBD
This post was edited on 7/10 at 8:44 am



Muppet
Kansas State Fan
Member since Aug 2007
50509 posts

re: UPDATE*** Guild Wars 2 - OPEN BETA - Reviews/Reactions
My order of interest is Engineer, Mesmer, Thief. I'm on my phone, but you should post ANet's "MMO Manifesto" if you didn't already. Great video with a lot of big promises.


Freauxzen
USA Fan
Utah
Member since Feb 2006
23346 posts

re: UPDATE*** Guild Wars 2 - OPEN BETA - Reviews/Reactions
Done and Done.


Muppet
Kansas State Fan
Member since Aug 2007
50509 posts

re: UPDATE*** Guild Wars 2 - OPEN BETA - Reviews/Reactions
You also forgot to list our sponsors.

Seriously , though, I look forward to discussing the game when I have access to a computer.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
TigerTalker142
LSU Fan
Lafayette
Member since Oct 2007
983 posts

re: UPDATE*** Guild Wars 2 - OPEN BETA - Reviews/Reactions
Had 2500 hours logged in the first one. Really looking forward to this, funnest MMO I've ever played.


Murtagh
LSU Fan
Metairie, La
Member since Feb 2008
2040 posts

re: UPDATE*** Guild Wars 2 - OPEN BETA - Reviews/Reactions
dammit. i might have to look into this game now...


sk33ter
Auburn Fan
Alabama
Member since Dec 2011
944 posts

re: UPDATE*** Guild Wars 2 - OPEN BETA - Reviews/Reactions
Mind if I get in?

Tank.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Freauxzen
USA Fan
Utah
Member since Feb 2006
23346 posts

re: UPDATE*** Guild Wars 2 - OPEN BETA - Reviews/Reactions
quote:

Had 2500 hours logged in the first one.


Nice. Did you play it competitively?


TigerTalker142
LSU Fan
Lafayette
Member since Oct 2007
983 posts

re: UPDATE*** Guild Wars 2 - OPEN BETA - Reviews/Reactions
Not in any of the tournys. But the guild I was in during my longest stretch did do some fights on the guild ladder. I was really into the pve aspect and that's where I spent most of my time. So many achievements to get in that game haha, it was never ending.


Freauxzen
USA Fan
Utah
Member since Feb 2006
23346 posts

re: UPDATE*** Guild Wars 2 - OPEN BETA - Reviews/Reactions
Agreed. Loved that game. I even play it from time to time still.


TigerTalker142
LSU Fan
Lafayette
Member since Oct 2007
983 posts

re: UPDATE*** Guild Wars 2 - OPEN BETA - Reviews/Reactions
I moved on to WOW and EVE about a year after EOTN came out but I haven't played MMO's in a couple of years. This is the only thing that would bring me back, even for just the nostalgia. Can't wait


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Freauxzen
USA Fan
Utah
Member since Feb 2006
23346 posts

re: UPDATE*** Guild Wars 2 - OPEN BETA - Reviews/Reactions
Bump

Some recent reactions:

LINK

quote:

It's hard to feel like you're missing out with the lack of dedicated healing in this game. The role of a dedicated healer is simply not necessary. What's great is that this doesn't make the game feel like some desperate struggle to survive -- at least not in any negative sense. In fact, in the time it took me to level from 11 to 13 on my front-line Warrior (doing only in-world events without any personal story) I never had to use my self-heal. I was able to be smart about how I handled engaging enemies and there was enough support from my teammates to keep me from resorting to my healing skill.


quote:

Given that, you don't really have a game where everybody's their own healer -- you have a game where healers are unnecessary because combat rewards intelligent play and there's an incredibly well-designed system of boons across every profession's skills.


This sounds a lot like the modern switch from a "Health Bar" in FPS's, to the self-regenerating health rating. That was a big switch that changed game design, and really opened up doors to different styles of play. A much needed change for FPS's.

LINK

quote:

Skills and Items

As you may know, the skills in Guild Wars 2 are determined by what item you have in your hand, combined with what class you're playing. So a Thief with a pistol will have different skills than a Mesmer with that same pistol. In addition, you can combine weapons in each hand for skill combos. So for my most beloved Mesmer, I had a scepter in one hand and a pistol in the other. This combination gave me the Illusionary Duelist skill in slot 4, which creates an illusion (clone) of my character that unloads duel pistols on the enemies. Taking that pistol away and adding a one-handed sword gives me an Illusionary Swordsman skill that works very similarly.

With each weapon you wield, you start off with just one skill, but using that item more often will eventually open up more and more skills on your bar. You can actually see the percentage of progression towards that next skill evolve as you use that weapon more often. So you can become proficient with a sword, but when you find an axe with better stats and switch to that, you're starting with one skill for that axe until you unlock the rest. This also applies to which hand you use, as well. You'll need to unlock main-hand and off-hand skills on each weapon where that's available, which then unlocks it on every weapon of that type for that particular character. If that sounds complicated, it's not really. But it is exciting for the completionists among us.



So it seems your role is flexible with weapons, so you aren't that limited in how you approach a situation.

That's a big bonus for me, as I liken to be fluid in my play style. I rarely singular focused classes. This is very similar to the original concept for FFXIV?
This post was edited on 2/20 at 12:15 pm


Muppet
Kansas State Fan
Member since Aug 2007
50509 posts

re: UPDATE*** Guild Wars 2 - OPEN BETA - Reviews/Reactions
quote:

you have a game where healers are unnecessary because combat rewards intelligent play and there's an incredibly well-designed system of boons across every profession's skills.


So, I have a Demon's Souls-esque conception in my head of a system where you could feasibly become so skilled at the "mechanics" of combat that you could simply avoid taking significant damage. Rather than, you know, how badly you are hurt being determined by a random number generator and your damage mitigation scores.

quote:

With each weapon you wield, you start off with just one skill, but using that item more often will eventually open up more and more skills on your bar.


This was once generally considered a good idea in MMOs, with World of Warcraft even having weapon skills at one point. Players just saw it as a pointless grind, though. It was kind of annoying in a game like Final Fantasy XI to have to fight the same enemies to level up your battleaxe skill that you did to level up your sword and shield skills, since your chance to hit scaled with skill level.


Freauxzen
USA Fan
Utah
Member since Feb 2006
23346 posts

re: UPDATE*** Guild Wars 2 - OPEN BETA - Reviews/Reactions
quote:

So, I have a Demon's Souls-esque conception in my head of a system where you could feasibly become so skilled at the "mechanics" of combat that you could simply avoid taking significant damage. Rather than, you know, how badly you are hurt being determined by a random number generator and your damage mitigation scores.



That seems to be the implication, and would be a very good thing.

quote:

This was once generally considered a good idea in MMOs, with World of Warcraft even having weapon skills at one point. Players just saw it as a pointless grind, though. It was kind of annoying in a game like Final Fantasy XI to have to fight the same enemies to level up your battleaxe skill that you did to level up your sword and shield skills, since your chance to hit scaled with skill level.


But I would assume, at least if they keep the spirit of GW alive, that this won't take long to access all of the skills.

The only thing that does bug me is that this may make for a very limited amount of differentiation from player to player. All Sword and Board Guardians would use the same skills, therefore, the "true" maximum amount of variation lies in only the possible combinations of main hand/off-hand options.


Jahel
Member since Nov 2011
5576 posts

re: UPDATE*** Guild Wars 2 - OPEN BETA - Reviews/Reactions
I will be playing this game:

quote:

Guild Wars 2's World versus World player-versus-player system is bound to draw the attention of players that never joined a PVP queue in their lives. Every two weeks three game servers are linked together in mortal combat, fighting for control of resources and control points in a battle that means big rewards for both the victors and their respective server.

Taking place on one giant map split up into four sub-sections, one for each of the three teams and a neutral zone called the Eternal Battlegrounds, World versus World involves hundreds of players at a time swarming from point to point, vying for control. Players new to PVP combat will revel in the safety-in-numbers aspect of the game mode, while seasoned battlers can seize the opportunity to coordinate and command their newbie forces to victory.

Dominate the maps and you'll not only win personal rewards, but boons for everyone on your particular server, such as increased experience gain or faster health regen. You could be personally responsible for leveling up an entire server.


I played Monk for a few years, I heard that there's no monk in the game, So I'm not sure what I'll be playing.

I love me some Sneak and AOE..they have a class that has both?
This post was edited on 2/20 at 1:39 pm


Freauxzen
USA Fan
Utah
Member since Feb 2006
23346 posts

re: UPDATE*** Guild Wars 2 - OPEN BETA - Reviews/Reactions
That quote is from here:

LINK

I just read the same article.


Muppet
Kansas State Fan
Member since Aug 2007
50509 posts

re: UPDATE*** Guild Wars 2 - OPEN BETA - Reviews/Reactions
quote:

But I would assume, at least if they keep the spirit of GW alive, that this won't take long to access all of the skills.


My problem is that it's been at least 6 years since I played Guild Wars (Factions), and I barely remember its mechanics.

quote:

The only thing that does bug me is that this may make for a very limited amount of differentiation from player to player.


This page offers some insight into how trait customization will be handled. Seems reminiscent of LOTRO, but I hope it's more in-depth than that.


Jahel
Member since Nov 2011
5576 posts

re: UPDATE*** Guild Wars 2 - OPEN BETA - Reviews/Reactions
quote:

Freauxzen


I have played GW,WOW,AION,RIFT,& SWTOR

I found GW the most enjoyable as being able to create your own character, not aesthetics, but Builds.

I hope they maintain this as it kept me interested far longer than the others did. NO gear grinding, just build manipulation to counter enemy attacks and areas.



Freauxzen
USA Fan
Utah
Member since Feb 2006
23346 posts

re: UPDATE*** Guild Wars 2 - OPEN BETA - Reviews/Reactions
quote:

My problem is that it's been at least 6 years since I played Guild Wars (Factions), and I barely remember its mechanics.


Well, GW was all about Skill Acquiring. Getting to the Max level, 20, took about a week or two of general playtime (not game time). BUT if you didn't do enough quests, then your skills choices were limited, very limited. So to round out your build, you were grinding for skills, and some were very hard to acquire.

It seems in GW2, they moved this to traits. Traits are what you grind for, skills are earned through general playing, and unlocking.

They say it's about 100 skills per class....I don't know the number exactly, but I know that in GW1 classes had 200+ easy.
So like your link says, I think Traits become the way to differentiate, but word on the wiki is that it's only 1 major and two minor traits equippable, which is a fairly low count.

Probably just need to see some more reaction from here on out.


Freauxzen
USA Fan
Utah
Member since Feb 2006
23346 posts

re: UPDATE*** Guild Wars 2 - OPEN BETA - Reviews/Reactions
quote:

I found GW the most enjoyable as being able to create your own character, not aesthetics, but Builds.


Agreed. But this was because EVERYONE was limited to 8 slots. And Anet gave us so many skills to choose from that it was a ton of fun creating builds.

People don't realize that there is a lot of freedom and creativity in limited choice. THAT was the big difference. I just remember my days of EQ when you had 40 usable skills at all times. LOTRO has a bad case of that too.

quote:

I hope they maintain this as it kept me interested far longer than the others did. NO gear grinding, just build manipulation to counter enemy attacks and areas.


That and the 20 level max. The game wasn't about the journey to the top, which ends up being a giant grindfest. It's about what to do when you are on the same level as everyone else.
This post was edited on 2/20 at 1:50 pm


Jump to page
Page 1 2 3 4 5 ... 16
Jump to page
Page 1 of 16

Back to top

Follow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram