Beer people - what is your opinion on Milk Souts? | TigerDroppings.com
Posted by
Message
Powerman
LSU Fan
Corpus Christi, TX
Member since Jan 2004
121329 posts

Beer people - what is your opinion on Milk Souts?

I've recently tried to get back into beer again. Trying with some more mild beers to ease me back into the beer snobbery world. I'm enjoying a Left Hand Milk Stout right now.

Pretty solid IMO if you are into stouts. I'm sure it will do wonders for my figure.


fightin tigers
Downtown Prairieville
Member since Mar 2008
29262 posts
Online

re: Beer people - what is your opinion on Milk Souts?
Love milk stouts, but I have never let a stout I haven't liked.

The nitro milk stout to me is better from left hand, but to each his own.

Right now i am enjoying a Dragons Milk from New Holland Brewing, bourbon barrel aged stout.


Powerman
LSU Fan
Corpus Christi, TX
Member since Jan 2004
121329 posts

re: Beer people - what is your opinion on Milk Souts?
quote:


The nitro milk stout to me is better from left hand, but to each his own.


Tried that the other night at a pizza joint here and I'd agree. They didn't have it at the liquor store by the house.

quote:


Right now i am enjoying a Dragons Milk from New Holland Brewing, bourbon barrel aged stout.


I'll look for it at spec's next time I go.


fightin tigers
Downtown Prairieville
Member since Mar 2008
29262 posts
Online

re: Beer people - what is your opinion on Milk Souts?
quote:

I'll look for it at spec's next time I go.


Not sure where new holland distributes to. Had a mule bring it in from Michigan, would be great to know it was in Houston closer.


L Boogie
LSU Fan
Austin
Member since Jul 2009
2980 posts

re: Beer people - what is your opinion on Milk Souts?
We have Left Hand Nitro at my work and it's my favorite beer we have on tap. Throw a shot of espresso in it and it is MONEY.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Powerman
LSU Fan
Corpus Christi, TX
Member since Jan 2004
121329 posts

re: Beer people - what is your opinion on Milk Souts?
I'm in the Corpus are so our selection isn't as great as the big downtown Houston spec's. But there is certainly a serviceable selection for just about anything you're looking for.


urinetrouble
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2007
17338 posts

re: Beer people - what is your opinion on Milk Souts?
Try Lakewood The Temptress for a more imperial milk stout.

I don't generally get excited by the style, though.


Powerman
LSU Fan
Corpus Christi, TX
Member since Jan 2004
121329 posts

re: Beer people - what is your opinion on Milk Souts?
quote:


I don't generally get excited by the style, though.



Me neither. I'm just getting back into the beer game though. Been on a scotch kick for a while.

I'm more of a Belgian quad guy when I get really into beer.


Rohan2Reed
Grambling Fan
Westside
Member since Nov 2003
73990 posts

re: Beer people - what is your opinion on Milk Souts?
milk stouts (and just stouts in general) are good, approachable beers. nice job using those to get back into the world of a craft beer maven, as there is more room for error I think in the stout world.


urinetrouble
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2007
17338 posts

re: Beer people - what is your opinion on Milk Souts?
quote:

Me neither. I'm just getting back into the beer game though. Been on a scotch kick for a while.


Try scotch ales?



Powerman
LSU Fan
Corpus Christi, TX
Member since Jan 2004
121329 posts

re: Beer people - what is your opinion on Milk Souts?
Definitely more room for error. Not as many spices and such that go into it. Just a simple beer with a bold flavor to it.

I typically like beers with a lot more complexity with things like coriander in it. But I'm coming back with baby steps.

Cocktails have been nice but they're giving me a headache at work


urinetrouble
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2007
17338 posts

re: Beer people - what is your opinion on Milk Souts?
Ease back in with bourbon barrel aged Russian imperial stouts.



Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Powerman
LSU Fan
Corpus Christi, TX
Member since Jan 2004
121329 posts

re: Beer people - what is your opinion on Milk Souts?
quote:



Try scotch ales?


The first beer I ever tasted was a Scottish Ale.



Replies (0)
Replies (0)
BayouBengal
LSU Fan
München
Member since Nov 2003
26836 posts

re: Beer people - what is your opinion on Milk Souts?
I enjoy them. Milk Stouts....Coffee Porters....gimmie gimmie!


Powerman
LSU Fan
Corpus Christi, TX
Member since Jan 2004
121329 posts

re: Beer people - what is your opinion on Milk Souts?
I've been waiting for an excuse to crack this one open

[/URL]



Replies (0)
Replies (0)
TigerHam85
Hawaii Fan
59-024 Kamehameha Highway
Member since Nov 2009
30986 posts

re: Beer people - what is your opinion on Milk Souts?
quote:

what is your opinion on Milk Souts?


they're delicious


bbrou33
LSU Fan
Laughy Et
Member since Oct 2011
6903 posts

re: Beer people - what is your opinion on Milk Souts?
I love me some stouts


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
tetu
New Orleans Saints Fan
Ascension Parish
Member since Jan 2011
12076 posts

re: Beer people - what is your opinion on Milk Souts?
Not my favorite style but I've only had a handful.

I really want to try Hardywood's Gingerbread Stout


tween the hedges
Georgia Fan
Member since Feb 2012
14743 posts

re: Beer people - what is your opinion on Milk Souts?
LHMS Nitro is awesome. Granted I'm still new to stouts but it's the best milk stout I've had.


h0bnail
Georgia Fan
Member since Sep 2009
3313 posts

re: Beer people - what is your opinion on Milk Souts?
Really like them, but I have a hard time talking myself into a stout in the summertime.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Page 1 of 3

Back to top

Follow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram