menu
Posted by
Message
Redfish2010
USA Fan
Member since Jul 2007
13283 posts
Online

Bayou Rum Reviews

Picked up a bottle form Calvin's last weekend and just finished it. Since it is made here in Louisiana I had to give it a try. They have a clear rum and a spiced one and I went with the spiced.

I can't give a professional opinion but I really liked it. It has an extra kick in the spice that I got with the after taste. Obviously it's not a high end rum, but offers a nice new option for rum drinkers. It's m understanding that Martin's may have it in stock soon as well.


CE Tiger
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Metairie
Member since Jan 2008
33184 posts

re: Bayou Rum Reviews
i had a tasting of Rougaroux (believe they are out of Thibadeaux) last night at Martins on vets and it was delicious. Dark Rum with Arnold Palmer

Image: https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/p480x480/581564_193413260783057_1503178981_n.jpg
This post was edited on 7/13 at 4:46 pm


Redfish2010
USA Fan
Member since Jul 2007
13283 posts
Online

re: Bayou Rum Reviews
Can you find it in BR anywhere?


s14suspense
USA Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Mar 2007
12412 posts
Online

re: Bayou Rum Reviews
Yeah I want to get my hands on some of that and their Gin from Thibodeaux.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Darla Hood
LA-Lafayette Fan
Near that place by that other place
Member since Aug 2012
5362 posts

re: Bayou Rum Reviews
Bought some from Rouses (not the spiced), haven't had any yet. Will report once I've had a few.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
LSUGUMBO
New Orleans Saints Fan
Shreveport, LA
Member since Sep 2005
5575 posts
Online

re: Bayou Rum Reviews
I picked up a bottle of the silver rum at the strong urging of my local liquor store cashier (Tony's on Line Ave). $22.99 for a fifth is not a bad price. I wasn't sure what to expect because I don't generally drink rum, but I'll try any Louisiana product once, just to support the home team. I opened the bottle and took a sniff and found a very strong smell of vanilla, which was appealing. I took a nip on the rocks that was good, but the alcohol afterburn was a little strong. I opened the fridge to see what I might be able to mix with it, and the choices came down to diet coke or root beer. I chose root beer in hopes of making sort of a cream soda. It's not bad, but I'll probably try some diet coke next.


mmill32
Southern Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jul 2005
2477 posts

re: Bayou Rum Reviews
Has anyone tried Gingeroo from Old New Orleans. Saw it last week at Whole Foods but didn't pull the trigger. I did a search and got nothing so figured I'd post here.


Redfish2010
USA Fan
Member since Jul 2007
13283 posts
Online

re: Bayou Rum Reviews
Have not. I'm usually not an Old New Orleans fan


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 1next pagelast page
refresh

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram