9 Ways you can score from third, that you can't from second - Page 2 - TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
LSUBoo
Bowling Green Fan
My Posting Goes To 11.
Member since Mar 2006
59180 posts

re: 9 Ways you can score from third, that you can't from second


quote:

I turned around and asked the Ump, what happens on a dropped third strike w the bases loaded with two outs...can I just touch the plate? He called T.O , conferred with the other Umps, and said "yes".

Absolutely.

In fact, if there are less than two outs and runners on first, first and second, or bases loaded, the hitter is automatically out.

In a game I was coaching last week we had another crazy dropped third strike situation come up... two outs, runner at first, only 1 strike on the hitter. He swings and misses at the next one, in the dirt, and mistakenly thinks it was strike 3, so he took off for first. Because there was two outs our runner on first (confused as frick and SLOW) took off for second. The catcher grabbed the ball and threw to first in time to get the hitter, while our other runner lumbered in to second base. Then the umpires realized it was only strike two, so they made the hitter go back to the plate, and our runner on second took a few steps off of second to go back too. I yelled at him to get his arse on the base until the umpires make him go back to first. Then the umpires convened, and came to the correct conclusion that he was free to take second base at his own risk on that play.

They might have been able to call the hitter our for some sort of 'mockery of the game' rule, but they didn't. He struck out on the next pitch, anyway.






Back to top
Bayou Devil
Arizona State Fan
Phoenix, Az
Member since Sep 2004
1195 posts

re: 9 Ways you can score from third, that you can't from second


Fan interference?





Back to top
LSUBoo
Bowling Green Fan
My Posting Goes To 11.
Member since Mar 2006
59180 posts

re: 9 Ways you can score from third, that you can't from second


quote:

well,, based upon the info provided to me, both runner interference and catchers inteference will score a run from third that couldnt be scored from second


catcher's interference only applies if the runner is forced. If the runner is forced, there are more than 9 ways.






Back to top
TigerBait1127
New Orleans Saints Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Jun 2005
30782 posts

re: 9 Ways you can score from third, that you can't from second


quote:

Point is, the catcher may not have to throw it to first.....


i thought it was an automatic out if 1st was occupied






Back to top
OWLFAN86
Rice Fan
my finger smells like your mom
Member since Jun 2004
113074 posts

re: 9 Ways you can score from third, that you can't from second


just give me my booyah u bastard





Back to top
LSUBoo
Bowling Green Fan
My Posting Goes To 11.
Member since Mar 2006
59180 posts

re: 9 Ways you can score from third, that you can't from second


quote:

i thought it was an automatic out if 1st was occupied

Only with less than two outs. With two outs, all forced runners can advance, and any can be forced out.






Back to top
LSUBoo
Bowling Green Fan
My Posting Goes To 11.
Member since Mar 2006
59180 posts

re: 9 Ways you can score from third, that you can't from second


booya?





Back to top
OWLFAN86
Rice Fan
my finger smells like your mom
Member since Jun 2004
113074 posts

re: 9 Ways you can score from third, that you can't from second


pfffttttt


youre going on my list






Back to top
Buckeye Fan 19
Notre Dame Fan
South Bend, IN
Member since Dec 2007
35360 posts

re: 9 Ways you can score from third, that you can't from second


quote:

Point is, the catcher may not have to throw it to first.....


Yes, but in a situation with a runner on 3rd (only runner on base) and one out, the catcher can't tag home to get an out, so he'd have to throw to first if he wants to get the batter out, and in that case, the guy on 3rd could break for home.



This post was edited on 6/18 at 9:58 pm


Back to top
LSUJuice
LSU Fan
Back in Houston
Member since Apr 2004
12634 posts

re: 9 Ways you can score from third, that you can't from second


So here's what I have now:

1. Bases loaded walk (or HBP)
2. Balk
3. Infield hit
4. Infield error
5. Infield fielder's choice
6. Sacrifice bunt (safety/suicide squeeze)
7. Straight steal of home
8. Third baseman impedes runner on either a hit ball or pick-off attempt
9. Bases loaded catcher interference on a swing

ETA: All wild pitches, passed ball, 3rd strike wild pitches, errant pick-off attempts can score a runner from second.




This post was edited on 6/18 at 10:06 pm


Back to top
LSUBoo
Bowling Green Fan
My Posting Goes To 11.
Member since Mar 2006
59180 posts

re: 9 Ways you can score from third, that you can't from second


if there's no one out, you could add double-play to that list. Although it's pretty much the same logic as the fielder's choice.





Back to top
LSUJuice
LSU Fan
Back in Houston
Member since Apr 2004
12634 posts

re: 9 Ways you can score from third, that you can't from second


Yeah, that's a fielder's choice. I almost lumped a sac bunt or squeeze into FC, but since it's actually a separate play and statistical category, it's different.






Back to top
LSUBoo
Bowling Green Fan
My Posting Goes To 11.
Member since Mar 2006
59180 posts

re: 9 Ways you can score from third, that you can't from second


quote:

ETA: All wild pitches, passed ball, 3rd strike wild pitches, errant pick-off attempts can score a runner from second


Well, so can an infield hit or infield error, if you want to get technical.






Back to top
LSUJuice
LSU Fan
Back in Houston
Member since Apr 2004
12634 posts

re: 9 Ways you can score from third, that you can't from second


True.....
But on an infield hit, the ball stays in the infield and the play is dead. In order for a runner to advance from second, another "play" would have to take place. For example, with a runner on second, a hit to deep short, the shortstop just eats it. The guy on second moves to third. The shortstop sees that he over-ran third, but he throws it into the dugout, run scores. But that required an additional "play" - the error on the shortstop.

Also, the infield error would have to be a non-throwing error, such as the one Hague made for Rice in the 9th.



This post was edited on 6/18 at 10:23 pm


Back to top
FightinTigersDammit
Northwestern St. Fan
Farmerville LA
Member since Mar 2006
6750 posts

re: 9 Ways you can score from third, that you can't from second


I think Orel phrased that badly.
I've always heard it put thusly- 'There are X ways a runner can score from 3rd without a base hit."
He kinda muddied the waters by mentioning 2nd base.

Full disclosure- I wasn't watching the game- just commenting on what I read here






Back to top


Back to top