I turned around and asked the Ump, what happens on a dropped third strike w the bases loaded with two outs...can I just touch the plate? He called T.O , conferred with the other Umps, and said "yes".
In fact, if there are less than two outs and runners on first, first and second, or bases loaded, the hitter is automatically out.
In a game I was coaching last week we had another crazy dropped third strike situation come up... two outs, runner at first, only 1 strike on the hitter. He swings and misses at the next one, in the dirt, and mistakenly thinks it was strike 3, so he took off for first. Because there was two outs our runner on first (confused as frick and SLOW) took off for second. The catcher grabbed the ball and threw to first in time to get the hitter, while our other runner lumbered in to second base. Then the umpires realized it was only strike two, so they made the hitter go back to the plate, and our runner on second took a few steps off of second to go back too. I yelled at him to get his arse on the base until the umpires make him go back to first. Then the umpires convened, and came to the correct conclusion that he was free to take second base at his own risk on that play.
They might have been able to call the hitter our for some sort of 'mockery of the game' rule, but they didn't. He struck out on the next pitch, anyway.